We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) | [Jenny Lawson]

Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.
Regular Price:$27.97
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Audie Award Nominee, Humor, 2013

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.

Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes listeners on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

Chapters include: "Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel", "A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband", "My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking", and "And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane".

©2012 Jenny Lawson (P)2012 Penguin

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.9 (2037 )
5 star
 (961)
4 star
 (473)
3 star
 (294)
2 star
 (157)
1 star
 (152)
Overall
3.9 (1882 )
5 star
 (875)
4 star
 (448)
3 star
 (267)
2 star
 (147)
1 star
 (145)
Story
4.0 (1866 )
5 star
 (998)
4 star
 (383)
3 star
 (206)
2 star
 (115)
1 star
 (164)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Christine CLARKSVILLE, TN, United States 04-07-13
    Christine CLARKSVILLE, TN, United States 04-07-13

    Blackbird Skye

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Hilarious and heartwarming!!"
    What did you love best about Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)?

    Jenny Lawson is downright hilarious.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Sorry Jenny, but I think it's Victor. He reminds me a lot of myself when I'm dealing with my goofy boyfriend. Just having to give that look of "Really?...."


    Have you listened to any of Jenny Lawson’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    No, she doesn't have any others available on Audible, but I wish she did!!!


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    I wanted to, but I listen to it at work so only could do 4-5 hours at a time.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    DeeAnn 04-05-13
    DeeAnn 04-05-13 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Maybe better to read than to listen"

    I enjoy her wit and humor. Her story of her life is insteresting, fun, and funny. Her openess about her anxiety disorder is sweet and telling. BUT hearing her go on and on in this book and compeletly going off on OCD tangents, while in writing probably comes off as funny, in audio - is maddening. Couldn't finish the book

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sarah Martin Ithaca, NY United States 03-17-13
    Sarah Martin Ithaca, NY United States 03-17-13 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Hilarious"

    Jenny Lawson is completely nuts in a totally wonderful and admittedly relatable way. She charms the reader with her own voice - perfect for her zany and rip-roaring narrative. Truly, this book may be better in the audio, as it is a delight to hear her tell her story(ies). And, as she notes, the audio is slightly more expensive than the hard/paperback, so let's give her a boost people. Have a listen. You'll love it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lisa Downers Grove, IL, United States 03-17-13
    Lisa Downers Grove, IL, United States 03-17-13 Member Since 2010
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Hilarious, genuine, & frankly kinda nuts!"

    Jenny Lawson's chipper, cheerful delivery of some of the silliest, saddest, craziest, and sometimes slightly disturbing events you can imagine is refreshing, riveting, and just plain pee-your-pants funny. Brave and loving and quirky - I wish I knew her!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sarah Chatsworth, Ca, United States 03-09-13
    Sarah Chatsworth, Ca, United States 03-09-13 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    28
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Absolutely Hysterical ! I highly recommend!!!"
    Where does Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    It was the second book I ever listened to on tape and I am hooked!! I wish it was my first since I wasn't a fan of the first. This was so funny it made up for it.


    What did you like best about this story?

    Her candid moments were as if it was a glimpse into a life so funny it has to be true. It makes you want to have a friend like Jenny.


    What does Jenny Lawson bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    Her quirky tone, it brought a lot to the experience.


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

    Jenny is 'that' friend, the one that makes you question your own views and laugh when you realize shes being real.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kristen Mentasti Washington, DC 03-09-13
    Kristen Mentasti Washington, DC 03-09-13

    Kristen M. Mentasti

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    33
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The best, and most relatable hilarious book!"
    If you could sum up Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) in three words, what would they be?

    Absolutely awesomely funny.


    What other book might you compare Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) to and why?

    I'm not sure off the top of my head because it's THAT GOOD.


    Have you listened to any of Jenny Lawson’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    I haven't! I didn't know Jenny Lawson had others and now I shall go buy!


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    I could relate to her on sooooooo many levels. As a mom, she does an excellent job of telling it like it is. No sugar coating here folks, which is perfect.


    Any additional comments?

    LOVED EVERY CHAPTER.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Laetitia OKLAHOMA CITY, OK, United States 03-08-13
    Laetitia OKLAHOMA CITY, OK, United States 03-08-13 Member Since 2012
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I really enjoyed this book"
    Would you listen to Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) again? Why?

    I really liked it. I thought it was funny and touching. And Jenny does a great job reading it.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Isaak 03-05-13
    Isaak 03-05-13 Member Since 2012
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    30
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "HILARIOUS!"
    Where does Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    Definitely TOP 10!


    What did you like best about this story?

    I love this writer's sense of humor. I would frequently laugh out loud at her stories. She was entertaining, witty, and fearless!


    What does Jenny Lawson bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    Her intonation and emotion about her story is moving. I think you would lose her sincerity if read independently.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    This book made me laugh and cry... simultaneously... I'm lucky I didn't leak any fluid with the exception of tears....


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    H. Wentworth 02-28-13 Member Since 2012
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "totally hilarious"

    I'd never read The Bloggess before, but you don't need any background to find this totally hilarious. She has a very different background than normally heard - from west Texas with a crazy taxidermist father. But she doesn't really have a Texan accent and, as a Texan myself, I can say this is definitely a unique story. Totally hilarious! I found myself LOLing as I walked my dog - I think Jenny would be happy to know that my neighbors now think I'm a little crazy. Also, I'm going to have to start reading her blog.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    jessica Los Angeles, CA, United States 02-27-13
    jessica Los Angeles, CA, United States 02-27-13 Member Since 2012
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    6
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Love it! Laugh it! Lived it!"
    What made the experience of listening to Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) the most enjoyable?

    The author is the best part of this, she is doing stand up comedy while reading her story. I cant stop reading it I have my headphones on right now and I'm not taking them off till I hear the whole thing.

    JUST GET IT IF YOU WANT TO FINALLY LISTEN TO A FUNNY BOOK...

    Your welcome.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 151-160 of 293 results PREVIOUS115161730NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.