• A Closed and Common Orbit

  • Wayfarers, Book 2
  • By: Becky Chambers
  • Narrated by: Rachel Dulude
  • Length: 11 hrs and 29 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (1,623 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
A Closed and Common Orbit  By  cover art

A Closed and Common Orbit

By: Becky Chambers
Narrated by: Rachel Dulude
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $31.93

Buy for $31.93

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Winner of the Hugo Award for Best Series!

A Publishers Weekly "Best Books of 2017" pick!

Nominated for the 2017 Hugo Award for Best Novel!

Shortlisted for the 2017 Arthur C. Clarke Award!

Winner of the Prix Julia-Verlanger!

Embark on an exciting, adventurous, and dangerous journey through the galaxy with the motley crew of the spaceship Wayfarer in this fun and heartwarming space opera - the sequel to the acclaimed The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet

Lovelace was once merely a ship’s artificial intelligence. When she wakes up in a new body, following a total system shutdown and reboot, she has no memory of what came before. As Lovelace learns to negotiate the universe and discover who she is, she makes friends with Pepper, an excitable engineer, who’s determined to help her learn and grow. 

Together, Pepper and Lovey will discover that no matter how vast space is, two people can fill it together. 

The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet introduced listeners to the incredible world of Rosemary Harper, a young woman with a restless soul and secrets to keep. When she joined the crew of the Wayfarer, an intergalactic ship, she got more than she bargained for - and learned to live with, and love, her ragtag collection of crewmates. 

A Closed and Common Orbit is the stand-alone sequel to that beloved debut novel and is perfect for fans of Firefly, Joss Whedon, Mass Effect, and Star Wars.

©2016 Becky Chambers (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers

Featured Article: Our Editors Recommend—Further Listening for Star Wars Fans


With more than 150 books in the Star Wars audioverse alone, there's certainly no shortage of adventures in our favorite galaxy far, far away. But let's say you've absorbed the very best of both Canon and Legends, watched the films and television shows time and again, and have exhaustively played through extended universe games (video and tabletop alike). If you're looking for something new, our Audicted to Sci-Fi editorial team has you covered.

What listeners say about A Closed and Common Orbit

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,232
  • 4 Stars
    304
  • 3 Stars
    71
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    6
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,185
  • 4 Stars
    202
  • 3 Stars
    38
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,076
  • 4 Stars
    274
  • 3 Stars
    63
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    7

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Even better than her first book!

I continue to be impressed by the author's rich universe full of depth and character. Chambers is not afraid to tackle the big questions and she does it with flair and nuance.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Finding one's own purpose

An exploration of self determination and finding purpose - wrapped in an appealing story. The two protagonists - Sidra and Jane (Pepper) both were created to serve others and must instead find their own meanings.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Utter Nonsense

Bad. Very bad. Utterly terrible. SciFi through a deliberately political but completely incoherent lense. Bad.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Fiction - yes. Science Fiction - Neh.

Three blunders within the first 50 minutes of this book caused me to stop and return this audiobook. First, one of the main characters discovers that her new artificial body comes outfitted with a kinetic power generator that will generate enough power to keep the body operational, as long as… wait for it… yes… as long as the body keeps moving! What! So… right, this body is essentially a perpetual motion machine! A self-winding watch that powers itself because someone cleverly thought to attach the self-winding mechanism to seconds hand! Wait, that doesn’t work? Sorry. Unfamiliarity with basic physics is appalling in a high schooler, unforgivable in a SCIENCE-fiction author! Second, the opening setting is an inhabited moon that is in a tidally locked orbit with a planet that is itself in a tidally locked orbit with the system’s star. Tidally locked means that the orbit-ER always presents the same side to the orbit-ED (there’s a better technical definition to do with orbital periods, but I find this explanation easier to visualize) Like our moon, we always see the same lopsided face frowning down at us. It doesn’t frown at you? Anyways, no problem with that deception so far. Except that this double tidal locking is offered as an explanation for why this particular moon has neighborhoods that are permanently dark. Meaning that the moon must also, always present the same face to the sun… while rotating around the planet… Which. Doesn’t. Work. Do the geometry in your head! Or do a little experiment with oranges, or with willing members of your family, or whatever. It simply doesn’t work. A tidally locked planet with a permanent dark side? Sure. A tidally locked moon with a permanently dark side… sorry, that’s just bad… thinking! Third, and decidedly not as egregious as the other two (but remember, this is all in the first 50 minutes). A prop toy is introduced as depicting an “anthropomorphic primate”. Which is, technically a correct way of describing a monkey or a chimp or a lemur wearing sunglasses and a T-Shirt. Which may be what you are supposed to picture. But of course, it is also a technically correct way of describing… you, dear reader. For you are both a primate, and (one can only hope) humanish in shape.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Different

This story was different than I expected from a 2nd book in a series. Rather than expanding on the existing list of main characters from the 1st, it explores the universe further through secondary characters introduced in the fisrt novel.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • CB
  • 08-24-19

a delightful surprise, again

What does it mean to be human? AI? Family? this book investigates all three, with a loving, generous touch and a great story. excellent read, though a definite departure from the first book. loved it and can't wait for the next!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

enjoyable

suprising good. keep my attention from start to finish. looking forward to book 3. well done.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another great story

Another great story by Becky and superbly read by Rachel. I love the writing and the way Rachel performs her books.
The twist at the end caught me by surprise. what a great surprise. Keep writing.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

good stuff

I liked this. good narrator. she doesn't do annoying voices or anything. you should listen.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

yes

This author Has very comfortable writing it makes you feel like you're a friend they're with them experiencing things