Regular price: $15.98

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Centurion, a no. 1 best-seller, is the unputdownable eighth novel in Simon Scarrow's Eagle's of the Empire series. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden.

In the first century AD the Roman Empire faces a new threat from its long-standing enemy Parthia. Parthia is vying with Rome for control of Palmyra, an officially neutral kingdom. Palmyra's royal household is on the brink of open revolt, and so a task force under the command of experienced soldiers Macro and Cato is dispatched to defend its king and guard its borders. When Parthia hears of the Roman army's presence, it starts amassing its troops for war.

Macro's cohort must march against the enemy, deep into treacherous territory. If Palmyra is not to fall into the clutches of Parthia, they will have to defeat superior numbers in a desperate siege. The quest for a lasting peace has never been more challenging, nor more critical for the future of the Empire.

©2008 Simon Scarrow (P)2012 Headline Digital

Critic Reviews

"Simon Scarrow has developed a strong following... a former ancient history lecturer who knows his stuff, and brings the ancient world back to life with verve and plenty of action." ( Brisbane News)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Massimo
  • Birmensdorf, Switzerland
  • 07-02-12

As ever good entertainement

What did you love best about Centurion?

the mixture between the Cato and Macro. This two carracters are so different that it is fun the lissen.

What was one of the most memorable moments of Centurion?

When Macro speack with the one Prince from Palmyra

Which scene was your favorite?

The fighting sceen and the sceen where Macro explains to Cato that Gulia is interessted in him, and Cato does not get it.

Who was the most memorable character of Centurion and why?

Giulia and Cato

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Pamela
  • 05-06-16

I enjoyed it

Okay none of the characters or plot are going to be a surprising however the reading is very enjoyable. Some of the recurring rounds of battle could have been edited out and the tension that would have really brought the book to life was missing. Yet it pottered along and much as it looks like I'm not selling this very well I can only add I would choose another book in this series.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Simon
  • 07-02-17

A Personal Milestone

Cato and Macro are once again pitted against enemies both within and without the ranks of the legions. Set against the Palmyrans, wonderfully mobile horse archers who pose a real challenge to the slow-moving legions and fearful of what the machinations of Narcissus may cost them from within they are sent on a perilous rescue mission. What follows is a fast-moving story full of action and Scarrow’s usual excellent historical knowledge. There is also a romantic interest but one which is included in the story without great obstruction to the overall storyline. She is an excellent female character compared to some of those before.

Keeble’s narration is as usual superb. Reading Centurion means that personally I’ve reached an interesting point in the series because this was one of the earliest audiobooks that I listened to back in the days of shuffling CDs in the car – and didn’t they always seem to end at just the wrong moment leaving an impatient wait for the next motorway junction etc???? It was bought on a whim at a service station after my latest Rebus had finished without me realising it was part of a series. I marked it then as a series to invest in and I have waded through them on Audible as happy as a pig in the proverbial. So now as I move on to the next one, I will finally be reaching out into even fresher territory than ever before. It won’t be long before I do that, of that much I am sure!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • James Geraghty
  • 09-07-18

I loved every second of it!

Well narrated with excellent voices for other characters. The story was captivating and visceral. Now I must read another in the series immediately.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • jolly
  • 08-23-18

Another wonderful listen

I never thought I would say that any writer was equal to Bernard Cornwell but Simon Scarrow is such a writer. The naration of all of his books on Audible are superb. Thank you Mr Scarrow. Regards Wendy

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Michael
  • 06-21-18

Excelent as always.

Kato continues to rub off on Macro but the latter remains his usual blunt socially hamfisted self. I know these books are now just following a mold but they are a great romp.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mr. Anthony D. Bateman
  • 03-24-18

Love is in the air

Good news for one of our heroes as Macro and Cato head to Syria and a fight with the Parthians. pushed into the advance of the roman expedition to Palmyra the pair and their cohorts first fight into a city then hold it off against rebels waiting for a relief column that may or may not arrive. another excellent tale of adventure and conspiracy never knowing who to trust.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Mr
  • 12-10-17

Roman?

Great listen but I do wonder whether some of the phrases would have been heard in the Roman ranks :-)

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Mrs.
  • 02-14-16

Preferred the previous reader

Decent book, but I've become used to the previous voices of Macro and Kato so the change irritated me a little.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kindle Customer
  • 02-09-15

Great read as usual

In the series of books Scarrow, portray s believable characters who just cannot keep themselves out of trouble.
You only want them out of Narcoses clutches but will it ever happen read the series to find out

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Nana
  • 02-01-15

Excellent Again

I love Lindsay Davis Falco books and there is a similar patter to the protagonists journey around the med. did I hear someone bring likens to a used car salesmen in this book. May be it was a cart.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • kevinplee@hotmail.com
  • 06-21-18

Loved it

Really enjoyed this next stage of the journey, great work by both writer and narrator ...now onto the next..