adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

DI Kelly Porter is back, but so is an old foe and this time he won’t back down....

When a teenage girl flings herself off a cliff in pursuit of a gruesome death, DI Kelly Porter is left asking why. Ruled a suicide, there’s no official reason for Kelly to chase answers, but as several of her team’s cases converge on the girl’s school, a new, darker story emerges. One which will bring Kelly face-to-face with an old foe determined to take back what is rightfully his - no matter the cost. 

Mired in her pursuit of justice for the growing list of victims, Kelly finds security in Johnny, her family, and the father she has only just discovered. But just as she draws close to unearthing the dark truth at the heart of her investigation, a single moment on a cold winter’s night shatters the notion that anything in Kelly’s world can ever truly be safe. 

Don't miss this gripping crime thriller featuring a phenomenal detective. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons and Patricia Gibney.

©2019 Rachel Lynch (P)2019 Rachel Lynch

More from the same

What listeners say about Bitter Edge

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    111
  • 4 Stars
    37
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    120
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    100
  • 4 Stars
    32
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

best yet

My assessment probably has to do with my medical background and age but having finished all four books in rapid sequence this is the best of the lot. The writing, plot, detail, emotions, and closure have allowed this listener to feel satisfied.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Licensed Chemical dependency Counselor

I was horrified by the author’s depiction of first alcoholism that was declared a disease in 1956! Right now this is a lot of bogus talk about separation of alcohol from the alcoholic will cure them! NOT SO! The alcoholic suffers from an allergy of the body that sets off a craving that the brain continues like the addict to crave more.
You are setting alcoholism back 80 years if you believe it isn’t a disease.
Even the great Carl Jung used to say they were a hopeless lot to be locked away in asylums!
AA has multiple millions of followers World wide. It isn’t the only way to get sober but it is one that has worked well for millions!
Do your research! Go down to a homeless shelter( most will not admit those that are drunk) and ask... can you quit? Sure.... I just can’t stay quit is the usual answer of EVERY addict!!! Including those with alcoholism! Do not give up on the young people either many many many are in the rooms of AA making it stronger than its ever been!
Look at the money.... who gets money when people are drunks? Now follow it and find out that some psych babble people wanting to put forth a “new” theory want to not call it a disease! Well.... they tried that ever sense man first stomped on grapes. Drunks are even spoken about in the Bible! Wouldn’t it be great if your wrong and I’m right and it really is a disease and can be successfully treated, so those people can become working contributing members of society again?????

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent!

I continue to thoroughly enjoy this series and am about to purchase Book 5. I'm an avid mystery/thriller reader/listener, and am picky. Great job Rachel Lynch and Clare Kissane. You make a well matched writer, and narrator, team.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great storytelling!

This book was fantastic! Kelly becomes even more interesting. The character development is spectacular. The twists and turns in this non- stop case are utterly engaging! The end is powerful, heartbreaking, and touching. I did not expect to feel so much...

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 03-26-21

brilliant

loved it, intriguing story, likeable and unlikable characters. makes you want to listen to all in the series

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for TaisyDoby
  • TaisyDoby
  • 03-25-21

Captivating to the end!

Fantastic plot twists and turns throughout, just as you think you have the murderer, off it goes in another direction.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mairead Perry
  • Mairead Perry
  • 03-20-21

Up there with the best !

Super believable story that draws you in. The narrator excellent very important to a listener. Think I’m hooked on Rachel Well done and thanks

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Liz
  • Liz
  • 02-17-21

Average

I have been following the series, not completely in order but with this book I found Kelly's characture just a bit whining and leaning toward selfish and unpleasant. The relationship with her sister seems churlish and childish and I feel that angle has run its course

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Julie
  • Julie
  • 12-31-20

Excellent book

Very sad topics, but ehjoy the good charecters in the Kelly Porter series. The beginning was gruesome but such a good series. well written & narrated. on to the next in the series.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sarah McCaffrey
  • Sarah McCaffrey
  • 11-03-20

Favourite of the series so far

This was really gripping, my favourite so far in this series, The return of one of the previous characters was great. The narration is great to listen to, I have been listening to these so much I am taking on a Northern accent..

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Angela
  • Angela
  • 10-30-20

love books

loved it.love all her 📚 i thini I only have one left to read

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Alison K
  • Alison K
  • 10-16-20

Brilliant series!

I’ve enjoyed every book in this series, exciting stories with character relationships developing throughout. Excellent narration. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs CJ
  • Mrs CJ
  • 09-14-20

Love this series

I shall be sad when I’ve caught up with latest book in this series. The back stories of the police officers are interesting, the people themselves are fairly ordinary, but the plots are satisfyingly complicated and believable. The narrator is excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for annie21
  • annie21
  • 04-07-20

she's done it again

another gripping instalment as usual brilliant with lots of twists roll on the next one

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Billy B
  • Billy B
  • 01-03-21

Good story

Great story, excellent to get out of my head with. Rachel wends the story in human and believable ways

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dubs
  • Dubs
  • 03-27-21

Insightful click

Thought I might have fallen into a cliche, but Rachel’s tenacious navigation opened my eyes to the frighteningly dark insecurities and exploitation of our x generation, beautifully crafted and sprinkled with beacons of light. Not to mention a silken audio production, hooked...