We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Dead Man Walking Audiobook

Dead Man Walking

Regular Price:$18.70
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

The fourth unputdownable book in the DS Mark Heckenburg series. A killer thriller for fans of Stuart MacBride and Luther, from the #1 ebook best seller Paul Finch.

His worst nightmare is back…As a brutal winter takes hold of the Lake District, a prolific serial killer stalks the fells. ‘The Stranger' has returned and for DS Mark ‘Heck' Heckenburg, the signs are all too familiar.

Last seen on Dartmoor ten years earlier, The Stranger murdered his victims in vicious, cold-blooded attacks - and when two young women go missing, Heck fears the worst.

As The Stranger lays siege to a remote community, Heck watches helplessly as the killer plays his cruel game, picking off his victims one by one. And with no way to get word out of the valley, Heck must play ball…

A spine-chilling thriller, from the #1 ebook best seller. Perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride and James Oswald.

©2014 Paul Finch (P)2014 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What the Critics Say

Praise for Stalkers:

"[Stalkers] is ace. Really terrific, compulsive stuff which was given top marks…definitely a talent to watch." (The Bookseller: One to Watch)
"Stalkers is a very dark premise… it'll have you by the throat until you get to the end." (Books and Writers)

Praise for Sacrifice:

"Avon's big star…part edge-of-the-seat, part hide-behind-the-sofa!" (The Bookseller)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (19 )
5 star
 (7)
4 star
 (7)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
3.8 (19 )
5 star
 (6)
4 star
 (6)
3 star
 (5)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.6 (19 )
5 star
 (13)
4 star
 (5)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance


There are no reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • Ian
    3/10/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Poor"

    A good narrator who did very well with such a poor story to work with. I applaud him for it.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Jill
    2/28/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Ever more fantastical"
    Would you try another book written by Paul Finch or narrated by Paul Thornley?

    Probably but each book gets more unbelievable
    It's a good job the baddies can't shoot straight


    What do you think the narrator could have done better?

    No. Very good


    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • Adaline
    Ireland
    1/17/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent"
    Would you listen to Dead Man Walking again? Why?

    I would listen to this again. It was immensely enjoyable. The descriptions made it easy to "see" the scenes. The plot was well thought out and I loved the twist in the tale.


    What did you like best about this story?

    I liked the characters. They really came to life.


    What about Paul Thornley’s performance did you like?

    His change of accents for different characters was great. His reading gave atmosphere and improved the book.


    Any additional comments?

    A great book and worth every cent.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Elaine
    Bexhill on Sea, United Kingdom
    1/8/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "What the Heck"

    Brilliant plot and well written
    Narrator great The clipped narration suits the plot lines and the Mark Heck rugged character

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • gary
    12/11/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Absolutely brilliant"
    What made the experience of listening to Dead Man Walking the most enjoyable?

    From start to to finish it's exciting and stomach churning, what a story.
    Very very well written and narrated
    It is gripping and keeps you listening, it twists and turns through out, you can't second guess as to what is coming next.
    The best audio book I have ever listened to.


    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • gillian
    Folkestone, United Kingdom
    8/4/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Thriller with surprises"

    Good pacey book. Bit grim in places and a little contrived, but on the whole a decent read

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • julie
    4/14/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Another gripping book from the Heck series."

    Excellent, pacy read. I thought I had guessed the ending. I had not!
    I love how you are kept on the edge of your seat throughout!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Puggle
    4/1/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Edge of the seat listen"

    I was taken in by the story and the characters well narrated but I didn't see that coming well done Paul Finch another great book

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Mark Pointer
    12/1/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Gripping"

    Although I guessed the identity of "The Stranger" halfway through the story, I loved every minute of this audiobook. At times eerie, at other times chilling and suspenseful, it had everything. I found myself holding my breath on more than one occasion. Try it, you will not regret it.

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful
  • Graham Keene
    4/18/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Another brilliant Heck story"

    Thornley Is superb in his telling, Finch superb in his writing. More please hope he is writing as we speak.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.