Storm Over Scotland

2 books in series
5 out of 5 stars 7 ratings

Gathering Storm Publisher's summary

Jacobite intrigue and romance in 18th-century Edinburgh: history, mystery, and love across the political divide.

Edinburgh, Yuletide 1743, and Redcoat Captain Robert Catto would rather be anywhere else on earth than Scotland. Seconded back from the wars in Europe to command the city's town guard, he fears his covert mission to assess the strength of the Jacobite threat will force him to confront the past he tries so hard to forget.

Christian Rankeillor, her surgeon-apothecary father, and his apprentice, Jamie Buchan of Balnamoon, are committed supporters of the Stuart Cause. They're hiding a Jacobite agent with a price on his head in Edinburgh Royal Infirmary: a hanging offense.

Meeting as enemies, Robert and Kirsty are thrown together as allies by their desire to help Geordie and Alice Smart, young runaways from Cosmo Liddell, bored and brutal aristocrat and coal owner.

Gathering Storm brings to life a time when Scotland stood at a crossroads in her history, and is the first in a suite of Jacobite novels by Scottish writer and historian Maggie Craig, author of the ground-breaking and acclaimed Damn' Rebel Bitches: The Women of the '45 and Bare-Arsed Banditti: The Men of the 45.

The Storm over Scotland series are stand-alones, but follow the story of Christian Rankeillor and Robert Catto as their two very different worlds collide.

©2013, 2015, 2020 Maggie Craig Totterdell (P)2020 Maggie Craig Totterdell
Show more Show less
You're getting a free audiobook

You're getting a free audiobook.

$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Product List
  • Book 1

    Regular price: $24.95 or 1 credit

    Sale price: $24.95 or 1 credit

  • Book 2

    Regular price: $24.95 or 1 credit

    Sale price: $24.95 or 1 credit