We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) Audiobook

Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Audie Award Nominee, Humor, 2013

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.

Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes listeners on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

Chapters include: "Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel", "A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband", "My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking", and "And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane".

©2012 Jenny Lawson (P)2012 Penguin

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (4537 )
5 star
 (2408)
4 star
 (1046)
3 star
 (536)
2 star
 (274)
1 star
 (273)
Overall
4.1 (4182 )
5 star
 (2188)
4 star
 (984)
3 star
 (483)
2 star
 (250)
1 star
 (277)
Story
4.2 (4176 )
5 star
 (2540)
4 star
 (759)
3 star
 (393)
2 star
 (198)
1 star
 (286)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    lindsey 01-22-15
    lindsey 01-22-15 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I couldn't stop laughing out loud"

    I had never heard of Jenny Lawson before buying this audiobook, but I judging by the title I just knew I would enjoy this book. I was right! Jenny's stories are uproariously hilarious, someone should make a sitcom based on her life. Also, it felt really good to know there's someone out there who is more weird than I. =P

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Cynthia 01-16-15
    Cynthia 01-16-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Jenny Lawson is WONDERFUL!"

    This book was not what I thought it was going to be however it exceeded my expectations. This book made me laugh and cry! She was an amazing narrator and I can't wait for book #2.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Tami Oldaker 01-14-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    39
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Soul mates"

    I think this bitch just might be my kindred spirit. Funniest. Shit. Ever. I so heart Jenny motherfucking Lawson y'all!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    JaneoH 01-07-15
    JaneoH 01-07-15 Member Since 2012
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The autobiographical and then ridiculous"

    There's quite a bit of crudity in this book. But the authors delivery is so entertaining I was able to overlook it. My husband couldn't. I think it went on a little too long. But it's really quite funny. Liked it a lot.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rachael A Ryan Watertown, CT USA 01-03-15
    Rachael A Ryan Watertown, CT USA 01-03-15 Member Since 2012
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    6
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Hilarious and poignant!"

    A must read if you like humorous books. The language is very adult. I have never heard a memoir like hers before. I highly recommend it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    hooterwah 12-23-14
    hooterwah 12-23-14 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "THE GODDESS JENNY"
    Would you listen to Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) again? Why?

    I LISTEN OFTEN ... she is insane funny insightful and a treat to all humanity


    What did you like best about this story?

    jenny ...just jenny


    Which scene was your favorite?

    hmmm maybe the turkey baster ....lol


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    when she spoke of her challenges her illness and loss...i stopped laughing and cried


    Any additional comments?

    please jenny write more i may be in love with you :)

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Donald 10-23-14
    Donald 10-23-14
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "totally new experience"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    I would recommend this to anyone who likes shock value sarcasm


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Jenny, she is so damaged with a very active imagination


    What about Jenny Lawson’s performance did you like?

    I like when the author is the narrator


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

    have an argument with yourself


    Any additional comments?

    sad, but very funny, it gives you that feeling that you should not be laughing at someone's. misfortune, written in stream of conscience, great story to listen to with other people

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sharon 10-07-14
    Sharon 10-07-14 Member Since 2012

    njjiants

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    134
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "LOL!"
    Where does Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    The funniest laugh out loud book I ever heard!


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)?

    I don't want to be a spoiler! Its funny though!


    What about Jenny Lawson’s performance did you like?

    Her deadpan seriousness about silly stuff in life just makes you feel happy.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    I wish I had time to do that, yes.


    Any additional comments?

    I waited too long to listen to this one! Listen to it now!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kassi 09-16-14
    Kassi 09-16-14 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great stories but can't handle the delivery"
    Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

    I think Jenny has some really fun and interesting stories but I just feel like she uses a lot of the same redundant phrases. I also thought the first few chapters were kind of ridiculous with the constant self depreciation and the need to derail the story with some non-sequitor that felt down right cheesy.

    She is really funny and I think she was trying to hard to prove that and she really doesn't need to.

    I honestly think this book might be better to read as oppose to listen to.


    What didn’t you like about Jenny Lawson’s performance?

    Every time she would sing the name of a chapter I would just cringe.


    Was Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) worth the listening time?

    I really like a lot of these stories and laughed out loud at a few, but I think there is a lot of fat that could be trimmed.


    Any additional comments?

    I also want to add that I almost feel bad for writing anything bad about Jenny because after listening to her read her book, I feel like i'm betraying her or something. She seems like a really cool, sweet person. Heck, she is even someone I would be friends with. I would invite her to every party just to see what kind of insane thing she would blurt out, but this book just gets a C+ in terms of it's overall appeal to me.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ryan 09-12-14
    Ryan 09-12-14
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Constant rambling and run on sentences"
    How did the narrator detract from the book?

    The narrator was horrible. I'd rather eat glass than listen to her for one more second.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.