The Dark Gifts Trilogy

6 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 247 ratings

Gilded Cage Publisher's Summary

Magic rules. We serve.

In a darkly fantastical debut set in modern-day Britain, magic users control everything: wealth, politics, power - and you. If you’re not one of the ultimate one-percenters - the magical elite - you owe them 10 years of service. Do those years when you’re old, and you’ll never get through them. Do them young, and you’ll never get over them.

This is the darkly decadent world of Gilded Cage. In its glittering milieu move the all-powerful Jardines and the everyday Hadleys. The families have only one thing in common: Each has three children. But their destinies entwine when one family enters the service of the other. They will all discover whether any magic is more powerful than the human spirit.

Have a quick 10 years....

Look for all three books in the mesmerizing Dark Gifts trilogy: Gilded Age, Tarnished City, and Bright Ruin.

Praise for Gilded Cage:

“An alternate modern-day England where enticing drama and social unrest mix with aristocratic scandal and glamorous magic...conjuring up the specters of Les Misérables and Downton absorbing first installment that presages an intriguing new fantasy series.” (Kirkus Reviews)

“Devious and deliciously dark with lashings of magic, mystery, and mayhem, this juggernaut of a book will keep you hanging on by your fingernails until the very last page.” (Taran Matharu, New York Times best-selling author of the Summoner series)

“A dark and intriguing vision of an alternate, magic-drenched Britain, Gilded Cage kept me up long into the night.” (Aliette de Bodard, author of The House of Shattered Wings)

©2017 Vic James (P)2017 Random House Audio
Show more Show less
You're getting a free audiobook.

You're getting a free audiobook.

$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.