We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) Audiobook

Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Audie Award Nominee, Humor, 2013

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.

Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes listeners on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

Chapters include: "Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel", "A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband", "My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking", and "And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane".

©2012 Jenny Lawson (P)2012 Penguin

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (5062 )
5 star
 (2730)
4 star
 (1149)
3 star
 (589)
2 star
 (297)
1 star
 (297)
Overall
4.1 (4669 )
5 star
 (2484)
4 star
 (1082)
3 star
 (534)
2 star
 (275)
1 star
 (294)
Story
4.2 (4669 )
5 star
 (2879)
4 star
 (834)
3 star
 (431)
2 star
 (220)
1 star
 (305)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Isa 04-27-16
    Isa 04-27-16 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Jenny Lawson is my emotional super hero."
    Any additional comments?

    There is beauty in imperfection, there is laughter in the bizarre and strange. No one’s life is meant to fit into a single mold and this book has helped me realize that many of us expect it to be. I listened to the audio book and I am so glad I did because there is something so much more personal about listening to the way the author tells her tale through her own voice. Jenny Lawson does an amazing job in narrating her own work and while it doesn't have the crisp edges of a professional narrator, that was what made it all the more intimate. Half way through the book I felt that I understood this quirky, insane , broken person and I kinda love her.

    I love her for having no filter.

    For saying all the silly things I keep to myself out loud.

    For not caring what other people think enough to sacrifice who she is.

    I loved her for being real.

    It helped of course that the book was hilarious, and scattered. It didn't matter that hidden within funny anecdotes and what felt like what I can only describe as Murphy’s Law Rumpus Room, that she hid gems of heartache and pain that left my eyes stinging. I found myself chuckling throughout work while listening to it and wondering how I hadn't heard about this book sooner. Then 3/4 of the way through I realize that I had heard a story she was sharing about a big metal chicken and I realized that I read her blog once, years ago and somehow it had completely escaped me. I can't recommend this book more. If you have a love for life, even your most imperfect one, I suggest letting Jenny give you a tour into her own.

    Cuz this girl has seen some shit. Props.

    PS..REVIEW: Just because I loved this quote, Ill leave it here.

    You are defined not by life’s imperfect moments but rather your reaction to them because there is joy in embracing rather than screaming from the utter absurdity of life..

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Janeaustenruns Burbank, CA, Usa 04-27-16
    Janeaustenruns Burbank, CA, Usa 04-27-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    30
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    69
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Disappointed!"
    What disappointed you about Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)?

    I was expecting a funny and thoughtful book. Instead I found it so full of offensive words and not funny or interesting. I realize I am among the shrinking minority that believe using the f word in every paragraph is unappealing, but there so it is. Maybe the other book Ms. Lawson wrote is better, but the reviews indicated otherwise. See--I wrote a whole paragraph without the F word.


    What do you think your next listen will be?

    About baseball or a mystery. I listen to so many things and am almost always pleased with the time and money spent to be able to do so.


    Did the narration match the pace of the story?

    Sure.


    What character would you cut from Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)?

    The author.


    Any additional comments?

    I'm sorry I wasted my credit!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Dana C. 04-23-16
    Dana C. 04-23-16 Member Since 2002
    HELPFUL VOTES
    12
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    367
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Absolutely Hysterical"
    If you could sum up Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) in three words, what would they be?

    LAUGH OUT LOUD


    What did you like best about this story?

    Probably the fact that I could relate to many of the stories. I'm not sure what that says about me. :D


    What about Jenny Lawson’s performance did you like?

    I don't think anyone else could tell these stories like Jenny does.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    I laughed out loud a bunch. Some moments were so good that I played them for the other women in my office.


    Any additional comments?

    I felt good listening to Jenny's stories...partly because I could relate, partly because they illustrate funny things about most people, and partly because she's such a good storyteller.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    KnitChick84 04-19-16
    KnitChick84 04-19-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "How much do I love Jenny Lawson?"

    So much. I love her so very much. Like, I laughed till I peed my pants more than once, and it's like listening to the love child of my inner dialogue and my best friend (who is also from Texas). So funny, smart, clever, and even touching.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lisa 04-13-16
    Lisa 04-13-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "super funny!"

    I loved this book! I found myself laughing hysterically as I was driving down the road and listening to this book on audio. I would totally recommend this book to all my friends!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Audrey Cobarrubias 04-12-16 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "amazing"

    loved this book. easy funny listen and went faster than I wanted it to :( but in a good way.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 04-10-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "F-word Fatigue"
    What disappointed you about Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)?

    Let's Pretend I Never Bought This Book - I'm no prude but the overuse of profanity just wears out the reader/listener. Listened to first 45 mins of the book then turned it off. Instead of laughing and enjoying it, I was just unimpressed.


    Would you be willing to try another one of Jenny Lawson’s performances?

    Nope - sorry.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Bridget Flynn 04-07-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "perfection y'all"

    This book had everything I love in it; stories that become hilarious ramblings, folksy small town charm, heart felt personal stories, plenty of cursing, and an author who isn't afraid to yell vagina!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kiana 04-06-16
    Kiana 04-06-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    49
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    77
    74
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Standing Ovation"

    Wow I'm wonderfully surprised. From the sample I was on the fence on whether to get it or not; but it was defenitely worth the credit.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    tsm 04-06-16
    tsm 04-06-16

    jennio

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazing"

    I laughed until I cried. And I probably peed a little too. She's funny, sweet & has the foulest mouth ever. I want Jenny Lawson to be my best friend.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.