• Catch and Kill

  • A Shadow Operatives Thriller
  • By: J.D. Lasica
  • Narrated by: Tom Taverna.
  • Length: 11 hrs and 8 mins
  • 4.4 out of 5 stars (16 ratings)

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Catch and Kill  By  cover art

Catch and Kill

By: J.D. Lasica
Narrated by: Tom Taverna.
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

What happened to the girls?
Overnight, hundreds of teenage girls disappear from the streets of America.

Off the coast of Florida, a virtual reality theme park opens for the super-rich.

Are the two connected?

When two assailants accost 23-year-old Kaden Baker at an awards gala, she enters a maelstrom of high-tech international intrigue that pits her against a mysterious foe.

It will take all her covert ops and hacking skills as she allies with a group of family members to battle an enemy out to unleash a mass attack on the US and the West by stealth.

Can they bring the girls home and thwart the unthinkable?

Get it now! Catch and Kill is a roller-coaster thrill ride that appeals to both the head and the heart.

Perfect for fans of Michael Crichton, James Rollins, Matthew Mather, A.G. Riddle, and Tim Tigner.

“Heart-thumping.” (Thriller author Dan Petrosini)

©2019 Joseph Daniel Lasica (P)2019 Joseph Daniel Lasica

What listeners say about Catch and Kill

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Edge of my seat

I loved this bad ass Caden! She’s not too butch and not too feminine. She has heart but kicks ass! I was on the edge of my seat!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good story

I thought the story was good but at times a little too technical for what I wanted to know and sometimes a bit confusing. I love these types of stories but not this one. The general narration was good but the different voices was not, especially the female voices. Maybe I would have enjoyed the story more if I had read it and not listened to it. I enjoyed it more the last portion of the story.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A rollercoaster!

A multimillionaire builds an AI part on a private island, and funds the republic of Samana Cay, where rich people can make their deepest fantasies true. But the means and goals of this park are darker and more complex than what they seem. Alex, Valerie’s husband from book one, is sent to the island in order to write an article, but he also discovers there the darkest side of the island.

In theory, this book can be read as a standalone, but there are numerous references to the events in the previous one, as some of the characters, so I would say that reading the books in the correct order is recommended. I am glad that I listened to the first book before listening to this one to be able to do it justice. As with book one, there is plenty of technology and biohacking, as it often happens in Lasica’s books.

The pace of the story is quick and there are several twists and turns, which made of this book a rollercoaster. I found the main bad guy a perverse and complex enemy, and I was glad that we got part of his back story to justify his actions. I was less invested in the characters than in the first book though. In the first book, I found the characters more developed than average for this kind of stories, but I think in this one there were too many important new characters, and somehow the felt less developed. Kaden’s boyfriend and family are some examples. I expected to feel more attached to them but I found I did not care much about what happened to them. I had also troubles to understand some of Kaden’s actions, and while I was able to relate to her in the previous book, I found it more difficult this time.

It was quite an entertaining story, even though it felt a bit long-winded towards the end, probably because I couldn’t fully relate to the characters. I think the multiple POV’s was a factor for this.

This book was narrated by Tom Taverna. It always strikes me as strange when narrators change in the middle of a series, but it is also true that the previous narrator had some issues. I found Taverna slightly better, but I think part of the issue with this book is the narration. It was mostly correct, with a good audio production, but all characters sounded quite similar, and some of the accents sounded forced. There are more points of view than in the first book, so the decision to have a male narrator feels justified.

Overall, I enjoyed this audiobook, and I would recommend to anyone into technothrillers.

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Listener received this title free

Well Written and Fast Paced Thriller

"I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review."

This book was right up my alley; action packed and tech focused. The author clearly spent time to research, which really benefited the story. I found myself eager to continue listening, and fully invested in the plot. After finishing the book, I wished that I’d read the first one before starting it. That being said, hopefully I’ll be able to do that in the near future; or at least before book three is available on Audible; which I will certainly look forward to.

I gave the narration four stars because while it was professionally done, I found myself wishing the female characters would have had more distinct voices. All in all, he’s a good narrator, maybe having a team on the next book would bring this to the next level.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • KC
  • 08-03-19
Listener received this title free

A Griping Failed World Takeover

KD Lasica writes a fascinating novel. It is gripping, edge of seat with many twists and turns. You won't want to stop until the end of the book. I did Audible and the narration was gripping, it kept pushing you to the end. The characters are believable and interesting in this Techno Thriller. It has a lot of action and political intrigue. If you haven't read Biohack book #1, it is OK as there is enough context in this book to keep your interest to be a stand alone. Kaden Baker has a lot of survival skills. She just finds out she has a father. There is a bithched kidnapping. You have young girls disappearing. There is an out of control mentally challenged Billionaire who is using technology to gain world domination. This is a must read. I highly recommend this book.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fast Paced Techno Thriller

An action packed techno thriller that was well researched and very well written. Contains believable characters, plenty is action, twists and turns, and has a complex plot. The audio version had a very professional narration. A very enjoyable thriller that I highly recommend.
I received a free audio copy and voluntarily wrote this honest review.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Catch and Kill

An action packed thriller that kept my interest throughout. The twists and turns along with the fast pace of the action kept me glued to my device as I needed to find out what would happen next!

This was my first book by J. D. Lasica, and I’m sure it won’t be my last.

Tom Taverna is also a new to me narrator, and I thoroughly enjoyed his performance.

I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and I have voluntarily left this review.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent adrenaline rushed story!

This fast paced novel was about a fantasy island for rich people. It is staffed by some girls who have been kidnapped and the main character finds herself with a new found father, trying to find her new found sister. (who had been kidnapped) The details were awesome and the high tech used at the fantasy island was very cool, but also believable. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes mysteries or thrillers!
"I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review."

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall