Truly Devious

5 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 5,716 ratings

Truly Devious Publisher's summary

New York Times best-selling author Maureen Johnson weaves a delicate tale of murder and mystery in the first book of a striking new series, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and E. Lockhart.

Ellingham Academy is a famous private school in Vermont for the brightest thinkers, inventors, and artists. It was founded by Albert Ellingham, an early 20th century tycoon, who wanted to make a wonderful place full of riddles, twisting pathways, and gardens. "A place", he said, "where learning is a game."

Shortly after the school opened, his wife and daughter were kidnapped. The only real clue was a mocking riddle listing methods of murder, signed with the frightening pseudonym "Truly, Devious". It became one of the great unsolved crimes of American history.

True-crime aficionado Stevie Bell is set to begin her first year at Ellingham Academy, and she has an ambitious plan: She will solve this cold case. That is, she will solve the case when she gets a grip on her demanding new school life and her housemates: the inventor, the novelist, the actor, the artist, and the jokester. But something strange is happening. Truly Devious makes a surprise return, and death revisits Ellingham Academy. The past has crawled out of its grave. Someone has gotten away with murder.

The two interwoven mysteries of this first book in the Truly Devious series dovetail brilliantly, and Stevie Bell will continue her relentless quest for the murderers in books two and three.

Publishers Weekly Best Books of 2018

Junior Library Guild Selection

2019 YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults Nomination

2019 ALA's Best Fiction for Young Adults Nomination

Chicago Public Library Best of the Best Books 2018

Goodreads Choice Award Nominee for Young Adult Fiction 2018

2018 Nerdy Book Club Young Adult Winner

Seventeen Best YA Book of 2018

Lincoln Award Nominee

2020-2021 South Carolina Book Awards Nominee

©2018 HarperCollins Publishers (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers
Show more Show less
You're getting a free audiobook


You're getting a free audiobook.

$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Product List
  • Book 1

    Regular price: $25.19 or 1 credit

    Sale price: $25.19 or 1 credit

  • Book 2

    Regular price: $25.19 or 1 credit

    Sale price: $25.19 or 1 credit

  • Book 3

    Regular price: $22.49 or 1 credit

    Sale price: $22.49 or 1 credit

  • Book 4

    Regular price: $25.19 or 1 credit

    Sale price: $25.19 or 1 credit

  • Book 5

    Regular price: $25.19 or 1 credit

    Sale price: $25.19 or 1 credit

Our young adults’ series
are growing