We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) Audiobook

Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Audie Award Nominee, Humor, 2013

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.

Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes listeners on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

Chapters include: "Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel", "A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband", "My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking", and "And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane".

©2012 Jenny Lawson (P)2012 Penguin

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (4553 )
5 star
 (2418)
4 star
 (1049)
3 star
 (538)
2 star
 (274)
1 star
 (274)
Overall
4.1 (4194 )
5 star
 (2193)
4 star
 (988)
3 star
 (485)
2 star
 (250)
1 star
 (278)
Story
4.2 (4188 )
5 star
 (2549)
4 star
 (761)
3 star
 (394)
2 star
 (198)
1 star
 (286)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Kari 04-07-15
    Kari 04-07-15 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Love it!"

    Jenny nearly caused me several car accidents because I was laughing so hard. Kudos and thanks for an awesome book and being almost car accident funny but not quite.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    EPBJ 04-04-15
    EPBJ 04-04-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "2nd time around, still awesome"

    I read the book, then listened to the audio, loved it just as much the 2nd time around. Looking forward to the next book!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ma 03-29-15
    Ma 03-29-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Funniest book EVER!"

    Both reading it and listening to it. Truly the funniest book I have ever read..heard..or herd? WTF. Vagina! Cheers😜

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    James 03-04-15
    James 03-04-15 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    158
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    49
    49
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "READ IT! - - - IT IS WORTH IT - - - DON'T LISTEN"
    What did you like best about Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)? What did you like least?

    I liked most the bitchy notes the author left for her husband.
    I liked least the sound of a rifle being racked and other similar audio effects appear throughout the audio book.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)?

    Her battle against health problems to conceive and deliver her child.


    Would you be willing to try another one of Jenny Lawson’s performances?

    No Way! This is why: The chief flaw I see in this audiobook is that the author chose to narrate it herself. Her voice does not rest well upon the ear. It has a staccato that can be annoying sharp almost panicky. The audio rendition could have benefited by a less shrill and frantic voice. My ear wanted a more consoling tone to describe events that moves ones heart to tears.


    Was Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) worth the listening time?

    Yes, only if you are on the beach and are whiling away the time with cool breezes and a stiff drink in your hand and you have previously read the book.


    Any additional comments?

    Jenny Lawson’s humor is nothing like David Sedaris fanciful yarns or Tina Fey biting liberated got-ya humor. In fact her humor is a closer match to the late Erma Bomback home spun humor in her The Grass Is Always Greener Over the Septic Tank. Ms. Bombeck was a columnist and author from the 1960’s through 1996. Her viewpoint of humor was Midwestern, domestic, and home spun centered. It dealt with the trials and tribulations of everyday life. In fact if Ms. Bombeck had been reared in west Texas and had a taxidermist for a father and a mother with politically correct tendencies she too may have become a well-known blogger as opposed to a columnist. Also Ms. Lawson would have been 22 by the time Ms. Bombeck died. It is difficult to think that Ms. Lawson would not have been familiar with Ms. Bombeck’s work. But the internet did not exist then so Ms. Bombeck became a columnist who had to shape her copy to her editor’s Midwestern values. Not having an editor, Ms. Lawson stream of consciousness flows wildly free of any mainstream pause for reflection or word count of how many F- bombs she drops or redundant use of “like TOTALLY” she uses. If you don’t like you language raw and a bit flighty you will not like this book.

    I first received this book as a paperback. I read it along with all the delightful pictures illustrating the authors early years. In a written format ones minds voice provides a tone and pathos appropriate to the written material. While reading one can skip lightly and quickly over the humorous words that provide the grounding stones as her life flows and splashes on. When appropriate and the emotional waters deepen ones pace slows for reflection time to move the soul. This pathos adjustment is not there in the frantic pace of the audio rendition.

    The chief flaw I see in this audiobook is that the author chose to narrate it herself. Her voice does not rest well upon the ear. It has a staccato that can be annoying sharp almost panicky. It is going 100 MPH even when she addresses more serious and sober portions of her semi-memoir; for example, the problems she had conceiving and bringing her daughter to full term. This woman displayed pure raw courage and determination during that tragic but ultimately joyful period in her life. The audio rendition could have benefited by a less shrill and frantic voice. My ear wanted a more consoling tone to describe events that moves ones heart to tears.

    I believe this book is really worth a good read. Get it in the printed version where you can bring your own voices to the material. Also you get the photographs that the author attempts to describe only partially successfully in the audio version to view and linger over as desired. Blogging is obviously Ms. Lawson’s forte. When it comes to performance of her work, she should leave that in other professional narrator hands. If you must listen to it be prepared for something raw and crude complete with sound effects like an old radio show. Early on in the audio version, when she is enumerating a number of points, there is definitely the sound of a rifle being racked between each point. Other similar audio effects appear throughout the audiobook. I found them more as a distraction then a complement.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Cindy Charlotte, NC, United States 03-01-15
    Cindy Charlotte, NC, United States 03-01-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Hilarious!"

    Never laughed so hard. This is a crazy story that could only be true. Loved the sound effects and singing intro to each chapter. Perfectly quirky and fit the character of the story

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jessie 02-26-15
    Jessie 02-26-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    44
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The Bloggess rocks!"

    This was hilarious. Jenny is funny and entertaining through out the book. If you haven't found her blog you should.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    J. E. Broyhill Winston-Salem, NC 02-21-15
    J. E. Broyhill Winston-Salem, NC 02-21-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    41
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Highly recommend."

    Hilarious! This was my first audiobook and I have to say, I was not disappointed in the least. If you enjoy memoirs, you will love Jenny Lawson's collection.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lesley W 02-19-15
    Lesley W 02-19-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Disappointed"
    What was most disappointing about Jenny Lawson’s story?

    I didn't like the narrator, the voice did not match the story. This sounded like it was being read by a 15 year old girl. I was expecting this to be funny, this was downright painful to listen to.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Marcie Rodriguez Dallas, Texas 02-18-15
    Marcie Rodriguez Dallas, Texas 02-18-15 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    48
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Crazy. Just like the rest of us."

    The audiobook is read by the author. And yep, I am pretty sure she is crazy. Just like the rest of us. The thing that stands out most from having listened to the book is that Jenny Lawson pronounces words ending in "-ing" as a "k". So... "the think that stands out most from havink listened..." you get the idea. Other than that, pretty funny, kind of weird, a good memoir for the socially awkward, introverted and folks sufferin(k) from GAD (General Anxiety Disorder). You. Are. Not. Alone.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Trish Alatorre-Ridings 02-18-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Buy a ticket, take the ride! (Apologies to HST)"

    Just plain funny stuff. Listening to her recount numerous "hand to the face" actions and social interactions, I have no doubt she was valedictorian at wife school.

    Certain books are better in audio format than in print form; I believe this book is a great example of this due to the narration by the author. She brings the entire range of her emotions to life as no other narrator could because they are HERS.

    Her great delivery and excellent, often manic pacing brings another level of humor to these anecdotes. Stories that would elicit wry smiles or soft chuckles in print are elevated to laugh out loud status by her "This is totally true!" rapid delivery and sometimes breathless account of growing up an outlier.

    Following Ms. Lawson's journey from young girl to high school outsider to college where she met Victor who became her loving and long suffering husband was funny and fun. Her range of emotions brings a hold on to your seat quality to this roller coaster collection. Hold on!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.