adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Meet Cassie Gwynne: bookworm, cat lover, reluctant heiress...determined detective?

Florida, 1883. Cassie Gwynne is looking for a fresh start when she steps off the steamship in Fernandina harbor for the very first time. She’s trying very hard to become the proper society lady her father wished she was. She’s styled her unruly hair, shined her boots, and even purchased a whole new wardrobe. However, she’s certain finding a body is not very ladylike behavior....

While out exploring the beautiful island with her aunt Flora, Cassie stumbles across the body of Peanut Runkles, town grump and her aunt’s neighbor, lying at the foot of the harbor lookout tower. To make matters worse, because Peanut and Flora have been quarreling for years over everything - from Flora’s wayward puppy to the location of Peanut’s vegetable patch - Flora is immediately arrested for murder.

Desperate to save the only family she has left, Cassie vows to prove Flora’s innocence and untangle the mystery herself, no matter how much the locals disapprove. Adopting Esy the kitten along the way, Cassie’s brilliant mind and nose for a clue lead her on an investigation that takes her all around the island.

But how does the tattered notebook Cassie finds, hidden in a secret drawer in Peanut’s desk, connect to the crime? Cassie is determined to dig up the truth, but can she catch the culprit before her time on the island comes to a deadly end?

This warm and witty cozy mystery will transport you to Fernandina beach and introduce you to a feisty heroine far before her time! Perfect for fans of Verity Bright, T. E. Kinsey, and Deanna Raybourn.

©2021 Genevieve Essig (P)2021 Bookouture

What listeners say about A Deception Most Deadly

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Highly entertaining!

I thoroughly recommend this book! I don't normally read (In this case, listen) to a lot of fiction work, as a fan of history I really enjoyed this book. The story, characters and audio presentation were all excellent. As a frequent consumer of audible books, ( I drive for a living) I find the quality of the actor ( or actors) presenting the book often lacking. That was not the case here. Every aspect of thus production was enjoyable and I enthusiastically encourage anyone to check this out. Looking forward to the rest of the series!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An absolutely addictive historical cozy murder mystery!

Wow! This warm and witty cozy mystery is the novel I was looking for many years. Exciting and interesting! I highly recommended!

2 people found this helpful