We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Heads in Beds Audiobook
Heads in Beds
Written by: 
Jacob Tomsky
Narrated by: 
Jacob Tomsky
Heads in Beds Audiobook

Heads in Beds: A Reckless Memoir of Hotels, Hustles, and So-Called Hospitality

Regular Price:$24.50
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Kitchen Confidential and Waiter Rant, a rollicking, eye-opening, fantastically indiscreet memoir of a life spent (and misspent) in the hotel industry.

Jacob Tomsky has worked in hotels for more than a decade, doing everything from valet parking to manning the front desk. He's checked you in, checked you out, separated your white panties from the white bed sheets, parked your car, tasted your room service, cleaned your toilet, denied you a late check out, given you a wake-up call, eaten M&Ms out of your mini-bar, laughed at your jokes, and taken your money. And in Heads in Beds, he pulls back the curtain on the hospitality business, revealing the crazy yet compelling reality of an industry we think we know. It is an incredibly funny, authentic, and irreverent chronicle of the highs and lows of hotel life and boy, is there a market for it: in 2010, the American lodging industry generated $127.7 billion in revenue. Prepare to be amused, shocked, and amazed as he spills the unwritten code of the bellhops, the antics that go on the valet parking garage, and the housekeeping department's dirty little secrets.

Prepare to be moved, too, by his insightful honesty about the profession; employees are often poorly paid and frequently abused. However, Heads in Beds is more than just a memoir. Jake explains the secrets of the industry, offering easy and legal ways to get what you need from your hotel without any hassle - from scoring late check-ins and upgrades to getting that pay-per-view charge knocked off your bill. This book will give you the knowledge you need to get the very best service from any hotel or property, from any business that makes its money from putting heads in beds. Or, at the very least, it will keep the bellhops from taking your luggage into the camera-free back office and stomping the crap out of it.

©2012 Jacob Tomsky (P)2012 Random House Audio

What the Critics Say

"Jacob Tomsky is a star. The kid writes like a dream. Heads in Beds is hilarious, literate, canny, indignant and kind - revealing an author who manages somehow to be both a total hustler and a complete humanitarian. I love this book. Keep an eye on this writer. I'm telling you, he's a star." (Elizabeth Gilbert, author of Eat, Pray, Love: One Woman's Search for Everything Across Italy, India and Indonesia)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.2 (621 )
5 star
 (302)
4 star
 (177)
3 star
 (100)
2 star
 (31)
1 star
 (11)
Overall
4.1 (571 )
5 star
 (273)
4 star
 (168)
3 star
 (83)
2 star
 (35)
1 star
 (12)
Story
4.3 (572 )
5 star
 (303)
4 star
 (167)
3 star
 (74)
2 star
 (20)
1 star
 (8)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Erika Simon 06-28-16
    Erika Simon 06-28-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazing"
    Would you consider the audio edition of Heads in Beds to be better than the print version?

    I have never read the print version of Heads in beds and thus cannot say which would be better, However the narration of the book was amazing (most likely as it was done by the author himself and thus could accurately portray the feelings) I would highly recommend the audible version.


    What other book might you compare Heads in Beds to and why?

    It's like nothing i've read before although you could compare it to Kitchen confidential in many ways (Which is also a great read by the way) as they both describe the Behind the scenes of certain industries.


    What about Jacob Tomsky’s performance did you like?

    Everything, his narration was lovely.
    His tone, his anger, his sadness his mild annoyance or even his boredom could be felt throughout his narration. It was impeccable.


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

    "The front desk knows all your secrets."


    Any additional comments?

    Highly recommend.
    see for yourself.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 06-27-16 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Entertaining & Informative."

    Gotta baby brick for the next front desk agent who checks me in to my hotel.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Hope 05-11-16
    Hope 05-11-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "if you have ever worked in a hotel you'll love it!"

    It's completely true and VERY relatable. 10/10 would recommend this book

    (also has some good tips for booking and staying in a hotel)

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rick Jones 05-03-16
    Rick Jones 05-03-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very helpful for anyone staying in a hotel."

    Loved the story. Narration by the author was excellent and helped the story to flow.
    Language was a little rough, but that is the vernacular of his business. If you stay in a hotel with any regularity, you need to listen (read) this book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Andrew R Clay 03-09-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Useful but prolix"

    Somewhat sophomoric, however very useful view of how a hotel functions from a mostly front desk perspective. Optimally you would read just the first half and the appendix as the last half seems to be, although at times entertaining, really verbose and mostly filler.
    The fact that it is read by the author, Who does a good job, is also a plus.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Vickie 12-14-15
    Vickie 12-14-15

    I'm an avid reader who now listens to books on tape. I'm a bit late to the game but enjoying the hands free reading.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    26
    20
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fun and educational"
    What made the experience of listening to Heads in Beds the most enjoyable?

    The author's serious but youthful tone.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    The entire book was a pleasure to read.


    Any additional comments?

    Worth a credit plus some.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Bob E. 12-09-15
    Bob E. 12-09-15 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    21
    17
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Entertaining & Revealing"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    I definitely recommend the book. The information was presented in a fast moving humorous style by a talented young man.


    Has Heads in Beds turned you off from other books in this genre?

    no


    Which character – as performed by Jacob Tomsky – was your favorite?

    Thomas.............the author


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    I had many chuckles throughout the book


    Any additional comments?

    I wish I could find more books like this

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Patrick Marks 09-28-15 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    55
    26
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "not bad at all"

    entertaining, informative, educational and infuriating. best of luck Tom, keep it up, looking forward to the next one

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Dia Kline 08-03-15
    Dia Kline 08-03-15 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    47
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fun!"

    Downloaded for a road trip and was throughly entertained the entire time. Great travel advice and humorous stories.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    MollieJoyD Seattle, WA 07-20-15
    MollieJoyD Seattle, WA 07-20-15 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Road trip audiobook"

    The narration is so fun, and it kept us laughing and awake for a very long road trip.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.