Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks, and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Audible Plus auto-renews for $7.95/mo after 30 days. Upgrade or cancel anytime.
By the Book  By  cover art

By the Book

By: Amanda Sellet
Narrated by: Laura Knight Keating
Try for $0.00

$7.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $17.19

Buy for $17.19

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

In this clever YA rom-com debut perfect for fans of Kasie West and Ashley Poston, a teen obsessed with 19th-century literature tries to cull advice on life and love from her favorite classic heroines to disastrous results - especially when she falls for the school's resident Lothario.

Mary Porter-Malcolm has prepared for high school in the one way she knows how: an extensive review of classic literature to help navigate the friendships, romantic liaisons, and overall drama she has come to expect from such an "esteemed" institution. When some new friends seem in danger of falling for the same tricks employed since the days of Austen and Tolstoy, Mary swoops in to create the Scoundrel Survival Guide, using archetypes of literature's debonair bad boys to signal red flags.

But despite her best efforts, she soon finds herself unable to listen to her own good advice and falling for a supposed cad - the same one she warned her friends from whom to stay away. Without a convenient rain-swept moor to flee to, Mary is forced to admit that real life doesn't follow the same rules as fiction and that if she wants a happy ending, she's going to have to write it herself.

©2020 Amanda Sellet (P)2020 Recorded Books

Love Books? You'll Love Audible.

Placeholder Image Alt Text

Transform your day

Replace endless scrolling with endless listening. Chores can be fun.

Placeholder Image Alt Text

Listen everywhere

Download titles to listen offline, wherever you are in the world.

Placeholder Image Alt Text

Carry your entire Library

Your stories go where you go. Audiobooks don’t weigh a thing.

Placeholder Image Alt Text

Listen and learn

Discover stories that can change your mind, your well-being, and your life.

Placeholder Image Alt Text

Reach your reading goals

You can’t turn pages while you drive—but you can press play.

Placeholder Image Alt Text

Find your niche

WIth thousands of titles to explore, there’s something for everyone.

Try for $0.00 $14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

What listeners say about By the Book

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    28
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    31
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A very satisfying read from a new author

I loved this book-its cleverly written and entertaining. Such a treat to have the great literary novels we were forced to read in high school brought to life and made relevant in today’s culture. The narrator is excellent. I can’t wait to hear more from this author!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enjoyed listening to this one

Thoroughly enjoyed every minute of listening to this one. Well written and fun to listen to!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Where to start.

As a teen myself it was easy for me to relate to the characters and the events going on. I definitely feel like it could have had a second book to it but I have to say I loved the way Amanda Sellet ended it.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A joy to read!

This had laughs and live and friendship and character development...I loved every minute of it!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Predictable but pleasant.

Overall a pleasant escape. Captured a higher ed family dynamic well along with high school friendships.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I listened to this book several times

So many characters. Each distinct and interesting. Great narrator with a good reading intonation, not too fast or slow. The author’s prose is full of fun metaphor and literary references. Written in first person narrative, I did not at first reading understand we were getting the protagonist Mary’s subjective interpretation of what is happening. After finishing the story once I had to hear the whole book again to notice the clues in the story she did not interpret correctly. And a very sweet and somewhat innocent set of characters, almost all of them.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A complete tapestry of AMAZING

I've never met characters like these and very much wish I knew every one of them personally. My favorite aspect of the book was the interactions between MPM and Alex -- quite possibly the cleverest romantic dialogue I've ever read.

Growing up on the classics, I found the literary references refreshing and fun, and absolutely loved how they were woven into a hilarious and modern story.

Also, the narrator is AMAZING. Her voice is as fresh and unique and subtly brilliant as the characters she brings to life. She's seriously first-rate and I will seek out other books she narrates just to hear her read them.

All in all, a funny, well thought-out, articulate, innocent, irreverent and totally unique book that, once I got immersed in, didn't want to ever end.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall