We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) Audiobook

Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Audie Award Nominee, Humor, 2013

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.

Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes listeners on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

Chapters include: "Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel", "A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband", "My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking", and "And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane".

©2012 Jenny Lawson (P)2012 Penguin

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (4533 )
5 star
 (2407)
4 star
 (1045)
3 star
 (534)
2 star
 (274)
1 star
 (273)
Overall
4.1 (4179 )
5 star
 (2186)
4 star
 (984)
3 star
 (482)
2 star
 (250)
1 star
 (277)
Story
4.2 (4172 )
5 star
 (2538)
4 star
 (758)
3 star
 (392)
2 star
 (198)
1 star
 (286)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Tessa 06-11-15
    Tessa 06-11-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Hilarious"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Sure. I laughed a lot and her description of anxiety made me nod along.


    What about Jenny Lawson’s performance did you like?

    I like her voice and reading. She does sing the chapter titles and I have no idea why, it is very disconcerting at first but by my third listen I was singing them with her so I guess I shouldn't complain.


    Any additional comments?

    *beware miscarriage chapter in it*

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    lazynoodles 06-10-15
    lazynoodles 06-10-15 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    62
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Hilarious"

    Anyone who's in the mood for light hearted fun and a laugh should definitely check this out.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Susan Jenkins 06-04-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "awesome!!"

    I have read this a few times (makes me laugh everytime) but having the author read it made it even better. She has a very pleasant voice. Looking forward to her next book!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 05-15-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Too Annoying"
    What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

    The coming of age story (if you could call it that) would have been much better if the actual author had not performed the audio version. I thought that her prose was annoyingly repetetive, and overy dripping with sarcasm to the point of so many eye rolls I thought I was going to have to see the optometrist.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Christopher 05-14-15
    Christopher 05-14-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "so fun"

    loved it. why does a review require 20 words? that seems silly. vaginas

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Catherine 05-09-15
    Catherine 05-09-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Really Funny"

    Great book! Laugh out loud funny! I will definitely listen to it again and recommend it to anyone not easily offended. With that said, it is fairly mild in comparison to other adult comedies.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 04-30-15 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Jenny Lawson, Will you be my best friend?"

    I am about to listen to "Let's Pretend This Never Happened" all over again. I laughed out loud -really hard- so many times. This book makes whatever day you're having a happier one, and Jenny Lawson deserves every good thing ever said about her. And p.s. Victor is a lucky man.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Xena 04-15-15
    Xena 04-15-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Doesn't work as an audio book"

    I cld understand reading this as a series of very short essays but this doesn't make for a good audibook. There's no flowing story more like a person telling you a bunch of antidotes they think are funny. The humour relies on metaphors

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kari 04-07-15
    Kari 04-07-15 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Love it!"

    Jenny nearly caused me several car accidents because I was laughing so hard. Kudos and thanks for an awesome book and being almost car accident funny but not quite.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    EPBJ 04-04-15
    EPBJ 04-04-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "2nd time around, still awesome"

    I read the book, then listened to the audio, loved it just as much the 2nd time around. Looking forward to the next book!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.