• A Sister's Shame

  • A Maggie Hartley Foster Carer Story
  • By: Maggie Hartley
  • Narrated by: Penny MacDonald
  • Length: 5 hrs and 41 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (63 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
A Sister's Shame  By  cover art

A Sister's Shame

By: Maggie Hartley
Narrated by: Penny MacDonald
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $21.81

Buy for $21.81

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A heartbreaking, powerful true story from Sunday Times best-selling author Maggie Hartley, Britain's most-loved foster carer. Perfect for fans of Cathy Glass and Casey Watson.

Foster carer Maggie Hartley is used to all manner of children arriving on her doorstep, but nothing can prepare her for sisters Billy and Bo when they arrive at her home. It is clear from the moment she sets eyes on them that four-year-old Bo and seven-year-old Billy have clearly been subjected to unimaginable neglect, and it takes all of Maggie's skills as a foster carer to try to connect with the volatile little girls, who seem far younger than their years. 

Over time, the little girls slowly emerge from their shells, and Maggie begins the difficult task of trying to gain their trust. But as time goes on, it becomes clear that there is something much darker going on, something that will call into question everything Maggie has ever learned in all her years as a foster carer....

©2021 Maggie Hartley (P)2021 Orion Publishing Group

What listeners say about A Sister's Shame

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    53
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    51
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    48
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Overly fixating on the children's weight

The way she spoke about the children was insensitive. I know that childhood obesity is a very touchy subject. Unfortunately I felt that she missed the mark on this one. Constantly bringing attention to an overweight individuals body can cause more harm than good in the long run. Things like a yo-yo dieting, depression body dysmorphia...

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Boring - bad narration

I will go back to Cathy glass for my foster care books. I made myself finish it but it was not my fave.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Tears

the ugly truth , who's to blame?
high price for being born In shame,
all they knew was wrong

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Emily
  • Emily
  • 04-24-21

Well written and narrated as usual, but...

Too short! It feels mean to say as Maggie is amazing and I love her books, but I don't think it was necessary to have a cliffhanger in a fostering memoir. I don't want to include any "spoilers" but I feel like the ending could have been concluded- now we have to wait until next year to find out what happens :(

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ian mcnamara
  • ian mcnamara
  • 04-26-21

Another great story.

Another really good read. It was horrible to read what the children went through but it is encouraging that there are carers like Maggy out there who want to help them.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs R
  • Mrs R
  • 08-10-22

Mixed feelings

A heartbreaking storyline and you cant help but feel sympathy for the victims. However I found the writing style quite patronising. I suspect the author has spent too long dumbing down what she says for the benefit of her young fosters and forgotten that the audience for a book will be adults. I did finish the book as I wanted to know what happened to the children but i wont be choosing another one by this author.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Munchie
  • Munchie
  • 06-05-21

Shocking but one of the best

This book was so shocking, it had me gripped from the very beginning. I loved the narrator, and maggie as always told billy and bo's story beautifully, it was moving, poignant, and I devoured it in one sitting.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for joanne wilson
  • joanne wilson
  • 05-01-21

what a great book, Maggie you have done it again.

I really enjoyed listening to a sisters shame.
Maggie Hartley is a fantastic carer, mother ,and grandma.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cornish2000
  • Cornish2000
  • 11-09-22

predictable

very very reparative. gets a bit predictable towards the end. lots of niece practices...plenty more books out there

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for C. Yates
  • C. Yates
  • 07-21-22

a fantastic read

a fantastic audiobook about a very sad story. highly recommended for anyone who likes these true stories

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ninja
  • Ninja
  • 07-03-22

Heart felt

Well read and put together. glad to know that there are people out there ready and willing to help.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kerrie Hector
  • Kerrie Hector
  • 02-10-22

Extremely moving and heart breaking

I've read all of Maggies previous books and always loved them. This was the first time I've ever listened to a fostering memoir as an audio book though. It was extremely well read and if anything, I felt it added all the more to me becoming emotionally connected to it. Especially the next part of Natalie's story, which I've obviously followed for awhile now in previous books. I would definitely recommend this for anyone who enjoys books by Maggie, as well as other Foster carers such as Casey Watson, Cathy Glass and Rosie Lewis.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for miss j e a mcpherson
  • miss j e a mcpherson
  • 01-05-22

Difficult but good read

Interesting storyline if you can handle this kind of genre. Good read though and would recommend

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 01-28-22

Brilliant book! So well written

A great book. So sad, but a story that needs to be told. Very compelling

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 06-01-21

a sister's shame

I loved this story ❤ I loved the foster carer such as I have fostered 5 children. she is so kind and caring.