We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Heads in Beds: A Reckless Memoir of Hotels, Hustles, and So-Called Hospitality | [Jacob Tomsky]

Heads in Beds: A Reckless Memoir of Hotels, Hustles, and So-Called Hospitality

Jacob Tomsky has worked in hotels for more than a decade, doing everything from valet parking to manning the front desk. He's checked you in, checked you out, separated your white panties from the white bed sheets, parked your car, tasted your room service, cleaned your toilet, denied you a late check out, given you a wake-up call, eaten M&Ms out of your mini-bar, laughed at your jokes, and taken your money. And in Heads in Beds, he pulls back the curtain on the hospitality business.
Regular Price:$24.50
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Kitchen Confidential and Waiter Rant, a rollicking, eye-opening, fantastically indiscreet memoir of a life spent (and misspent) in the hotel industry.

Jacob Tomsky has worked in hotels for more than a decade, doing everything from valet parking to manning the front desk. He's checked you in, checked you out, separated your white panties from the white bed sheets, parked your car, tasted your room service, cleaned your toilet, denied you a late check out, given you a wake-up call, eaten M&Ms out of your mini-bar, laughed at your jokes, and taken your money. And in Heads in Beds, he pulls back the curtain on the hospitality business, revealing the crazy yet compelling reality of an industry we think we know. It is an incredibly funny, authentic, and irreverent chronicle of the highs and lows of hotel life and boy, is there a market for it: in 2010, the American lodging industry generated $127.7 billion in revenue. Prepare to be amused, shocked, and amazed as he spills the unwritten code of the bellhops, the antics that go on the valet parking garage, and the housekeeping department's dirty little secrets.

Prepare to be moved, too, by his insightful honesty about the profession; employees are often poorly paid and frequently abused. However, Heads in Beds is more than just a memoir. Jake explains the secrets of the industry, offering easy and legal ways to get what you need from your hotel without any hassle - from scoring late check-ins and upgrades to getting that pay-per-view charge knocked off your bill. This book will give you the knowledge you need to get the very best service from any hotel or property, from any business that makes its money from putting heads in beds. Or, at the very least, it will keep the bellhops from taking your luggage into the camera-free back office and stomping the crap out of it.

©2012 Jacob Tomsky (P)2012 Random House Audio

What the Critics Say

"Jacob Tomsky is a star. The kid writes like a dream. Heads in Beds is hilarious, literate, canny, indignant and kind - revealing an author who manages somehow to be both a total hustler and a complete humanitarian. I love this book. Keep an eye on this writer. I'm telling you, he's a star." (Elizabeth Gilbert, author of Eat, Pray, Love: One Woman's Search for Everything Across Italy, India and Indonesia)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (521 )
5 star
 (239)
4 star
 (157)
3 star
 (90)
2 star
 (26)
1 star
 (9)
Overall
4.1 (480 )
5 star
 (215)
4 star
 (152)
3 star
 (72)
2 star
 (32)
1 star
 (9)
Story
4.3 (481 )
5 star
 (242)
4 star
 (150)
3 star
 (66)
2 star
 (16)
1 star
 (7)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    joshua 03-25-15
    joshua 03-25-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Super good!"

    Really enjoyed this. Working on developing a hotel and this gave some insight that I expect will be valuable, including in ways I don't yet appreciate.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    ASHLI 03-24-15
    ASHLI 03-24-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "best book"

    I myself have been working in the hospitality industry for the last 8 years from front desk to property support manager and this book just nailed what all employees wish that they could either say to guest or what guest should really know. it made me laugh so much to know that I was not the only one thinking these things. I highly recommend it to all hotel employees and the guest who stay at hotels. i really hope he makes another book really soon. once a hotel whore, always a hotel whore. there really is no way out of this business!!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Dana 02-22-15
    Dana 02-22-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    32
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A MUST READ"
    Would you listen to Heads in Beds again? Why?

    It's both informative with inside hotel info but it also draws the reader in, there's an emotional connection made...it's great.


    Have you listened to any of Jacob Tomsky’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    Jacob Tomsky is a superb narrator


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    heriberto aguilar 02-19-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "my good friend Tommy will help you out."

    The book is entertaining and funny. The characters are easy to relate to. I felt as if I worked at each hotel as well.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rebecca 02-03-15
    Rebecca 02-03-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Truth speaker"

    I work in hotels and summed my career up beautifully! Kept if fun, light and real. Just wish there was more

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Samuel 01-11-15
    Samuel 01-11-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "From one hotelier to another."

    Jacob Tomsky nails this book on the head when it comes to the day to day hustle of hospitality. I laughed and shook my head the whole time.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Robin 12-07-14
    Robin 12-07-14
    HELPFUL VOTES
    12
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    21
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Interesting insider peek into the hotel world"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Yes -- it will stick with you next time you travel.


    What did you like best about this story?

    It was fresh and original.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    avid rita 11-28-14
    avid rita 11-28-14 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    42
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Lively, laughs, learned something."
    What did you love best about Heads in Beds?

    I value really good service in all parts of my life. This book offered valuable insights regarding how to express my appreciation for good service more effectively, for the benefit of the employee and for my own benefit. And nothing dry about the lessons learned: very colorful stories and anecdotes made this a page turner. The story did start to wear thin on me towards the last quarter, but then I have a short attentions span.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    V. Sullivan 09-09-14
    V. Sullivan 09-09-14 Listener Since 2007
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "This was great!"
    If you could sum up Heads in Beds in three words, what would they be?

    Funny, insightful, informative, and very impressed with the author's narration.


    What did you like best about this story?

    As a frequent traveler, I loved the inside scoop. I will never Valey park my car again. Also - really pleasantly surprised by narration.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Stacey Crummie Lawrenceville, GA USA 08-31-14
    Stacey Crummie Lawrenceville, GA USA 08-31-14 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    96
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    53
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Probable one of the best books I've listened to"

    I don't do reviews. Just takes up to much time, but for this book, I just had to. This has got to be the best book I've listened to on audible. It was one of those rare situations where I just couldn't stop listening until it was over. Granted, I'm big into a book that has good stories, and if it has some extremely useful information scattered in there to then it's a real winner for me. This book was all that, plus it was just so well read, by a great story teller. The book had me constantly laughing and totally into the story line, but more than that, I can't WAIT to try out the many hints, tips, and "inside scoop" ideas that the author presents. As he says, it's just a hustle, but this hustle can get you great stays at America's hotels because, for once, it will be you that knows how to make the machine work. Super great job. Loved every minute of it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.