adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $21.00

Buy for $21.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A surreal debut novel set in a world shaped by language in the tradition of Margaret Atwood and Ursula K. Le Guin.

Vanja, an information assistant, is sent from her home city of Essre to the austere, wintry colony of Amatka with an assignment to collect intelligence for the government. Immediately she feels that something strange is going on: People act oddly in Amatka, and citizens are monitored for signs of subversion. 

Intending to stay just a short while, Vanja falls in love with her housemate, Nina, and prolongs her visit. But when she stumbles on evidence of a growing threat to the colony and a cover-up by its administration, she embarks on an investigation that puts her at tremendous risk. 

In Karin Tidbeck's world, everyone is suspect, no one is safe, and nothing - not even language nor the very fabric of reality - can be taken for granted. Amatka is a beguiling and wholly original novel about freedom, love, and artistic creation by a captivating new voice. 

©2017 Karin Tidbeck (P)2017 Random House Audio

Critic Reviews

"Karin Tidbeck's Amatka is a stunning, truly original exploration of the mysteries of reality and what it means to be human. It's brutally honest and uncompromising in its vision - a brilliant short story writer has been revealed as an even more brilliant novelist. One of my favorite reads of the past few years, an instant classic." (Jeff VanderMeer, author of the Southern Reach trilogy)

"Tidbeck reimagines reality and the power of language in her dystopian sci-fi novel...Tidbeck introduces the mysteries and mechanics of her world slowly while leaving the origins of these pioneers opaque. Her ending takes a turn into much weirder territory, but her tense plotting, as well as the questions she raises about language, control, and human limits make this a very welcome speculative fiction novel." (Publishers Weekly)

"Karin Tidbeck is a brilliant conjurer of worlds, a fabulist armed with an imagination as fiercely strange as any I have ever encountered. Her fiction is built on a foundation of improbabilities and even outright impossibilities, and if you surrender to its increasingly bold claims on reality you will walk away surprised, thrilled, and in all likelihood changed forever." (Matt Bell, author of Scrapper)

What listeners say about Amatka

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    53
  • 4 Stars
    32
  • 3 Stars
    26
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    60
  • 4 Stars
    33
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    55
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Just awesome

Great book!!! The idea of it was fascinating and i couldnt put it down . Narrator was great too!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A good book, but a little clumsy.

I adore Jagannath, so I thought I'd try this. This story was good, and I'd recommend it, but it felt like it was stretched out. Something about it felt a little clumsy.

The book was very meta and I think some clumsiness was intentional given the world she was making. Still, I varied between intense fascination and boredom, and even if the characters feel that way it doesn't mean the reader should.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Story

Everything about this was on point! Highly recommended. Narration Perfect. The story is intense!! One of the better thrillers I’ve listened to in a while.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Literally the worst book I have ever purchased!!!

stuuuuuupiiiid, not worth more words!!( OK 15 words stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid stupid!!!!!!!!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

refreshing take on an alternate world

it's a quick listen at only 6ish hours long but it's a wonderfully built world that will have you hooked