We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Destructive Emotions: A Scientific Dialogue with the Dalai Lama | [Daniel Goleman, the Dalai Lama]

Destructive Emotions: A Scientific Dialogue with the Dalai Lama

Buddhist philosophy tells us that all personal unhappiness and interpersonal conflict lie in the "three poisons": craving, anger, and delusion. With new high-tech devices, scientists can peer inside the brain centers that calm the inner storms of rage and fear. They also can demonstrate that awareness-training strategies such as meditation strengthen emotional stability - and greatly enhance our positive moods.
Regular Price:$15.93
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Buddhist philosophy tells us that all personal unhappiness and interpersonal conflict lie in the "three poisons": craving, anger, and delusion. It also provides antidotes of astonishing psychological sophistication - which are now being confirmed by modern neuroscience. With new high-tech devices, scientists can peer inside the brain centers that calm the inner storms of rage and fear. They also can demonstrate that awareness-training strategies such as meditation strengthen emotional stability - and greatly enhance our positive moods.

The distinguished panel members report these recent findings and debate an exhilarating range of other topics: What role do destructive emotions play in human evolution? Are they "hardwired" in our bodies? Are they universal, or does culture determine how we feel? How can we nurture the compassion that is also our birthright? We learn how practices that reduce negativity have also been shown to bolster the immune system. Here, too, is an enlightened proposal for a school-based program of social and emotional learning that can help our children increase self-awareness, manage their anger, and become more empathetic.

Throughout, these provocative ideas are brought to life by the play of personalities, by the Dalai Lama's probing questions, and by his surprising sense of humor. Although there are no easy answers, these dialogues, which are part of a series sponsored by the Mind and Life Institute, chart an ultimately hopeful course. They are sure to spark discussion among educators, religious and political leaders, parents - and all people who seek peace for themselves and the world.

©2003 Mind and Life Institute; (P)2003 Audio Renaissance, a Division of Holtzbrinck Publishers, LLC

What the Critics Say

"Covering the nature of destructive emotions, the neuroscience of emotion, the scientific study of consciousness and more, this essential volume offers a fascinating account of what can emerge when two profound systems for studying the mind and emotions, Western science and Buddhism, join forces." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.9 (198 )
5 star
 (73)
4 star
 (68)
3 star
 (27)
2 star
 (23)
1 star
 (7)
Overall
4.0 (46 )
5 star
 (19)
4 star
 (14)
3 star
 (8)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (3)
Story
4.0 (47 )
5 star
 (18)
4 star
 (15)
3 star
 (10)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Amazon Customer Hobart, IN, United States 05-22-14
    Amazon Customer Hobart, IN, United States 05-22-14 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    116
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    174
    174
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    27
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A great look into emotions"

    Yes, the title of the book is ‘Destructive Emotions’, but it’s also a look at all emotions. Here a panel talks with the Dalai Lama and other Tibetan teachers about work they’re doing to help people control their negative emotions. They look at what causes destructive emotions and how different cultures deal with them when they arise. People say that Buddhist monks are not the ideal people to talk to about emotions. They are wrong and this book proves it. It’s a great followup to Excuse Me, Your Life is Waiting!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    shay haifa, Israel 12-26-11
    shay haifa, Israel 12-26-11 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    98
    18
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "too hard to follow"

    the beginning was promesing but then they lost me. boring. and i love the dalai lama

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Marie Forest Hills, NY, United States 12-20-11
    Marie Forest Hills, NY, United States 12-20-11 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    117
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    127
    26
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A bit dry but..."

    Yes, I would agree with the readers who found this book a bit dry. Both the format and the content read like the transcript of a symposium. The narrator has a blank tone to match the format. And indeed this book is basically the transcript of a five day symposium. But the readers who enjoyed Daniel Goleman's Social Intelligence, and Emotional Intelligence, and presumably the Dalai Lama's books (none of which I have read yet) will no doubt enjoy this read. I found the parallel between modern neuroscience and Buddhism, and the Dalai Lama's approach to science absolutely fascinating. It is not a how-to book. It doesn't offer practice, exercises, and self help strategies. It is a polyphonic dialogue between high level scientists and devout Buddhists. It is very respectful, enriching, and highly civilized. If the world listened to this group of people, both scientists and monks, it would be a much better place.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jampa Dunedin, New Zealand 12-13-10
    Jampa Dunedin, New Zealand 12-13-10 Member Since 2009
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    26
    1
    Overall
    "extremely useful"

    Own the book, have never had time to read it. Everyone who has read it has found it inspiring. Have listened to the audiobook nearly every week since I got it, I get more excited by the content each time!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Nxp 11-02-05
    Nxp 11-02-05 Member Since 2000
    HELPFUL VOTES
    65
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    15
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "A bridge between Eastern and Western thought."

    Science and spirituality have been living on opposite sides of the tracks for a long time.
    But there are rumblings on both sides of the tracks, because both scientific and spiritual thinkers are noticing that the two types of thinking are complimentary, not contradictory. If you have an interest in the study of human emotions and reactions, I think that you will find this book to be informative and interesting, regardless of which side of the tracks you come from.

    "Destructive Emotions" might not be the best choice as your first book on the topic of emotions. However if you have some background in the writings of the Golemans, Deepak Chopra, Candace Pert and the like, I think that you will find this book to be sort of a common denominator between the scientific and spiritual ideas that such writers present.

    Regardless of whether you begin as an Eastern or a Western thinker, if you see a future where both lines of thinking intersect you will find information here that supports your vision.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 11-15 of 15 results PREVIOUS12NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.