We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Never the Bride Audiobook

Never the Bride: A Novel

Regular Price:$31.93
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

This refreshing romantic comedy with a spiritual twist will appeal to fans of Kristen Billerbeck and Tracey Bateman.

Jessie is a big believer in love, but although she's spent her whole life fantasizing about what her marriage proposal would be like, reality has yet to match her dreams - until one day God shows up and offers to write Jessie's love story for her. There's just one catch: she must surrender all control. When she does, Jessie discovers that divine things can happen when we let go.

©2009 Rene Gutteridge and Cheryl McKay; (P)2009 Random House Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (84 )
5 star
 (42)
4 star
 (22)
3 star
 (10)
2 star
 (6)
1 star
 (4)
Overall
4.3 (45 )
5 star
 (26)
4 star
 (12)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.4 (45 )
5 star
 (28)
4 star
 (11)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    antigudra pine bluff, AR, United States 10-25-09
    antigudra pine bluff, AR, United States 10-25-09
    HELPFUL VOTES
    63
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    75
    45
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    7
    0
    Overall
    "I loved this book!!!"

    I really enjoyed this book. I think so many times we are looking for our own soulmates instead of letting God Write our love Story. I can not wait until they make this into a movie next year. This book was very funny and entertaining.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Tony rochester, IN, USA 08-20-09
    Tony rochester, IN, USA 08-20-09
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    64
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Funny"

    I loved this book. It was funny. There were some theological issues I didn't agree with but all in all I recommend this book. It made me laugh out loud and shed a few tears. Looking for other books by this writer.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Victoria Chicago, IL, USA 06-30-09
    Victoria Chicago, IL, USA 06-30-09 Member Since 2006
    HELPFUL VOTES
    17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    580
    15
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    0
    Overall
    "GREAT STORY"

    This is by far one of the best books ever!!! Every single person who wishes to marry should read or listen to this book. This book really teaches you to wait on God.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Yoli G 03-22-15
    Yoli G 03-22-15 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Teaches Single women that God is our First Husband"

    I thought this was a great story. As a single women in her thirties I could relate to the sentiments of the main character Jess Stone. I thought this story did a great job in showing single women how God has our best interests at heart. I also like how it depicted the honest struggle of true surrender to God (the purple pen) as well as the rewards (Jonathan). I listen to the story in one day. :-)

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    becci 10-25-10
    becci 10-25-10 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    43
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Loved it sooooo much!"

    I absolutely loved this book. I am so tempted to listen to it over and ovre. I hope they do make a movie out of it. I loved it!!!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 08-23-10
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    117
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "A tad bit misleading..."

    The sample was hilarious! There were other laugh-out-loud moments, but the sample made me think the whole thing was going to be equally funny. The concept is interesting. Overall, I'd recommend saving the credit and getting a library copy.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    M 07-18-16
    M 07-18-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great message wrapped in an entertaining story"

    I very much enjoyed the story. The main character was perfectly imperfect. The narrator's voice, however, did not match. Jesse's age needed the voice of a mature woman but this narrator sounded as if she was reading the top story of the evening news. A little too canned. However, the story took over and I was able to overlook it. I enjoyed the fun fiction with a "holy" twist. I categorize it as "Devine Comedy" ;)

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Yapsters 05-02-16
    Yapsters 05-02-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    43
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "MUST READ"

    Wasn't sure about this book, but after I made my way through the second chapter I was hooked. I love the back and forth between Jess and "God".

    The message is awesome, and Jess' thoughts are so realistic.

    Highly recommend.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    (Ms.)Daryl Hiebert 02-18-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Revelation Novel"

    I found this novel very revealing to the heart of God and the love and dreams He has for us. Anyone who desires to know how much God loves us should read this book....especially if you're getting frustrated waiting for your husband.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Tonya 12-17-15
    Tonya 12-17-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    107
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "This book was awesome!"
    Would you listen to Never the Bride again? Why?

    I will definitely listen to it again.


    What other book might you compare Never the Bride to and why?

    No other book really


    Have you listened to any of Kirsten Potter’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    No, this was my first.


    If you could take any character from Never the Bride out to dinner, who would it be and why?

    God, because with the chaos of every day life it is so easy to forget to spend time with Him.


    Any additional comments?

    The book, was not predictable and the main character was so funny. It was a great reminder of the fact that we may have plans but God directs our steps, and also that His plan for us is greater than the plans we have for ourselves. It has reminded me to make plans in pencil but give God the eraser.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.