The Heroines of SOE

4 books in series
4 out of 5 stars 4 ratings

Operation Zigzag Publisher's summary

Eve’s War is a series of 12 novellas. Each book contains approximately 20,000 words and a complete story. Kindly note that Eve’s story arc will be concluded at the end of the series. 

Marseille, December 1942 

“We’re in a fix,” Vincent said. “The Gestapo have captured a British agent, code name Zigzag. They picked him up through his false identity papers, only the thing is they haven’t discovered his true identity, yet. But they will. And he will talk. They all do in the end. And when he talks he will reveal secrets that will destroy the local resistance networks, including our own. But there’s a way out, through a guard. He’s open to bribes. We’d like you to meet the guard, bribe him, spring Zigzag from the Gestapo prison, then escort him over the mountain pass into Spain.” 

“Why me?” I asked. 

“Because you helped to establish the escape network. And you know the mountain trails like the back of your hand. Furthermore, as the wife of respected industrialist Michel Beringar, you are above suspicion.” 

I glanced at Michel. From the stern look on his face, I could tell that he wasn’t pleased. Was this one risk too many? And as for me being above suspicion...the Gestapo were following me and they were tapping my phone. 

As a child, I’d run away from home. As a teenager, I’d travelled the world, living on my wits. As a journalist, I’d witnessed atrocities inflicted in the name of fascism. As a member of the Resistance, I’d eyeballed fear and stared it down. For the past 30 years, I’d lived a full life. I could do this. However, even as I voiced my agreement I knew that my life in Marseille, my life with Michel, would never be the same. 

The books in series order: 

  • Operation Zigzag
  • Operation Locksmith
  • Operation Broadsword
  • Operation Treasure
  • Operation Sherlock
  • Operation Cameo
  • Operation Rose
  • Operation Watchmaker
  • Operation Overlord
  • Operation Jedburgh
  • Operation Butterfly
  • Operation Liberty
©2020 Hannah Howe (P)2020 Hannah Howe
Show more Show less
You're getting a free audiobook

You're getting a free audiobook.

$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Product List
  • Book 1

    • Eve’s War (The Heroines of SOE Series, Book 1)
    • By: Hannah Howe
    • Narrated by: Paula Branch
    • Length: 1 hr and 56 mins
    • Release date: 08-13-20
    • Language: English
    • 5 out of 5 stars 1 rating

    Regular price: $6.95 or 1 credit

    Sale price: $6.95 or 1 credit

  • Book 2

    Regular price: $6.95 or 1 credit

    Sale price: $6.95 or 1 credit

  • Book 3

    Regular price: $6.95 or 1 credit

    Sale price: $6.95 or 1 credit

  • Book 4

    Operation Treasure Audiobook By Hannah Howe cover art
    Not available on