We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) | [Jenny Lawson]

Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.
Regular Price:$27.97
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Audie Award Nominee, Humor, 2013

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.

Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes listeners on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

Chapters include: "Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel", "A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband", "My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking", and "And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane".

©2012 Jenny Lawson (P)2012 Penguin

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.9 (1787 )
5 star
 (842)
4 star
 (407)
3 star
 (260)
2 star
 (141)
1 star
 (137)
Overall
3.9 (1642 )
5 star
 (759)
4 star
 (387)
3 star
 (236)
2 star
 (130)
1 star
 (130)
Story
4.0 (1629 )
5 star
 (866)
4 star
 (334)
3 star
 (176)
2 star
 (104)
1 star
 (149)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    fatbustermack 05-21-12
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Sitting with the bloggess"
    Where does Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    one of the best, there was some extra stuff in the audio than in the physical book. It felt like she was right there with us.


    What did you like best about this story?

    how it felt like a conversation between friends


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    P Pullman, WA, United States 05-21-12
    P Pullman, WA, United States 05-21-12
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    29
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not truly funny, but still good"

    Perhaps it is my age : It was mildly amusing and seemed to be honest; the author did a good job of narrating and it was nice to hear the emphasis placed where she wanted it to be although it got to my ears it got over the top. And, as we all know, no one gets out of childhood unscathed and it sounded as though she'd been 'scathed' often and hard. So, if you like coming of age stories and enjoy her writing, it is worth the credit. If you are over the 60 mark, it may not be as funny as you keep hearing it is. Or maybe it is just me.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jennie Herndon, VA, United States 05-21-12
    Jennie Herndon, VA, United States 05-21-12 Member Since 2012

    I do crossword puzzles in pen.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Comedic Memoir"
    Where does Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    This is one of the best audiobooks I've ever listened too - mainly because Jenny Lawson narrates her story wonderfully.


    Any additional comments?

    This book is great for anyone who has ever been ashamed of, proud of, scared of, or confused by his or her own family.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    John V. Higgins, Jr. Catonsville, Md United States 05-21-12
    John V. Higgins, Jr. Catonsville, Md United States 05-21-12 Member Since 2004
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    152
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Let's Pretend I Never Bought This"
    What did you like best about Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)? What did you like least?

    It is light - not too 'thoughty' if that is what you like. On the other hand, it is by and about an immature young woman of no great discernment. You need to have a sense of the larger issues of life to properly make the silly stuff funny. Or believable.

    And her vocabulary... really, not funny in this decade - just tiresome.


    Has Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) turned you off from other books in this genre?

    No


    Did Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) inspire you to do anything?

    Yes - give up 3/4 through. I hate wasting that money!


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Adriana United States 05-21-12
    Adriana United States 05-21-12 Member Since 2011
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "ridiculously funny"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Yes! I have recommended it to ALL my friends. I love that I got to hear the author's voice so I knew exactly the tone she was going for.
    It is HILARIOUS. I've listened to it twice now.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    My favorite characters are her father, simply because you cannot make that stuff up.


    Which character – as performed by Jenny Lawson – was your favorite?

    So many... but I loved her reenacting any interaction she had with Victor.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    I laughed and cried. But the moments when I did cry, I was quickly able to laugh or at least smile again soon after.


    Any additional comments?

    This is damn funny, Y'all. You will not be sorry if you pick this book up or decide to listen to it. Jenny Lawson is an amazingly honest and funny writer. I wish there was more out there like her.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Brian albuquerque, NM, United States 05-21-12
    Brian albuquerque, NM, United States 05-21-12 Member Since 2010
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "That is a funny book"
    Is there anything you would change about this book?

    Maybe a different reader.


    Would you recommend Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) to your friends? Why or why not?

    It would have to be the correct friend. Perfect for Gen X folks. Great references to our generation experiences.


    Did Jenny Lawson do a good job differentiating all the characters? How?

    N/A


    Was Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) worth the listening time?

    Sure.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Suzette P. Ferreira California 05-18-12
    Suzette P. Ferreira California 05-18-12 Member Since 2009

    Suzi Q

    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Just plain loved it!"

    Definitely worth buying - funny, sad, sarcastic, this book has it all!! Would love to listen to anything else from Jenny Lawson.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Greta Kathryn Lemon Grove, CA, United States 05-18-12
    Greta Kathryn Lemon Grove, CA, United States 05-18-12

    I credit audible for improving my listening skills.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "LOLs times a thousand"
    What made the experience of listening to Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) the most enjoyable?

    Jenny Lawson is so random, its hilarious. Her stories are uber bizarre and extremely entertaining.


    What did you like best about this story?

    Her stories from childhood and adult life, oh heck, the whole whole book. I especially liked her affinity for stuffed dead animals in costume and the wacky names she gave them.


    Any additional comments?

    I felt very uncomfortable when she sang the intros to the songs, but that may be a personal problem more than anything.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 05-15-12
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Laugh out loud humor"
    What did you love best about Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)?

    First of all I think swearing makes everything funnier, so this book was right up my alley. The authors account of her out of this world experiences are insanely entertaining, although dark at times. I went through a high mix of emotions from being on the verge of vomiting, to extreme laughter, to teary eyed. If you're looking for no holds barred stories this is a great one. If you don't like swearing or can't handle gross accounts, including animal remains, steer clear!


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Eric United States 05-14-12
    Eric United States 05-14-12
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Laughing Out Loud while Working Out"
    Where does Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    I have loved Jenny's blog for a long time! Love having her antics so I can listen to them while doing the dreaded cardio!


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 261-270 of 283 results PREVIOUS126272829NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.