We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Boy on Ice Audiobook

Boy on Ice: The Life and Death of Derek Boogaard

Regular Price:$24.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

The much-anticipated debut from the Pulitzer Prize - winning New York Times reporter, Boy on Ice is a moving human story and behind-the-scenes account of a life lived in the glare of sporting fame. The tragic death of hockey star Derek Boogaard at 28 was front-page news across the country in 2011 and helped shatter the silence about violence and concussions in professional sports. Now, in a gripping work of narrative nonfiction, acclaimed reporter John Branch tells the shocking story of Boogaard's life and heartbreaking death. Boy on Ice is the richly told story of a mountain of a man who made it to the absolute pinnacle of his sport. Widely regarded as the toughest man in the NHL, Boogaard was a gentle man off the ice but a merciless fighter on it.

With great narrative drive, Branch recounts Boogaard's unlikely journey from lumbering kid playing pond-hockey on the prairies of Saskatchewan, so big his skates would routinely break beneath his feet; to his teenaged junior hockey days, when one brutal outburst of violence brought Boogaard to the attention of professional scouts; to his days and nights as a star enforcer with the Minnesota Wild and the storied New York Rangers, capable of delivering career-ending punches and intimidating entire teams. But, as Branch reveals, behind the scenes Boogaard's injuries and concussions were mounting and his mental state was deteriorating, culminating in his early death from an overdose of alcohol and painkillers. Based on months of investigation and hundreds of interviews with Boogaard's family, friends, teammates, and coaches, Boy on Ice is a brilliant work for fans of Michael Lewis's The Blind Side or Buzz Bissinger's Friday Night Lights. This is a book that raises deep and disturbing questions about the systemic brutality of contact sports - from peewees to professionals - and the damage that reaches far beyond the game.

©2014 John Branch (P)2014 Audible Inc.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.6 (33 )
5 star
 (21)
4 star
 (11)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.7 (31 )
5 star
 (23)
4 star
 (7)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.5 (31 )
5 star
 (19)
4 star
 (9)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Mark Waltham, MA, United States 01-03-16
    Mark Waltham, MA, United States 01-03-16 Member Since 2010

    MTF

    HELPFUL VOTES
    712
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    246
    213
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    53
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very interesting hockey bio of a fighter"

    I really enjoyed this bio of Derek Boogaard. I especially liked hearing about his childhood and how he came to be an enforcer (fighter) in the NHL. The second half was sadder, as injuries and drugs brought him down. As his life spiraled out of control, the book got a little repetitive, but was still informative and interesting. I strongly recommend this to listeners with an interest in hockey. This book captures the best and worst of hockey.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    MacBernac 04-12-16
    MacBernac 04-12-16 Member Since 2015

    MacBernac

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A tragic story with a sad ending"

    Excellent narration and story of a tragic ending to a promising life. RIP Derek Boogaard.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 07-14-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    82
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    61
    38
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Too sad for words..."
    Any additional comments?

    Tragic story...As a dedicated Hockey fan, I already knew a bit about Derek Boorgard and his demise. This book lays it all out...from the "Boy on Ice" first taking the ice to his untimely death. These young men pay a high price for their fame and fortune. Strongly recommend this book to all hockey fans.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.