• Artefact

  • The Lazarus War
  • By: Jamie Sawyer
  • Narrated by: Jeff Harding
  • Length: 14 hrs and 55 mins
  • 4.0 out of 5 stars (56 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Artefact  By  cover art

Artefact

By: Jamie Sawyer
Narrated by: Jeff Harding
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $25.08

Buy for $25.08

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Artefact is book one of The Lazarus War, an explosive new space adventure series from one of the brightest new stars in science fiction - perfect for fans of The Edge of Tomorrow, Alien and James S. A. Corey's Expanse series.

Mankind has spread to the stars, only to become locked in warfare with an insidious alien race. All that stands against the alien menace are the soldiers of the Simulant Operation Programme, an elite military team remotely operating avatars in the most dangerous theatres of war.

Captain Conrad Harris has died hundreds of times - running suicide missions in simulant bodies. Known as Lazarus, he is a man addicted to death. So when a secret research station deep in alien territory suddenly goes dark, there is no other man who could possibly lead a rescue mission.

But Harris hasn't been trained for what he's about to find. And this time, he may not be coming back...

Artefact is an action-drenched tale of elite space marines, deep space exploration, and galactic empires. Discover The Lazarus War - the thrilling new space opera series from one of the most exciting new voices in science fiction.

©2015 Jamie Sawyer (P)2016 Hachette Audio

Critic Reviews

"A gripping read that moves at warp speed." (Jack Campbell, author of the Lost Fleet novels.)

What listeners say about Artefact

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Superfluous and Unbalanced

Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

No, the book seems to force as much as scientific words as it can in a sentence. Never in my life have I heard so much science jargon in a book that just makes it seemingly unnatural and annoying. The narrator also could use some work: I understand the need for inflection of tone and volume, but the audio is very improperly mixed in this one. There will be moments when the narrator's voice suddenly goes strikingly loud, like nails on a chalkboard. I could not finish the audiobook and don't intend to.

2 people found this helpful