We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) Audiobook

Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.
    • 1 audiobook per month
    • 180,000+ titles to choose from
    • $14.95 per month after free trial

Publisher's Summary

Audie Award Nominee, Humor, 2013

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.

Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes listeners on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

Chapters include: "Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel", "A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband", "My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking", and "And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane".

©2012 Jenny Lawson (P)2012 Penguin

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (3491 )
5 star
 (1761)
4 star
 (808)
3 star
 (458)
2 star
 (228)
1 star
 (236)
Overall
4.0 (3224 )
5 star
 (1604)
4 star
 (763)
3 star
 (412)
2 star
 (212)
1 star
 (233)
Story
4.1 (3210 )
5 star
 (1855)
4 star
 (620)
3 star
 (318)
2 star
 (172)
1 star
 (245)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Karen Chicago, IL 07-23-15
    Karen Chicago, IL 07-23-15 Member Since 2014

    Karen

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Why have I never heard of this woman until now???!"
    What made the experience of listening to Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) the most enjoyable?

    I laughed out loud so many times listening to this. I can completely related to the things she says. I am going through something very rough right now and bought this to help me laugh. I needed it. Jenny Lawson is very human and has a hilarious view of life that created a very enjoyable 8 hours.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)?

    I was listening to this while walking my dogs. Jenny was talking about buying a taxidermied alligator and I burst out laughing. A very cute guy was walking a stroller in front of me and looked at me like I was crazy. It was one of many moments where I was laughing so hard I was crying, and truly enjoying myself. I also didn't care that this guy thought I was crazy because Jenny takes pride in being nuttier than me.


    What does Jenny Lawson bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    I feel like Jenny is someone that I want to hang out with. Her way of telling a story makes you feel like you are hanging out just listening to these crazy hilarious stories, I also prefer audio books to reading because I tend to read from cover to cover, as a busy woman I can't sit around reading, So I often listen to books while cleaning or walking my dogs. This is a book where I was glad I could do that because it made my day super enjoyable.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Yup! I also want to invite her to dinner and hang out drinking coffee with her,


    Any additional comments?

    I am going through a rough time right now and really needed to laugh, I am so glad I was able to find this book. I am now a huge fan of Jenny Lawson, she gave me 8 hours and 41 minutes of joy!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Timothy 07-22-15
    Timothy 07-22-15 Member Since 2015

    Musician and runner living on the island of Jeju in South Korea.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    32
    30
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Is that you Zooey Deschanel?"

    About halfway through this audiobook I considered stopping. It's not that I wasn't entertained, it was more that I had realized that Lawson had a formula that she was sticking to and wasn't going to diverge from. Throughout "Let's Pretend" Lawson present readers with a unique situation that she's found herself in, adds some quirky references and digressions, and sprinkles in some dialogue in which she alienates the other person.

    The problem for me was that Lawson spent the entire novel trying to prove her uniqueness as a storyteller and, in doing so, bypassed much of what could have made the book interesting. For instance, her husband, someone who she's made it through 15 years of marriage with, comes across as a boring mirror for Lawson's zaniness. He is presented as somebody who is constantly sighing and throwing up his hands or forking over his credit card for Lawson's next impulsive buy. It seems that in making the people around her into mirrors, Lawson tries too hard and misses the actual unique viewpoint that she could be exploring.

    There are moments in the stories when Lawson's voice makes a notable dog leg into a sincere tone. This is when Lawson allows herself to be vulnerable and shows her potential for something more. Lawson, however, sabotages these moments by trivializing them through some digression or other interruption. These moments show what the book could have been: a chance for Lawson to get away from the blog format and explore a more long form approach.

    Overall, the book was like hearing one of Zooey Deschanel's characters narrate her journal. It reads to me like somebody trying too hard to prove how special they are by listing every scarring memory and wacky thought that pops into her head. There were too many references to cowbells and velocoraptors for my taste.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    R. Nunn Illinois 07-21-15
    R. Nunn Illinois 07-21-15 Member Since 2012

    Reader

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    175
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Buy this now"

    This book is Hilarious. How has her life not been made into a filthy mouthed sitcom yet?!?

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Elaine 07-20-15
    Elaine 07-20-15 Member Since 2014

    World traveler, free sprite, lover of art, drinker of wine, giver of goodwill, design obsessed, strange, wife and loving mother of two cats.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    42
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Slow Start but Worth the Wait"
    Would you consider the audio edition of Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) to be better than the print version?

    Yes. Her tone make the book!


    What did you like best about this story?

    The narrator/ author's tone was hilariously perfect!


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    There were several times I laughed out loud!


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    CometRX Austin, TX 07-18-15
    CometRX Austin, TX 07-18-15 Member Since 2015

    slow reader

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    20
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Tears from laughing !"

    Loved the redneck stories plus the honesty if anxiety disorder. I have no idea what the author looks like, but her voice reminded me of Kristen Bell, so if there's ever a movie made, there's the lead!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Stacey B. 07-16-15
    Stacey B. 07-16-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Let's Pretend This Never Happened"

    MY THOUGHTS: I loved this book so much! I had never heard of Jenny Lawson before, but this had good reviews so I thought I'd pick it up on Audible. I'm so glad that I did. It's hard to find the words to describe this book. It's just funny. This book was incredibly hilarious. I was listening to quite a bit of this while I was at work and I was biting my cheeks to stop myself from laughing out loud. I highly enjoyed every moment of this book.

    I also loved the more serious moments. In chapter 25, Lawson talks about her anxiety and her husband being well-meaning, but just not understanding. I can completely relate to that. I feel like she took the thoughts right out of my head.

    COVER: After reading the book, I can see that the cover is perfect for it!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rhiannon 07-14-15
    Rhiannon 07-14-15 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    32
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Laughed out loud from beginning to end!"

    Jenny Lawson is charming, quirky, extremely funny, adorable, and unbelievably bizarre yet strangely relatable. I loved the cadence of her voice, the sarcasm in her tone, and her never-ending wit. One day I'd love to just hang out with her in a bar because I would totally be friends with this woman. She's amazing. And so is her book!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    James Los Angeles, US, Canada 07-12-15
    James Los Angeles, US, Canada 07-12-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Funny"

    Funny stories about growing up odd inTexas. The author has a great writing voice and is a good reader to boot. I find it best to consume short stories and vignette-type pieces in small doses over time and that rule applies here. The only thing I wished she hadn't done was to sing the chapter titles. But other than that, good stuff.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Elizabeth 07-11-15
    Elizabeth 07-11-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    59
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    69
    68
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A " laugh Out Loud "Read"

    I do not usually laugh out loud when listening to audio books. I ended up snorting with laughter after trying to be quiet while listening to this book. Luckily no one was around to hear me. Such a good listen. Jenny Lawson's interactions with her husband Victor were hilarious. Jenny is very funny and upbeat about even the difficult events in her life. A must read.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Em86 Norman, OK 07-10-15
    Em86 Norman, OK 07-10-15 Member Since 2015

    Em86

    HELPFUL VOTES
    13
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A fantastic book"

    I laughed quite a bit through this book. It was well written and well read. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants a fun heartwarming glimpse into one woman's life.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.