The Alpha Wolves of Yellowstone Series

3 books in series
5 out of 5 stars 210 ratings

The Rise of Wolf 8 Publisher's Summary

“The powerful origin story of one of Yellowstone’s greatest and most famous wolves.” (Washington Post)

Book one in the Alpha Wolves of Yellowstone series. 

Book two, The Reign of Wolf 21, is available now.

Yellowstone National Park was once home to an abundance of wild wolves - but park rangers killed the last of their kind in the 1920s. Decades later, the rangers brought them back, with the first wolves arriving from Canada in 1995.

This is the incredible true story of one of those wolves.

Wolf 8 struggles at first - he is smaller than the other pups and often bullied - but soon, he bonds with an alpha female whose mate was shot. An unusually young alpha male, barely a teenager in human years, Wolf 8 rises to the occasion, hunting skillfully, and even defending his family from the wolf who killed his father. But soon he faces a new opponent: his adopted son, who mates with a violent alpha female. Can Wolf 8 protect his valley without harming his protégé?

“[The Rise of Wolf 8] is a goldmine for information on all aspects of wolf behavior and clearly shows they are clever, smart, and emotional beings.” (Marc Bekoff, Psychology Today)

©2019 Rick McIntyre (P)2021 Greystone Books
Show more Show less
Only $7.95 a month for the first 4 months of Audible Premium Plus