adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

He slips through the unlocked window. Creeps down the hall. A shadow standing in the bedroom doorway. Will you wake when death comes ripping? 

A string of brutal home invasion murders terrifies Dade County, Florida. The killer strikes in the dead of the night, savages innocent people in their beds, wipes out entire families. 

He attacks at random. Rich. Poor. Young. Old. No one is safe. 

When the city sleeps, he comes alive. Stalks the night. Walks among us. 

The investigation is hopeless. There's little physical evidence to work with, and the killer's chaotic behavior makes him as unpredictable as he is dangerous. 

What drives someone to such violence? And how can anyone make sense of such brutality? 

The task force leading the investigation needs a profiler, and there's only one man for the job. 

Loshak. Special Agent Victor Loshak. 

The 53-year-old likes his Dunkin' Donuts coffee shaken, not stirred. And now, for the first time, he's on his own. 

But how far will this case push him? 

In recent years, Loshak has slowed down some. He relies on more wit than grit these days, often playing a mentor role to his partner, Violet Darger. Until now, she always had more than enough grit for both of them. 

But Darger isn't around this time, and a killer this aggressive will push Loshak to his limits.

And beyond. 

Yeah, he'll need to find that grit again...or die trying. 

This pulse-pounding thriller will have you holding your breath until the final chapter. Fans of John Sandford, Karin Slaughter, Michael Connelly, and Lisa Gardner should check out the Victor Loshak series.

©2018 L.T. Vargus, E.M. Smith, Tim McBain (P)2019 L.T. Vargus, E.M. Smith, Tim McBain

What listeners say about Beyond Good & Evil (A Serial Killer Thriller)

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    59
  • 4 Stars
    24
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    63
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    53
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Victor Loshak goes solo!!!

This book is actually two stories, along with Beyond Good & Evil, it includes the novella, The Good Life Crisis.
Beyond Good & Evil provides insight into Loshak’s life as well as his abilities to find the serial killer he has profiled. While Loshak is normally teamed up with Violet Darger, this story doesn’t suffer from her absence, in fact it was very interesting to gain more insight into Loshak.

The Good Life Crisis follows Loshak as he helps his ex-wife settle in Santa Fe, a chance meeting during a visit to a Santa Fe art gallery turns into a mystery to be solved. This story proves that he has a very human side along with his excellent detective skills.

Curt Bonnem does an excellent job bringing these stories to life, I’m looking forward to listening to more stories narrated by Curt. If you are a fan of the Violet Darger series by L.T. Vargas & Tim McBain, this set of Victor Loshak stories is a must listen!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fun Police Procedural

I loved it. I love everything this duo writes. My biggest takeaways from this book were:
a. I need to finish the Darger series, because I feel like I missed some stuff.
and...
b. I really need to find a gourmet hotdog restaurant, because I want a mac and cheese covered hot dog.

aside from all that, I enjoyed the writing, as always, and the narrator, who did an awesome job.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

LOSHAK!

Victor Loshak, Book 1 was all that I hoped for and more!
Curt Bonnem, the narrator, did a wonderful job making Loshak come to life and giving him a voice! He's a good fit for this character!
This book was absolutely AMAZING! We got to "know" Loshak with Violet Darger as his partner, but now that he's alone, we get to see his complexity. His life. His ex-wife. His daughter. His feelings on aging. The Author's did a great job on making him his own. In Beyond Good & Evil, he was "partnered up, " with "The Reporter," aka Spinks. He was great as well!
Loshak & Spinks together was fun! They are super funny and get along great! :) I can't wait to hear what's next in the world of Loshak!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Boring

The storyline is so dull that it was the equivalent of watching paint dry. I have more interesting stories from trips to the grocery store. I couldn't even finish it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic

Loved this! Excellent story, writing and fabulous narration. Highly recommend and can’t wait for the next one.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Narrator

I didn't like the narrators voice , it was too "sing songy". The diffent characters were ok.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good FBI profiler story

This is a good story, with snarky characters, some humor and some action. FBI Profiler, Victor Loshak, is coming to the end of his career and not looking forward to it, having lost his only child to cancer and his wife to divorce. In FL, a vicious serial killer is breaking into homes, murdering entire families…and stealing mundane items like dining utensils. Loshak teams up with an investigative reporter to catch a killer…while trying to make amends with his ex. I enjoyed the story and the ending.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

good mystery

It was compelling and suspenseful. There truly are evil people in the world, unfortunately sorry to say.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

never a let down

They did it again, great read ....thank you. didn't see the ending even when it was almost there

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This writing team is quickly becoming a favorite!

This writing team has such a way with words! Whether based in real crime or completely fabricated, their use of description pulls you right in and blurs the edges of reality. You can't tell what is fact or what is fiction. There are moments of glorious invention that strike you straight in the gut. Always a pleasurable read.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Wheelie26
  • Wheelie26
  • 05-17-20

A Solo Outing for Victor Loshak.

This is the first book, in what will hopefully become a series, for FBI agent Victor Loshak. Prior to this he has always been the partner of Violet Darger so I was very interested to see where this would take me.
I had no need to be concerned that splitting up the two agents would lessen the content, if anything I got to know Loshak much better than I had previously.
The other change with this book is that the usual authors McBain and Vargus are joined by co-author EM Smith and is very well narrated by Curt Bonnem.
In this book Loshak is drawn into a series of home invasion and murder crimes by a reporter who has connected several crimes but can get no interest from local law enforcement.
Together they work through this case keeping me very entertained and having to listen for “just another chapter” until time just flew away from me!
If you like serial killer, psychological/ BSU crimes or thrillers then this has it all.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for elizabeth b.
  • elizabeth b.
  • 02-01-21

Not bad

I thought I would enjoy this more than I did still I listened to the first story I didn’t both with the second one. Not sure why just didn’t get me interested