We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) Audiobook

Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Audie Award Nominee, Humor, 2013

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.

Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes listeners on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

Chapters include: "Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel", "A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband", "My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking", and "And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane".

©2012 Jenny Lawson (P)2012 Penguin

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (4196 )
5 star
 (2182)
4 star
 (980)
3 star
 (509)
2 star
 (261)
1 star
 (264)
Overall
4.1 (3867 )
5 star
 (1984)
4 star
 (919)
3 star
 (460)
2 star
 (241)
1 star
 (263)
Story
4.2 (3858 )
5 star
 (2292)
4 star
 (727)
3 star
 (373)
2 star
 (190)
1 star
 (276)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    AIDA 12-09-15
    AIDA 12-09-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    35
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I wanted to like this"
    Would you try another book from Jenny Lawson and/or Jenny Lawson?

    based on this book, no.


    What was most disappointing about Jenny Lawson’s story?

    She was too scatter brained. there were times I just wanted her to get to the point.


    What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

    disappointment because there were so many good reviews and it seemed like a book I would enjoy however I couldn't even finish it.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Larry Troy, Illinois 12-03-15
    Larry Troy, Illinois 12-03-15 Member Since 2015

    Larry W. Powell

    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "OMG So Funny"
    If you could sum up Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) in three words, what would they be?

    This is the funniest and most entertaining book I have ever listened to. Jenny Lawson is very creative, a little nutty and sometimes just ridiculously hilarious. You're childhood will seem normal after you listed the stories about hers


    What does Jenny Lawson bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    Her personality and inflections are so entertaining


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

    Whether stuck In Wall or stuck in the wall, there is a Chupacabra somewhere


    Any additional comments?

    Do not miss listening to this book, you will not regret it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Garden Geek Michigan 12-01-15
    Garden Geek Michigan 12-01-15 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very entertaining"

    I enjoyed his immensely, particularly as the author read the story so you get to hear it as she intended.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    tammy h. 12-01-15
    tammy h. 12-01-15 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Silly Stuffed Squirrel, this book's not for kids! "

    From cow vaginas to Rheumatoid arthritis -- Lawson's cheaper than therapy and without the co-pay!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    R. Swain 11-30-15
    R. Swain 11-30-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The written word fails"
    Would you listen to Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) again? Why?

    Because Puppies! And you get to hear Jenny's stories in her own voice. AND BONUS MATERIAL!


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)?

    The drinking game.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lainnie L Capouya 11-27-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Favorite Memoir"

    A must read for anyone who grew up in the rural south. A wonderfully comedic childhood. Thanks for the laughs!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Niheala Klumpus, Ohia 11-19-15
    Niheala Klumpus, Ohia 11-19-15 Member Since 2016

    Ni

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "hilarious... Vagina."

    hard not to enjoy her off kilter humor. many of the things she said and thought I have done and said. laughed out loud many times.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Vania 11-17-15
    Vania 11-17-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Awkward moments"

    Jenny Lawson has been the protagonist of a lot of embarrassingly funny moments.
    I recommend the audio book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    edie514 11-15-15
    edie514 11-15-15 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    22
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great story. I love that she reads her own books."

    I love her books and her voice and inflection make the story great as an audiobook. my only complaint is that it wasn't longer! I didn't want it to end.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Elizabeth Lincoln, MA, USA 11-14-15
    Elizabeth Lincoln, MA, USA 11-14-15 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    13
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    60
    22
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very funny for the first half, then annoying"
    Would you try another book from Jenny Lawson and/or Jenny Lawson?

    No, I think I've heard her funniest material, which is about her childhood


    How would you have changed the story to make it more enjoyable?

    Edit, edit, edit. It felt like she was pushed to make her story longer.


    Would you listen to another book narrated by Jenny Lawson?

    Probably not. I found her voice annoying.


    If this book were a movie would you go see it?

    No


    Any additional comments?

    I really loved this book at first. It had me laughing out loud. But after awhile the story got whiny and I got tired of hearing how she and her husband were fighting, how she embarrassed him, and way too much about her vagina.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.