Your audiobook is waiting…

A River of Royal Blood

Narrated by: Soneela Nankani
Length: 10 hrs and 41 mins
Categories: Teens, Sci-Fi & Fantasy
4.5 out of 5 stars (14 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

An enthralling debut perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone set in a North African-inspired fantasy world where two sisters must fight to the death to win the crown.

Sixteen-year-old Eva is a princess, born with the magick of blood and marrow - a dark and terrible magick that hasn't been seen for generations in the vibrant but fractured country of Myre. Its last known practitioner was Queen Raina, who toppled the native khimaer royalty and massacred thousands, including her own sister, eight generations ago, thus beginning the Rival Heir tradition. Living in Raina's long and dark shadow, Eva must now face her older sister, Isa, in a battle to the death if she hopes to ascend to the Ivory Throne - because in the Queendom of Myre only the strongest, most ruthless rulers survive.

When Eva is attacked by an assassin just weeks before the battle with her sister, she discovers there is more to the attempt on her life than meets the eye - and it isn't just her sister who wants to see her dead. As tensions escalate, Eva is forced to turn to a fey instructor of mythic proportions and a mysterious and handsome khimaer prince for help in growing her magick into something to fear. Because despite the love she still has for her sister, Eva will have to choose: Isa's death or her own.

A River of Royal Blood is an enthralling debut set in a lush North African-inspired fantasy world that subtly but powerfully challenges our notions of power, history, and identity.

©2019 Amanda Joy (P)2019 Listening Library

Critic Reviews

"A sibling rivalry like nothing you’ve ever read before. Joy weaves a dark yet delicate treatise on race, heritage, and power whilst never losing that addictive ‘just one more chapter’ allure. I devoured it in one sitting!" (Natasha Ngan, New York Times best-selling author of Girls of Paper and Fire)

"A dark and bloody delight of a debut, Amanda Joy's A River of Royal Blood is a seductive tapestry of extraordinary magick delving into the terrifying lengths we will go to claim our destiny." (Dhonielle Clayton, New York Times best-selling author of The Belles)
 

“[This] engrossing, North African-inspired series opener draws effectively on real-world prejudices to inform [a] richly created universe.” (Publishers Weekly)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Waiting for book 2

I couldn’t stop once I started. Sooo good. Rich world building, characters you root for and love, pacing that pulls you in and forward, emotional and fierce. Very excited to read more from this author. #blackgirlmagic