We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) Audiobook

Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Audie Award Nominee, Humor, 2013

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.

Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes listeners on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

Chapters include: "Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel", "A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband", "My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking", and "And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane".

©2012 Jenny Lawson (P)2012 Penguin

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (4445 )
5 star
 (2354)
4 star
 (1018)
3 star
 (529)
2 star
 (271)
1 star
 (273)
Overall
4.1 (4098 )
5 star
 (2136)
4 star
 (959)
3 star
 (479)
2 star
 (248)
1 star
 (276)
Story
4.2 (4091 )
5 star
 (2470)
4 star
 (751)
3 star
 (386)
2 star
 (198)
1 star
 (286)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Marcie Rodriguez Dallas, Texas 02-18-15
    Marcie Rodriguez Dallas, Texas 02-18-15 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    46
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Crazy. Just like the rest of us."

    The audiobook is read by the author. And yep, I am pretty sure she is crazy. Just like the rest of us. The thing that stands out most from having listened to the book is that Jenny Lawson pronounces words ending in "-ing" as a "k". So... "the think that stands out most from havink listened..." you get the idea. Other than that, pretty funny, kind of weird, a good memoir for the socially awkward, introverted and folks sufferin(k) from GAD (General Anxiety Disorder). You. Are. Not. Alone.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Trish Alatorre-Ridings 02-18-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Buy a ticket, take the ride! (Apologies to HST)"

    Just plain funny stuff. Listening to her recount numerous "hand to the face" actions and social interactions, I have no doubt she was valedictorian at wife school.

    Certain books are better in audio format than in print form; I believe this book is a great example of this due to the narration by the author. She brings the entire range of her emotions to life as no other narrator could because they are HERS.

    Her great delivery and excellent, often manic pacing brings another level of humor to these anecdotes. Stories that would elicit wry smiles or soft chuckles in print are elevated to laugh out loud status by her "This is totally true!" rapid delivery and sometimes breathless account of growing up an outlier.

    Following Ms. Lawson's journey from young girl to high school outsider to college where she met Victor who became her loving and long suffering husband was funny and fun. Her range of emotions brings a hold on to your seat quality to this roller coaster collection. Hold on!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Allen 02-03-15
    Allen 02-03-15 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I loved the story telling from start to end!"

    This is a book that I could not stop until done. I will be on the lookout for future works by Jenny Lawson.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    RNK826 Pleasanton, TX, USA 01-23-15
    RNK826 Pleasanton, TX, USA 01-23-15

    Rikki

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Hilarious!"

    I loved this. I'm as socially awkward as the author so most of the situations she finds herself are totally relatable. Good and funny listen.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    lindsey 01-22-15
    lindsey 01-22-15 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I couldn't stop laughing out loud"

    I had never heard of Jenny Lawson before buying this audiobook, but I judging by the title I just knew I would enjoy this book. I was right! Jenny's stories are uproariously hilarious, someone should make a sitcom based on her life. Also, it felt really good to know there's someone out there who is more weird than I. =P

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Cynthia 01-16-15
    Cynthia 01-16-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Jenny Lawson is WONDERFUL!"

    This book was not what I thought it was going to be however it exceeded my expectations. This book made me laugh and cry! She was an amazing narrator and I can't wait for book #2.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Tami Oldaker 01-14-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    39
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Soul mates"

    I think this bitch just might be my kindred spirit. Funniest. Shit. Ever. I so heart Jenny motherfucking Lawson y'all!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    JaneoH 01-07-15
    JaneoH 01-07-15 Member Since 2012
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The autobiographical and then ridiculous"

    There's quite a bit of crudity in this book. But the authors delivery is so entertaining I was able to overlook it. My husband couldn't. I think it went on a little too long. But it's really quite funny. Liked it a lot.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rachael A Ryan Watertown, CT USA 01-03-15
    Rachael A Ryan Watertown, CT USA 01-03-15 Member Since 2012
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    6
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Hilarious and poignant!"

    A must read if you like humorous books. The language is very adult. I have never heard a memoir like hers before. I highly recommend it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    hooterwah 12-23-14
    hooterwah 12-23-14
    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "THE GODDESS JENNY"
    Would you listen to Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) again? Why?

    I LISTEN OFTEN ... she is insane funny insightful and a treat to all humanity


    What did you like best about this story?

    jenny ...just jenny


    Which scene was your favorite?

    hmmm maybe the turkey baster ....lol


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    when she spoke of her challenges her illness and loss...i stopped laughing and cried


    Any additional comments?

    please jenny write more i may be in love with you :)

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.