• Asylum

  • Touched by the Fae, Book One
  • By: Jessica Lynch
  • Narrated by: Michelle Shure
  • Length: 5 hrs and 53 mins
  • 3.9 out of 5 stars (12 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Asylum  By  cover art

Asylum

By: Jessica Lynch
Narrated by: Michelle Shure
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The fae are real. I just pretend they're not.

Black Pine Facility for Wayward Juveniles. The asylum. It's a place where they stick troubled cases like me until we age out or they think they've fixed us.

Newsflash: You can't fix what's not broken. And I may have been thrown into Black Pine when I was barely 15, but I'm not crazy.

I'm cursed.

Because the fae? They're real. Gorgeous, ethereal, mythical creatures who can't lie but are experts at twisting the truth. Just one touch, that's all it takes. Just one touch and the fae have power over you. Just one touch and your whole world can go up in flames.

I was warned. He called himself the Shadow Man. With his raven hair and glowing silver eyes, he looked the part, too. He's the one who told me about the fae, who made me promise not to be tricked into giving up everything I have with the single touch of my hand. 

I'm...I'm not so good at keeping promises.

Now I'm just about to turn 21. I've kept my head down, constantly wearing my leather gloves as if that's not too little too late. At least they're finally letting me out of the asylum. I've done my time inside here, went through therapy, worked with my psychologists. I'm supposed to be released in two weeks.

That's when Nine, the Shadow Man who once haunted my childhood, returns for the first time in six years with another warning - plus one hell of a surprise.

There's a prophecy. The Fae Queen wants to get her hands on me because of it, and she has the power of the whole Seelie Court behind her. I'm screwed - unless I can hook up with the dark mate mentioned in the prophecy.

Too bad I'd rather die than let another fae male touch me again.

For fans of Holly Black, C. N. Crawford, and the film classic, Labyrinth, Asylum is the first book in a planned trilogy featuring a wary and independent half-fae heroine, the Dark Fae who has shadowed her her entire life, and her quest to learn about who she really is and why the powerful Fae Queen wants her dead.

©2019 Jessica Lynch (P)2020 Jessica Lynch

What listeners say about Asylum

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Is she really crazy she worries


Riley is in an Asylum because she watched a Fae kill her sister (foster) and told the authorities about it during questioning. She has been visited by another Fae from the time she was small, this was not the one that killed her sister. While she has been institutionalized she has been made to believe that Fae are not real. Just before her 21st Birthday she gets another visit and is taken away from the Asylum. The rest of the story is for you to listen to and enjoy. This is a very good read. You will be anxiously waiting for the next book in this series. I was given a free copy of this audiobook at my request and this is my honest review.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • M.
  • 05-21-20

Beautiful Voice

The narrator keeps me wanting more! Her voice is so smooth. The story was good because of her voice.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Can’t wait to read next book

Asylum is a great read with descriptions to place you right where the character is and what she’s facing. Riley’s story takes on a journey I can’t wait to follow. I’m already looking for the next book. The narrator does a phenomenal job of reading with accurate emotions and different characters in the book creating empathy and excitement making you feel what Riley feels. Dark frey or light frey? Whose side will you choose?!