The Alexandria Quartet

8 books in series
4 out of 5 stars 257 ratings

Justine Publisher's Summary

Set amid the corrupt glamour and multiplying intrigues of Alexandria, Egypt, in the 1930s and 1940s, the novels of Durrell's Alexandria Quartet (of which this is the first) follow the shifting alliances - sexual, cultural, and political - of a group of quite varied characters.

In Justine, an English schoolmaster and struggling writer falls in love with a beautiful and mysterious Jewish woman who is married to a wealthy Egyptian.

©1957 Lawrence Durrell (P)2009 Audible, Inc.
Show more Show less
Limited time offer: Get 3 months free