Your audiobook is waiting…

Bad Blood: A Gripping Crime Thriller

Violet Darger FBI Thriller, Book 4
Narrated by: Kate Marcin
Length: 9 hrs and 28 mins
4 out of 5 stars (44 ratings)

Regular price: $19.95

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

The body slumps over the steering wheel. Pools of blood going tacky on the dash. Two shots to the back of the head. A mafia-style hit in a small town.

Special Agent Violet Darger must make sense of this savagery - figure out how brutality like this could happen in rural Michigan.

The victim had been living the American dream. A small-business owner who built a construction empire. Started a family. Coached youth hockey. He seemed to have it all.

But his surface life didn’t tell the full story. He carried dark secrets to the grave. Left clues which offer more questions than answers, clues that seem to lead Darger to Detroit.

In the city, she finds despair. Corruption. Decay. Blocks of vacant buildings line the streets. Crumbling. Caving in. It resembles ancient ruins more than a modern American city. Concrete caverns waiting to be explored. And there, among the rubble, she gets swept up in the hunt for a notorious hit man.

He kills for profit. Navigates the brutal world of organized crime. Harbors secrets of his own, albeit domestic ones. He holds the answers to all of Darger’s questions, but only if she can catch him.

This pulse-pounding thriller will have you on the edge of your seat until the final page. Fans of John Sandford, Karin Slaughter, Harlan Coben, and Lisa Jackson should check out the Violet Darger series.

The books in the series can be listened to in any order, so grab Bad Blood and get started today.

©2018 L.T. Vargus & Tim McBain (P)2018 Smarmy Press

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

I do not recommend

This book is terrible. The writing was good the gore A plus but the plot was so unbelievable. Darger the MC I hate, Loshack was growing on me but then he sucked too, Lucke I liked in book 1 and hated in this book, too political in this book and it was done so wrong. Nothing involving investigating skills was done right, the FBI in this book was worse than the local police department in terms of investigation and operations, and everything was so wrong. Darger can’t keep a gun to save her life and literally she hasn’t . She’s been shot (multiple times), hit (multiple times), drugged, stabbed, handcuffed, abducted, she’s been in a violent car crash, and the only thing missing was being burned but she managed to burn a shed but she never dies. She caused so many people to die and she never got reprimanded or written up. Owen her boyfriend she left for the FBI and now she kind of sort of left the FBI. I don’t know at this point. I’m not reading any more of these Darger books anymore. The series instead of improving got worse. This is laughable. I’m done. I don’t recommend this series at all unless you want to be disappointed.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Not up to the series standards

I have loved the previous Darger books but I can't get into this one at all. I finally gave up on it and I never do that but I just couldn't do it anymore. I'm not a fan of the cataracts or the story line and the writing style seems different. I stopped on chapter 25 and I felt like we're hasn't seen much of Darger.
Very disappointing

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Disappointing

I am sorry you took a great female character and turned her into the consummate victim! I have loved your other books. This one is I had to force myself to finish and am so sad about Violet’s weak end.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

kind of predictable

imagine this Violet Darger goes out on her own and almost gets killed that's never happened. Horrible agent.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Shallow

This is the least complex book of the series. Certainly disappointing on multiple levels. I hope that the next book is better.