The Walking on Ice Memoir Trilogy

3 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 3 ratings

Walking on Ice Publisher's Summary

Walking on Ice, written and narrated by Emma Stevens, is the first audiobook in a trilogy of memoirs that are part romance and part “girl’s own adventure”. 

The story begins in the warm climes of New Zealand in the South Pacific when an online friendship between an American and a New Zealander blossoms into romance, and it concludes among the Eskimo in the wintry wilds of remote Alaska. For adventurous romantics and armchair travelers alike. 

After years of living in Sydney, Australia, Emma Stevens returns to New Zealand ready to live the simple life, teaching in a small rural town with her Tenterfield terrier as companion. Convinced by a friend to vary her social contacts by online dating, Emma is surprised to find herself corresponding with "Kotzman", the principal of a high school in the Arctic Circle in Alaska. 

They are worlds apart: while Emma is picking spring flowers, Kotzman is ice fishing; Emma is wrapping up against the chill winds of an Otago winter, while Kotzman enjoys summer caribou camp. However, as the months pass and the relationship deepens, Emma and Kotzman discover they have much in common.

At the millennium, Kotzman/Gary joins Emma to watch the new century dawn on a NZ beach. When Gary returns in the New Year on a sabbatical from teaching, their romance really blossoms. 

This memoir tells the story of Emma’s life-changing decision to marry her Alaskan man and leave her beloved New Zealand for a world of snow and ice, caribou and bears, and the Yup’ik Eskimo people.

©2013 Emma Stevens (P)2017 Emma Stevens
Show more Show less
You're getting 2 free audiobooks.

You're getting two free audiobooks.

$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.