We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Other Einstein Audiobook

The Other Einstein

Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of The Paris Wife and Mrs. Poe, The Other Einstein offers us a window into a brilliant, fascinating woman whose light was lost in Einstein's enormous shadow. This is the story of Einstein's wife, a brilliant physicist in her own right, whose contribution to the special theory of relativity is hotly debated and may have been inspired by her own profound and very personal insight.

Mitza Maric has always been a little different from other girls. Most 20-year-olds are wives by now, not studying physics at an elite Zurich university with only male students trying to outdo her clever calculations. But Mitza is smart enough to know that for her, math is an easier path than marriage. And then fellow student Albert Einstein takes an interest in her, and the world turns sideways. Theirs becomes a partnership of the mind and of the heart, but there might not be room for more than one genius in a marriage.

©2016 Marie Benedict (P)2016 Random House Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (52 )
5 star
 (30)
4 star
 (13)
3 star
 (7)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
4.3 (43 )
5 star
 (22)
4 star
 (13)
3 star
 (5)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.5 (41 )
5 star
 (27)
4 star
 (10)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Aileen Ravalo Voyles 03-13-17 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Thoughtfully written"

    If you like historical fiction, this is a great book for you. Beautifully written. You may get emotional when reading this, you may get upset but just like all great books, it will make you reexamine what history has always told you about life and reexamine how you see your life as well.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Savannah 02-26-17
    Savannah 02-26-17 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    28
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "This book is something you want in your library for life!!"

    Like many of us, I totally forgot that Albert Einstein had a wife early in his life. She was pushed to the background by society yet she was willing to push back ! A brilliant mathematics and physics scholar. I absolutely admire this remarkable woman!
    I was disappointed in Einstein as a person..but I do believe he had some form of Autism which could explain his inability to sustain a relationship unless it was in the context of science.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Terse 02-02-17
    Terse 02-02-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    48
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Author appears to take liberty with facts"
    Would you try another book from Marie Benedict and/or Mozhan Marno?

    I enjoy historical fiction, but found the pace of this story slow ( thank goodness I could speed up reading on iphone) and at author's own admission she did not have a lot of facts to support all the storylines.


    What do you think your next listen will be?

    Hillbilly Elegy: A Memoir by J. D. Vance


    Would you be willing to try another one of Mozhan Marno’s performances?

    Although I enjoy her voice - pace of reading was too slow for me.


    If this book were a movie would you go see it?

    No


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.