We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Call anytime(888) 283-5051
Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) | [Jenny Lawson]

Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.
Regular Price:$27.97
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Audie Award Nominee, Humor, 2013

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.

Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes listeners on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

Chapters include: "Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel", "A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband", "My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking", and "And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane".

©2012 Jenny Lawson (P)2012 Penguin

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.9 (1823 )
5 star
 (860)
4 star
 (417)
3 star
 (266)
2 star
 (142)
1 star
 (138)
Overall
3.9 (1677 )
5 star
 (776)
4 star
 (397)
3 star
 (241)
2 star
 (131)
1 star
 (132)
Story
4.0 (1664 )
5 star
 (882)
4 star
 (345)
3 star
 (183)
2 star
 (104)
1 star
 (150)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Lucy Smyrna, TN, United States 05-11-12
    Lucy Smyrna, TN, United States 05-11-12 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Laugh-out-loud hilarious"
    Would you listen to Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) again? Why?

    I've already listened to this audiobook twice. It's a wonderfully twisted and hilarious memoir.


    What other book might you compare Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) to and why?

    It's sort of like Tina Fey's "Bossypants," only with more taxidermy.


    Which character – as performed by Jenny Lawson – was your favorite?

    Beyonce.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    I nearly died laughing. It would have been an excellent way to go.


    Any additional comments?

    I really can't recommend this book highly enough. I bought the print version as well and read some of the more screwed-up stories to my six-year-old, minus the profanity, in the hopes that he is coming to realize just how damn lucky he really is.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Trista Houston, TX, United States 04-30-12
    Trista Houston, TX, United States 04-30-12 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    89
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    140
    53
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    12
    15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Feels like a best friend"

    I can't wait for the next book. It's like your best friend in the world visiting. When I got done listening, I felt like my best friend left town. I have to listen again!

    A warm-hearted, funny and enjoyable listen!

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    A. Parris 04-25-12
    A. Parris 04-25-12
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Like Getting a Hug from the Bloggess, Jenny Lawson"
    Where does Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    The best audiobook read by the author, ever. except for the Bible. God has a very relaxing baritone.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)?

    Stanley the Magic Squirrel. I almost crashed my car from laughing too hard. That would have been difficult to explain to the insurance adjuster.


    Have you listened to any of Jenny Lawson’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    I've heard her speak in person. This audiobook was similarly entertaining and made me furiously happy.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    I laughed until I lost control of all bodily functions. Worth it.


    Any additional comments?

    Get the audiobook, then get the book for the pictures. Jenny needs the money to buy new towels.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 281-283 of 283 results PREVIOUS12829NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.