• An English Garden Murder

  • Julia Bird Mysteries, Book 1
  • By: Katie Gayle
  • Narrated by: Lucy Scott
  • Length: 6 hrs and 53 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (232 ratings)

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
An English Garden Murder  By  cover art

An English Garden Murder

By: Katie Gayle
Narrated by: Lucy Scott
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $18.15

Buy for $18.15

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

Julia Bird’s picturesque Cotswolds cottage has everything she could want. Rustic charm, cozy fireplaces, and, it turns out, a dead body in the garden....

Recently divorced and reluctantly retired, Julia Bird has fled London to enjoy idyllic rural life in the Cotswolds. Determined to have the perfect English garden, her first job is to tear down the old shed, where she unearths much more than she’d bargained for: a body, apparently buried for decades. But who could it be, and who killed them? The police draw a blank, and even the gossip-fest that is the local book club can’t remember anyone going missing in the village.

Unable to get on with her garden until the mystery is resolved, Julia decides to conduct her own clandestine investigations. So, together with her wayward chocolate Labrador puppy, Jake, Julia begins a whirlwind tour of the local residents. And everyone, it seems, has something to hide in this village. As she gets closer to the truth, Julia uncovers something even more shocking: another body, this time of someone she actually knows.

Determined to unmask the killer and find out what connects the two dead bodies, Julia–newly nicknamed the Grim Reaper–ups the stakes and hones in on the most likely suspect. But if she hasn’t deduced correctly, then there is someone else in the village who has killed twice already. Will they be prepared to make it third time lucky to keep their secret safe?

This cozy mystery is perfect for fans of M.C. Beaton, Faith Martin, and Betty Rowlands.

©2022 Katie Gayle (P)2022 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.