We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Call anytime(888) 283-5051
Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) | [Jenny Lawson]

Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.
Regular Price:$27.97
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Audie Award Nominee, Humor, 2013

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.

Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes listeners on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

Chapters include: "Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel", "A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband", "My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking", and "And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane".

©2012 Jenny Lawson (P)2012 Penguin

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.9 (1868 )
5 star
 (880)
4 star
 (430)
3 star
 (273)
2 star
 (144)
1 star
 (141)
Overall
3.9 (1720 )
5 star
 (796)
4 star
 (409)
3 star
 (246)
2 star
 (135)
1 star
 (134)
Story
4.0 (1707 )
5 star
 (907)
4 star
 (352)
3 star
 (190)
2 star
 (106)
1 star
 (152)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Melissa V Ball Bruington, VA United States 05-01-12
    Melissa V Ball Bruington, VA United States 05-01-12 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    64
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved it!"
    What did you love best about Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)?

    A rare book that was smart enough and funny enough to make me laugh out loud.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lyn charlotte, NC, United States 04-25-12
    Lyn charlotte, NC, United States 04-25-12 Member Since 2005
    HELPFUL VOTES
    47
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    552
    17
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "who knew taxidermy and vaginas could be so fun"

    Offbeat and funny in a twisted neurotic way, think of a feminist David Sedaris with more taxidermy and your halfway there.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    04-23-12
    04-23-12 Member Since 2005
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    79
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "As dangerous as a pack of Chupacabras"
    If you could sum up Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) in three words, what would they be?

    lovingly painfully honest


    What other book might you compare Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) to and why?

    Les Miserable... but in Texas, with more swearing, undead, vaginas and dead animals.


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

    Knock Knock, MotherF'r


    Any additional comments?

    Jenny Lawson reveals a lifetime of battles with insecurity, mental and physical illness challenging you not to laugh out loud. Her insights speak to our inner voices (which aren't on any time delays) weaving sadness and humor throughout.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Tango Texas 04-20-12
    Tango Texas 04-20-12 Member Since 2012

    Two great passions - dogs and books! Sci-fi/fantasy novels are my go-to favorites, but I love good writing across all genres.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1025
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    413
    123
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    226
    14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Unless you are already a fan, don't bother"
    This book wasn’t for you, but who do you think might enjoy it more?

    People who are already fans of Jenny Lawson


    How could the performance have been better?

    If this was condensed to one-two hours and done as stand-up comedy, I think it would be pretty fun. But, Jenny's reading her own material and was clearly more entertained by it than I was so that started grating on me. Her accent is OK for a while but wears thin - and hey, I'm a native Texan too, but a conversation with a Texan is different from listening to someone read a book with a strong rural Texas accent for EIGHT hours.


    Any additional comments?

    The reviews led me to give this a try but it really is a book that will be entertaining primarily for folks who already have a taste for Jenny from her blog. If you are not already a fan, I'd suggest you pass on this book.

    4 of 9 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lucy Smyrna, TN, United States 05-11-12
    Lucy Smyrna, TN, United States 05-11-12 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Laugh-out-loud hilarious"
    Would you listen to Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) again? Why?

    I've already listened to this audiobook twice. It's a wonderfully twisted and hilarious memoir.


    What other book might you compare Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) to and why?

    It's sort of like Tina Fey's "Bossypants," only with more taxidermy.


    Which character – as performed by Jenny Lawson – was your favorite?

    Beyonce.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    I nearly died laughing. It would have been an excellent way to go.


    Any additional comments?

    I really can't recommend this book highly enough. I bought the print version as well and read some of the more screwed-up stories to my six-year-old, minus the profanity, in the hopes that he is coming to realize just how damn lucky he really is.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Trista Houston, TX, United States 04-30-12
    Trista Houston, TX, United States 04-30-12 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    91
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    143
    53
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    12
    15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Feels like a best friend"

    I can't wait for the next book. It's like your best friend in the world visiting. When I got done listening, I felt like my best friend left town. I have to listen again!

    A warm-hearted, funny and enjoyable listen!

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    A. Parris 04-25-12
    A. Parris 04-25-12
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Like Getting a Hug from the Bloggess, Jenny Lawson"
    Where does Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    The best audiobook read by the author, ever. except for the Bible. God has a very relaxing baritone.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)?

    Stanley the Magic Squirrel. I almost crashed my car from laughing too hard. That would have been difficult to explain to the insurance adjuster.


    Have you listened to any of Jenny Lawson’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    I've heard her speak in person. This audiobook was similarly entertaining and made me furiously happy.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    I laughed until I lost control of all bodily functions. Worth it.


    Any additional comments?

    Get the audiobook, then get the book for the pictures. Jenny needs the money to buy new towels.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 281-287 of 287 results PREVIOUS12829NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.