We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Call anytime(888) 283-5051
Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) | [Jenny Lawson]

Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.
Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Audie Award Nominee, Humor, 2013

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.

Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes listeners on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

Chapters include: "Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel", "A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband", "My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking", and "And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane".

©2012 Jenny Lawson (P)2012 Penguin

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (2671 )
5 star
 (1288)
4 star
 (625)
3 star
 (379)
2 star
 (189)
1 star
 (190)
Overall
4.0 (2463 )
5 star
 (1173)
4 star
 (586)
3 star
 (343)
2 star
 (175)
1 star
 (186)
Story
4.1 (2447 )
5 star
 (1351)
4 star
 (497)
3 star
 (259)
2 star
 (137)
1 star
 (203)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    DLaraway ALBANY, NY, United States 09-09-12
    DLaraway ALBANY, NY, United States 09-09-12 Member Since 2012
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    67
    6
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "LOADS OF FUNNY STUFF"
    If you could sum up Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) in three words, what would they be?

    Unexpected, Funny & Fun


    Any additional comments?

    I had never heard of the author and was only attracted to the book by the name, but I am so glad I listened. I laughed out loud so many times that my children thought I was losing my mind.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    William Donegan North Andover, Ma United States 09-06-12
    William Donegan North Andover, Ma United States 09-06-12 Member Since 2011
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I am bad at giving titles to things"
    Where does Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    Fairly high up, I really enjoy ones about people who just talk about very memorable lives.


    What about Jenny Lawson’s performance did you like?

    I always like it when the book is read by the author.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Stacey Aberdeen, SD, United States 09-04-12
    Stacey Aberdeen, SD, United States 09-04-12
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Best way to get through my work day!"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    I listened to this book while I was working in my cubicle - this book gave me the laughs I needed to get through my day!!!


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Floyd AURORA, CO, United States 09-03-12
    Floyd AURORA, CO, United States 09-03-12 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    13
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    54
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I laughed so hard I nearly crashed my car"

    Lawson's first book is worth your time. This memoir is an enjoyable and compelling read/listen. Her self effacing sense of humor allow her to tackle very personal and sensitive issues with insight and clarity. Lawson reads the book herself; she handles every narrative beat expertly. I'm a regular reader of her blog as a result of this book and hope she writes another.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    TS Tucson, AZ, United States 09-03-12
    TS Tucson, AZ, United States 09-03-12 Member Since 2012

    tsears

    HELPFUL VOTES
    25
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    34
    32
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "My stomach hurt from laughing"
    What did you love best about Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)?

    I love that it seems so 100% genuine. I feel like Jenny Lawson is now one of my best buddies. She was hysterical, often inappropriate and that was awesome.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    The talking squirrel. You have to read it and find out why.


    What does Jenny Lawson bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    The actual feelings off the book. I just wish that I could have seen the pictures!


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    I laughed. A lot. I had to stop listening while I was driving because I almost crashed. My son thought that I was crying because I was howling with laughter.


    Any additional comments?

    Buy it. It was frigging hilarious.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    SunSan San Diego, CA, United States 08-31-12
    SunSan San Diego, CA, United States 08-31-12
    HELPFUL VOTES
    37
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    27
    27
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Really Boring"
    What would have made Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) better?

    An actual story instead of a bunch of profanity. She tries to be cute and funny but it comes off as disengenuous and stupid. After 3 or 4 tries, I couldn't listen any more.


    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Pamela 08-28-12
    Pamela 08-28-12
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Absolutely charming!"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    I would definately recommend this audiobook. I have not read the book but I do not think you could get the whole picture from another's voice. Most people say that an audio book is not as good as a "real" book, but I disagree, especially with Jenny reading it. She is charming, genuine and a real joy to listen to. If you are not afraid of the "F" word, this one is a hit!!!!


    What did you like best about this story?

    Having the author tell her own story was terrific. Loved the casual freestyle of her reading.


    Have you listened to any of Jenny Lawson’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    No, but I will again!


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    Laughing one minute and crying the next (actually more laughing than crying),


    Any additional comments?

    Keep writing, Jenny

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Linda Zarei Denver, Co 08-22-12
    Linda Zarei Denver, Co 08-22-12
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Hilarious!"

    Loved that Jenny Lawson narrated the book. So many funny stories in the book. Loved every minute of it. I will listen to it again and again!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mary Kuli 08-21-12
    Mary Kuli 08-21-12 Member Since 2007
    HELPFUL VOTES
    51
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    15
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "So Very Funny!"
    If you could sum up Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) in three words, what would they be?

    A must read!


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)?

    Jenny Lawson's reading of her own memoir.


    What about Jenny Lawson???s performance did you like?

    The best part of the audio book was listening to her reading it.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    Made me laugh constantly.


    Any additional comments?

    Zany family stories that give the reader a glimpse into the authors life but more importantly, it made me laugh out loud.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    R. Dansby 08-21-12
    R. Dansby 08-21-12 Member Since 2007

    redstarfox

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    80
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Funny and endearing"

    Lawson's mostly true memoir shares the many eccentric stories of her life in a humorous and engaging way. The Bloggess narrates the book herself and adds her own sarcastic tone to the already satiric tales her of work, family, and life. Not many people have the privilege of a taxidermist father who is a prankster, or a giant chicken named Beyonce, but listening to Lawson we can all feel like we know someone who has. She exudes personality, and her stories were rich with moments of heartfelt emotion and hilarity.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.