The Dark Cumulus

2 books in series
5 out of 5 stars 3 ratings

When We Were Hackers Publisher's Summary

Pete thought his life was made. A college student with an uncanny ability to hack into almost any system, he and his group of select friends begin to stretch their reach. It started with hacking the school’s database to change grades for some of the football players and then grew to anything they desired or coveted. Soon, others started coming to them with requests. Unable to handle the mounting pressure, the group moves off campus and away from prying eyes.

Everything was running smoothly until a notorious Chinese gang contacts Pete and offers to assist them in their endeavors for a small favor in return. They were to conduct a two-million-dollar hack. 

The plan goes off without a hitch, until a member of the group becomes greedy, and gets caught by Agent Griffith of the FBI’s Cyber Security Division. Forced to go on the run, not only from the FBI, but the Chinese gang, as well, these friends find the limits of their bond tested and strained. Agent Griffith edges closer with every move. Lurking in the background is a mysterious figure who has his own designs on Pete and the group. 

A star will rise. Another will burn out. None of their lives will be the same once the dust clears. 

When We Were Hackers is a tale of love, greed, and betrayal. It is a debut novel by author Byron A. Aris.

©2018 Byron Aris (P)2021 Byron Aris
Show more Show less

New to Audible?
Get Two Free Audiobooks

$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.