We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Girl Who Lied Audiobook

The Girl Who Lied: The 2016 Best-Selling Psychological Drama

Regular Price:$15.53
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

The truth hurts....

Erin and Roisin were friends until a fatal accident ruined both their lives. Now Roisin has discovered a secret - one Erin has kept for over a decade - and she's determined to make Erin pay for her lies.

Erin wants nothing to do with Roisin. She has a new life in London and no intention of going back home. Yet when her father is mysteriously and critically injured, Erin has no choice but to return and face Roisin - and her past. Erin knows if the secret of what she gave up got out, the consequences could be devastating.

When Roisin suddenly disappears, suspicion soon lands on Erin. She would do anything to protect her family, but just how far is she willing to go when time is running out?

A must-listen for fans of CL Taylor and BA Paris.

©2016 HarperCollins Publishers (P)2016 Sue Fortin

What the Critics Say

"Slowly but inexorably draws you in until you can hardly wait to discover the fate of the characters...you'll love Sue Fortin." (Sue Moorcroft)
"A twisty romantic page-turner that will keep you guessing." (Julie Cohen)
"Sue Fortin's gripping books always keep me turning the pages! Highly recommended for fans of grit-lit and suspense!" (Mandy Baggot)
"The suspense, mystery and secrets to be revealed kept me turning the pages...nerve wracking and gripping." (Rachel's Random Reads)
"Kept me intrigued right up until the end...a highly enjoyable read, filled with secrets." (By the Letter Book Reviews)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.9 (176 )
5 star
 (65)
4 star
 (59)
3 star
 (34)
2 star
 (12)
1 star
 (6)
Overall
3.9 (162 )
5 star
 (58)
4 star
 (51)
3 star
 (34)
2 star
 (13)
1 star
 (6)
Story
4.2 (162 )
5 star
 (74)
4 star
 (58)
3 star
 (20)
2 star
 (5)
1 star
 (5)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    David 01-07-17
    David 01-07-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    38
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    40
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Overall Mediocre, Slow Moving"

    I don't think I would describe this book as 'psychological thriller', or even 'suspense'. Instead, it's a run of the mill mystery lacking in those key elements of suspense and twists. The main character is fairly benign, but starts to impress more later in the book. The problem is, you know right from the beginning who the villain is, so there's little surprise in the plot development. There wasn't enough to become invested in. The main character's developing romance with a hometown boy was clumsy and uninteresting. Her ambivalence left me lukewarm. In the end, a little less talk and a little more action would have improved "The Girl Who Lied." Some readers will probably like the atmosphere of the small Ireland town, which was one of the better aspects of the story, and the narration was good. however, overall, I wouldn't really recommend it.

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Susan Winter Western New York 11-24-16
    Susan Winter Western New York 11-24-16 Member Since 2017

    romantaholic

    HELPFUL VOTES
    82
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    233
    36
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "So enjoyable"

    Loved this one. I rarely review books, I can't find the right words. The Girl Who Lied was charming. I'm a total sucker for the Irish accent, I've been to the town in Co Cork that is the setting for the story. I felt the characters and their lives and struggles in a way I rarely do. I enjoyed the mystery, the romance and the atmosphere. It's a light read, I suppose, by most people's standard. I, however, have listened to it twice in 2 days and enjoyed it second only to my favorite audiobook of all time, Can You Keep a Secret. I'm anxious to see if there are more books by this author available.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kevin 12-07-16
    Kevin 12-07-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    19
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Disappointing"

    The story started out well but the plot became predictable. The way adoption and abortion were so negatively depicted was not appealing to me and I found the ending majorly disappointing. I wasn't looking for a literary masterpiece but heavy moral topics along with weak plot line and characters did not mesh well.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sarah Duna CLOVERDALE, CA, US 03-07-17
    Sarah Duna CLOVERDALE, CA, US 03-07-17 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Pretty good story."

    I enjoyed the story. Will probably listen to more from this author. Kept me entertained during a long car drive.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    leslie melone 02-20-17 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    9
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Scary crazy happy story"

    Loved the story. Great narration great ending. Highly recommend. Keeps interest throughout the book loved all the characters except one. But you'll have to listen to it to figure out which one!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Drey B 02-13-17
    Drey B 02-13-17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Enjoyed This Book"

    This was a good read. Tho predictable It was not a bother and liked getting to know the characters. Good for a book club. I recommend this book

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    theresa 02-08-17
    theresa 02-08-17 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Disappointed"

    Slow moving and basically uneventful. This story was predicable from the beginning to the end. I did enjoy the narration. I don't recommend this book to any one looking for a real psychology thriller.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    ROBIN SODDY DAISY, TN, United States 02-08-17
    ROBIN SODDY DAISY, TN, United States 02-08-17 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    593
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    116
    83
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    54
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I liked the end.... only."

    This book certainly didn't seem suspenseful, and shouldn't have been classified as a psychological thriller. it all gets tied up nicely in the end... I don't feel like this is any sort of a spoiler since there wasn't anything to spoil. This book was just uninteresting to me for more than the first half, and for that reason I can't recommend it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Trina 01-22-17
    Trina 01-22-17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "meh"

    nothing against the author or narrator I just couldn't get into it at all. sorry

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 01-19-17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Enjoyed story,but pse keep in 1st or 3rd person"

    I enjoyed the story, it just threw me when the writer kept changing from 1st person to 3rd person.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Simon
    Waterlooville, UK
    11/18/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Something About a Girl"

    Billed as more a drama than an out and out thriller this is an engaging read from Sue Fortin. Those seeking action and thrills and spills aren't going to find them here as it is a more thoughtful exploration of relationships and the damage that can be done by secrets no matter how well hidden or how far in the past they may be. It is part romantic and part melodrama and has a few twists up its sleeve.

    The narration adds to the entertainment with Amy De Bhrún's Irish accent a pleasure to listen to. It's not perfect though, voices were dropped occasionally and the English characters came over a little as caricatures though the author is also partly to blame here.

    My abiding impression is that I enjoyed a pleasurable listen without ever being excited by the story. The time passed quickly, though for my personal tastes the ending came over just a little bit saccharin-laden. It's really more of a romantic / family drama than a genuine thriller or even "Psychological Drama" so if that's your scene this is likely a decent choice.

    4 of 7 people found this review helpful
  • Nyssa B
    Limehouse, London
    2/16/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I loved this book"

    this book was really good. I really enjoyed the narrator especially the Irish accent. it was such a breath of fresh air and it gave me such an insight to life in Ireland. the narrator was amazing. the story was well written and delivered. I will definitely be looking out for both the author and narrator again.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.