A Closed and Common Orbit

Wayfarers, Book 2
Narrated by: Rachel Dulude
Series: Wayfarers, Book 2
Length: 11 hrs and 29 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (522 ratings)

Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $34.22

Buy for $34.22

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Winner of the Hugo Award for Best Series!

A Publishers Weekly "Best Books of 2017" pick!

Nominated for the 2017 Hugo Award for Best Novel!

Shortlisted for the 2017 Arthur C. Clarke Award!

Winner of the Prix Julia-Verlanger!

Embark on an exciting, adventurous, and dangerous journey through the galaxy with the motley crew of the spaceship Wayfarer in this fun and heartwarming space opera - the sequel to the acclaimed The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet

Lovelace was once merely a ship’s artificial intelligence. When she wakes up in a new body, following a total system shutdown and reboot, she has no memory of what came before. As Lovelace learns to negotiate the universe and discover who she is, she makes friends with Pepper, an excitable engineer, who’s determined to help her learn and grow. 

Together, Pepper and Lovey will discover that no matter how vast space is, two people can fill it together. 

The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet introduced listeners to the incredible world of Rosemary Harper, a young woman with a restless soul and secrets to keep. When she joined the crew of the Wayfarer, an intergalactic ship, she got more than she bargained for - and learned to live with, and love, her ragtag collection of crewmates. 

A Closed and Common Orbit is the stand-alone sequel to that beloved debut novel and is perfect for fans of Firefly, Joss Whedon, Mass Effect, and Star Wars.

©2016 Becky Chambers (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about A Closed and Common Orbit

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    391
  • 4 Stars
    99
  • 3 Stars
    29
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    371
  • 4 Stars
    74
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    349
  • 4 Stars
    83
  • 3 Stars
    27
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Finding one's own purpose

An exploration of self determination and finding purpose - wrapped in an appealing story. The two protagonists - Sidra and Jane (Pepper) both were created to serve others and must instead find their own meanings.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • CB
  • 08-24-19

a delightful surprise, again

What does it mean to be human? AI? Family? this book investigates all three, with a loving, generous touch and a great story. excellent read, though a definite departure from the first book. loved it and can't wait for the next!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Even better than her first book!

I continue to be impressed by the author's rich universe full of depth and character. Chambers is not afraid to tackle the big questions and she does it with flair and nuance.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

enjoyable

suprising good. keep my attention from start to finish. looking forward to book 3. well done.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another great story

Another great story by Becky and superbly read by Rachel. I love the writing and the way Rachel performs her books.
The twist at the end caught me by surprise. what a great surprise. Keep writing.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

good stuff

I liked this. good narrator. she doesn't do annoying voices or anything. you should listen.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Different

This story was different than I expected from a 2nd book in a series. Rather than expanding on the existing list of main characters from the 1st, it explores the universe further through secondary characters introduced in the fisrt novel.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow, thank you.

I loved the focused character development and the subtle reveal. Reviews have a minimum word count requirement.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Masterful tandem story and performance

I was lucky enough to have just recently discovered Becky Chambers, and it is a delight to be able to devour this whole Wayfarers series without waiting for the next volume to be published. The reader, Rachel, feels like a friend. I don't want to write more, because I'm too eager to download book 3! Enjoy!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Past and Future Together

Becky, This is a very clever 2nd volume. You are able to tell the back story of Pepper and the forward story of Lovelace/Sedra at the same time. It is very heartful. I miss the rest of the crew. Looking forward to finding out what clever things you have planned in the 3rd volume.