• A Tangled Web

  • A British Crime Thriller (A DCI Pilgrim Thriller, Book 2)
  • By: A L Fraine
  • Narrated by: Duncan Galloway
  • Length: 5 hrs and 3 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (8 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
A Tangled Web  By  cover art

A Tangled Web

By: A L Fraine
Narrated by: Duncan Galloway
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A missing girl, a trafficking ring, and a web of lies. 

When wayward teen Olivia goes missing, her friend reports it. 

Jon Pilgrim and his team take the case, hunting for the missing girl. Sifting through their lives, they discover both girls have been victims for a long time. Grooming, gaslighting, a criminal gang used these vulnerable young women. 

As the case progresses, a local millionaire is implicated, a millionaire with links to the wealthy and powerful. But when the wealthy businessman’s girlfriend takes an all too personal interest in Jon, things get complicated. 

Lies, corruption, and trafficked girls lead Jon into a tangled web. And there could be no escape from the spider at its core. 

A Tangled Web is a pulse-pounding new thriller from author A L Fraine. Perfect for fans of JD Kirk, JM Dalgliesh, Alex Smith, David Gatward, and Ian Rankin.

©2019 Andrew Dobell (P)2022 Andrew Dobell

What listeners say about A Tangled Web

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great story

Absolutely great story. I love how the characters interact and how the story develops. Can't wait for more!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable story.

I enjoyed this story. The storyline is good and the characters fit it well. The narrator does a great job telling the story. I look forward to reading more from this author.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for VoraciousBookDragoness
  • VoraciousBookDragoness
  • 12-25-21

Story well written and great narration

I was given this free review copy at my request and have voluntarily left this review.
Story well written and great narration

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for SandraL
  • SandraL
  • 08-06-21

Fab series

After finishing Book 1 I went straight onto Book 2 in this exciting series. As with the first in the series this book is fairly short but action packed, and there's plenty of humour too (Finger-Girl!) The main characters are excellent and I love the banter between Pilgrim and O'Connell. Can't wait for Book 3.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for caroline wright
  • caroline wright
  • 08-04-21

Another brilliant installment and well narrated

I have just listened to this and it was really good. I liked the twists and turns and the personal stories that added to the main stories.

The narration was brilliant as in the previous book.

I was given an advance copy by the narrator but the review is entirely my own.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amyloueliza
  • Amyloueliza
  • 07-31-21

Keep your wits about you.

This being the second in Fraines series with DCI John PilgrimI had to get it. Like the first book it was full of mystery and intrigue, another excellent collaboration of goodies and baddies. This time I'm seeing a similarity in the blossoming relationship between female character Sydney and John, that grows into a love hate scenario not dissimilar to one in the dramatized detective series 'Luther' with Idres Elba and Ruth Jones. (if you've seen it.) After saying that I'll probably be way off piste. Anyway, I once again feel the drama and love the little comic quips with Kate that go into making these characters so enjoyable to learn about. A very suitable second story.

Please forgive any errors, predictive text keeps disagreeing with my choices.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for kathrine leach
  • kathrine leach
  • 07-27-21

A Tangled web

Really enjoyed listening to this audiobook. I will definitely be looking for more from the author and narrator.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for KelseyMac
  • KelseyMac
  • 07-21-21

Great book

Another great addition to the book series!! Listen to it in one sitting, really love the narrator and the story!

Keep up the amazing work, I look forward to more books in this series!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for mangankillarney
  • mangankillarney
  • 06-30-21

Thriller

I enjoyed listening to the narration of Duncan Galloway. perfect bought the characters and plot together.

This is a fast paced thriller. With a sence of humour, suspense and action.

We have missing and murders of girls, and maybe the Russian mafia.

brilliant.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for tony mann
  • tony mann
  • 06-29-21

Brilliant brilliant brilliant

Once again A L Fraine has written a fantastic British crime thriller. This one was more harrowing because of the story line. So enjoyable. Duncan Galloway is an excellent narrator and makes it so easy to differentiate between all the characters. Would recommend this book

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Calowaren
  • Calowaren
  • 06-27-21

Fast paced thriller

This is the second book in the DCI Pilgrim series but the 6th book featuring Kate O'Connell and having just finished the Kate O'Connell series it was nice to see her back in action as Finger-Girl (you have to read it to understand). The characters are well written and realistic and they enjoy lots of playful banter in between searching for ruthless villains.

The plot is well presented and is full of action and suspense. The narrator gives an excellent performance and gives each character a unique voice, bringing them to life and matching the pace of the book perfectly.

I received a free copy of this audiobook at my request and am voluntarily writing an honest and unbiased review.