We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) Audiobook

Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Audie Award Nominee, Humor, 2013

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.

Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes listeners on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

Chapters include: "Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel", "A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband", "My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking", and "And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane".

©2012 Jenny Lawson (P)2012 Penguin

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (4908 )
5 star
 (2626)
4 star
 (1126)
3 star
 (574)
2 star
 (292)
1 star
 (290)
Overall
4.1 (4520 )
5 star
 (2381)
4 star
 (1061)
3 star
 (520)
2 star
 (270)
1 star
 (288)
Story
4.2 (4519 )
5 star
 (2769)
4 star
 (812)
3 star
 (423)
2 star
 (216)
1 star
 (299)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Elaine 07-20-15
    Elaine 07-20-15 Member Since 2016

    World traveler, free sprite, lover of art, drinker of wine, giver of goodwill, design obsessed, strange, wife and loving mother of two cats.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    14
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    63
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Slow Start but Worth the Wait"
    Would you consider the audio edition of Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) to be better than the print version?

    Yes. Her tone make the book!


    What did you like best about this story?

    The narrator/ author's tone was hilariously perfect!


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    There were several times I laughed out loud!


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    CometRX Austin, TX 07-18-15
    CometRX Austin, TX 07-18-15 Member Since 2015

    slow reader

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    32
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Tears from laughing !"

    Loved the redneck stories plus the honesty if anxiety disorder. I have no idea what the author looks like, but her voice reminded me of Kristen Bell, so if there's ever a movie made, there's the lead!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Stacey B. 07-16-15
    Stacey B. 07-16-15 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    25
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Let's Pretend This Never Happened"

    MY THOUGHTS: I loved this book so much! I had never heard of Jenny Lawson before, but this had good reviews so I thought I'd pick it up on Audible. I'm so glad that I did. It's hard to find the words to describe this book. It's just funny. This book was incredibly hilarious. I was listening to quite a bit of this while I was at work and I was biting my cheeks to stop myself from laughing out loud. I highly enjoyed every moment of this book.

    I also loved the more serious moments. In chapter 25, Lawson talks about her anxiety and her husband being well-meaning, but just not understanding. I can completely relate to that. I feel like she took the thoughts right out of my head.

    COVER: After reading the book, I can see that the cover is perfect for it!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rhiannon 07-14-15
    Rhiannon 07-14-15 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    78
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Laughed out loud from beginning to end!"

    Jenny Lawson is charming, quirky, extremely funny, adorable, and unbelievably bizarre yet strangely relatable. I loved the cadence of her voice, the sarcasm in her tone, and her never-ending wit. One day I'd love to just hang out with her in a bar because I would totally be friends with this woman. She's amazing. And so is her book!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    James Los Angeles, US, Canada 07-12-15
    James Los Angeles, US, Canada 07-12-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Funny"

    Funny stories about growing up odd inTexas. The author has a great writing voice and is a good reader to boot. I find it best to consume short stories and vignette-type pieces in small doses over time and that rule applies here. The only thing I wished she hadn't done was to sing the chapter titles. But other than that, good stuff.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Elizabeth 07-11-15
    Elizabeth 07-11-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    110
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    82
    81
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A " laugh Out Loud "Read"

    I do not usually laugh out loud when listening to audio books. I ended up snorting with laughter after trying to be quiet while listening to this book. Luckily no one was around to hear me. Such a good listen. Jenny Lawson's interactions with her husband Victor were hilarious. Jenny is very funny and upbeat about even the difficult events in her life. A must read.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Em86 Norman, OK 07-10-15
    Em86 Norman, OK 07-10-15 Member Since 2015

    Em86

    HELPFUL VOTES
    20
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    48
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A fantastic book"

    I laughed quite a bit through this book. It was well written and well read. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants a fun heartwarming glimpse into one woman's life.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amber 07-10-15
    Amber 07-10-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    59
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Funniest Audiobook Ever!"

    I laughed out loud so many times I lost count. Jenny is an hilarious storyteller!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    kimberlyCafe 07-09-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    20
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Funny funny funny"

    The best move ever was having Jenny Lawson read her own book. It was added so much to the story hearing it with the intentioned witty cadence.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jen 07-08-15
    Jen 07-08-15 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "hated it"

    Maybe this book is better in print but I e narration is condescending, not funny, and I wish I could return it

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.