We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) Audiobook

Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Audie Award Nominee, Humor, 2013

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.

Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes listeners on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

Chapters include: "Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel", "A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband", "My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking", and "And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane".

©2012 Jenny Lawson (P)2012 Penguin

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (4824 )
5 star
 (2569)
4 star
 (1112)
3 star
 (566)
2 star
 (288)
1 star
 (289)
Overall
4.1 (4442 )
5 star
 (2330)
4 star
 (1047)
3 star
 (514)
2 star
 (264)
1 star
 (287)
Story
4.2 (4440 )
5 star
 (2716)
4 star
 (798)
3 star
 (419)
2 star
 (211)
1 star
 (296)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Laura G. Williams 03-20-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The worst language"

    Did not finish it due to the constant foul language. It could have been hilarious but for the offensive language.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Satish Iyer Mumbai, India 03-18-16
    Satish Iyer Mumbai, India 03-18-16

    Avid reader of romantic literature, history and adventure.

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "More standup comedyish"
    Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

    It is an okay read. I felt like I was listening to a standup comedy show.


    Has Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) turned you off from other books in this genre?

    This is my first book in this genre. So it is too early to tell if I am put off by this genre


    Have you listened to any of Jenny Lawson’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    No. I have not listened to other performances of Jenny Lawson.


    Was Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) worth the listening time?

    Yeah, worth one listen.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    TEM 03-17-16
    TEM 03-17-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not funny"

    This is really ridiculous and vulgar and not funny at all. I could not get past the first couple of chapters. And the authors voice over and singing is awful. This sounds like he ramblings of a crazy person.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Robyn 03-16-16
    Robyn 03-16-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Better to Read in Print"

    I've followed Jenny's blog for years, and even bookmarked the entry about the big metal chicken to revisit at times when I need a laugh-til-I-cry. Her content is hilarious but I couldn't get past her grating vocal fry, which I regrettably missed/overlooked when I listened to the audio sample. Unlikely to finish, wish I could get a refund.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    majed 03-09-16
    majed 03-09-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "love the book"

    It's cool I really liked it I roocemnd this book I bet you'll love it fi you have a soul am just kidding.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer Illinois 03-04-16
    Amazon Customer Illinois 03-04-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    6
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Hilarious Weirdo!"

    I really liked this book. Jenny Lawson is random and weird and funny...like me...so I relate. 😊

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Antoinette Bennett Round Lake Heights, IL, US 03-02-16
    Antoinette Bennett Round Lake Heights, IL, US 03-02-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved it."

    I laughed throughout the whole book! lol. We could be twins! Thanks for the smiles

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jessica Brown 02-28-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "OH MY!"
    What made the experience of listening to Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) the most enjoyable?

    I laughed out loud, once Jenny was out in the world - at least sorta on her own.


    Has Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) turned you off from other books in this genre?

    Maybe it was because the Author read it. I sounded like early 70s canned music.


    What three words best describe Jenny Lawson’s voice?

    Authentic, rapid fire,


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    OH NO! I would be like all of the seasons of Gilmore Girls in one hour!


    Any additional comments?

    My daughter recommended it, and I can see why - we both could see so much of the eclectic but loving group of people that surrounded her from birth: family and friends. It took a minute to get into the cadence; I attributed that to the Author reading her own work. I laughed embarrassingly out loud through the middle at the gym - where I listen to books and music. By the end, well there was no ending, and it piqued my natural momma worries. I would recommend it to anyone with daughters between 25 and 35. And Dads too, you might get a glimpse of some one your child will likely take as a spouse. Men, if you need a primer on girl speak - this is a good one.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Loretta 02-28-16
    Loretta 02-28-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Bittersweet Humor"
    What made the experience of listening to Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) the most enjoyable?

    Humor makes this novel a wonderful, bittersweet journey through Lawson's childhood and adult live.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)?

    Very enjoyable retelling of she and her sister's relationship with their dad and his taxidermy exploits.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    Smart, witty and sensitive this book is a great example of making lemonade with the lemons given to us in life.


    Any additional comments?

    From childhood experiences to adult coping with illness and disease, Lawson portrays how humor and the ability to laugh at oneself is a valuable gift.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 02-27-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    33
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    313
    40
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Jenny Lawson cannot be stopped"

    I love this woman. She makes me laugh, she helps me accept my physical health issues, and she helps me be okay with, and even embrace, my head not containing the same filters that normal people have. Cheers to you Jenny, for bringing us all out of our pantries, and closets, and bathrooms, so we can kind of hang out in a group closet together, only on good days, and laugh and laugh.... Pants optional, humanely dead animals welcome.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.