We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) Audiobook

Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Audie Award Nominee, Humor, 2013

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.

Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes listeners on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

Chapters include: "Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel", "A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband", "My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking", and "And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane".

©2012 Jenny Lawson (P)2012 Penguin

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (4916 )
5 star
 (2632)
4 star
 (1127)
3 star
 (574)
2 star
 (292)
1 star
 (291)
Overall
4.1 (4527 )
5 star
 (2386)
4 star
 (1062)
3 star
 (520)
2 star
 (270)
1 star
 (289)
Story
4.2 (4526 )
5 star
 (2774)
4 star
 (813)
3 star
 (423)
2 star
 (216)
1 star
 (300)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    KnitChick84 04-19-16
    KnitChick84 04-19-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "How much do I love Jenny Lawson?"

    So much. I love her so very much. Like, I laughed till I peed my pants more than once, and it's like listening to the love child of my inner dialogue and my best friend (who is also from Texas). So funny, smart, clever, and even touching.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lisa 04-13-16
    Lisa 04-13-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "super funny!"

    I loved this book! I found myself laughing hysterically as I was driving down the road and listening to this book on audio. I would totally recommend this book to all my friends!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Audrey Cobarrubias 04-12-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "amazing"

    loved this book. easy funny listen and went faster than I wanted it to :( but in a good way.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 04-10-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "F-word Fatigue"
    What disappointed you about Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)?

    Let's Pretend I Never Bought This Book - I'm no prude but the overuse of profanity just wears out the reader/listener. Listened to first 45 mins of the book then turned it off. Instead of laughing and enjoying it, I was just unimpressed.


    Would you be willing to try another one of Jenny Lawson’s performances?

    Nope - sorry.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Bridget Flynn 04-07-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "perfection y'all"

    This book had everything I love in it; stories that become hilarious ramblings, folksy small town charm, heart felt personal stories, plenty of cursing, and an author who isn't afraid to yell vagina!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kiana 04-06-16
    Kiana 04-06-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    47
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    77
    74
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Standing Ovation"

    Wow I'm wonderfully surprised. From the sample I was on the fence on whether to get it or not; but it was defenitely worth the credit.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    tsm 04-06-16
    tsm 04-06-16

    jennio

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazing"

    I laughed until I cried. And I probably peed a little too. She's funny, sweet & has the foulest mouth ever. I want Jenny Lawson to be my best friend.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Harold 04-05-16
    Harold 04-05-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Well...."

    Struggled to finish. There were a lot of funny and interesting stories but it took me over a year to finish because her voice, while charming at times, really became just plain annoying. I didn't even listen to the epilogue completely because she was intolerable.

    That said, I didn't hate it and some parts I could relisten to again and again. I'm talking to you taxidermy woodchuck....squirrel? I forgot.

    Jenny is cool people though. We could totally hang out and be antisocial and awkward together.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    T. Thompson Wilmington, DE USA 04-05-16
    T. Thompson Wilmington, DE USA 04-05-16 Member Since 2014

    tevist

    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Awful!!!!!!!!
    "

    I did not get any of this book? I did not find it funny or entertaining! Avoid this book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Stacy Nunn 04-03-16
    Stacy Nunn 04-03-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Don't do it."
    What disappointed you about Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)?

    The author tried too hard to be funny. Very negative.


    What could Jenny Lawson have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

    Get to the point faster


    Did the narration match the pace of the story?

    The narration was fine - it was the content that was lacking


    If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)?

    The "singing" of each chapter title


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.