Shadow of the Fox

3 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 388 ratings

Shadow of the Fox Publisher's Summary

One thousand years ago, the great Kami Dragon was summoned to grant a single terrible wish - and the land of Iwagoto was plunged into an age of darkness and chaos.

Now, for whoever holds the Scroll of a Thousand Prayers, a new wish will be granted. A new age is about to dawn. 

Raised by monks in the isolated Silent Winds temple, Yumeko has trained all her life to hide her yokai nature. Half kitsune, half human, her skill with illusion is matched only by her penchant for mischief. Until the day her home is burned to the ground, her adoptive family is brutally slain and she is forced to flee for her life with the temple’s greatest treasure - one part of the ancient scroll. 

There are many who would claim the dragon’s wish for their own. Kage Tatsumi, a mysterious samurai of the Shadow Clan, is one such hunter, under orders to retrieve the scroll...at any cost. Fate brings Kage and Yumeko together. With a promise to lead him to the scroll, an uneasy alliance is formed, offering Yumeko her best hope for survival. But he seeks what she has hidden away, and her deception could ultimately tear them both apart. 

With an army of demons at her heels and the unlikeliest of allies at her side, Yumeko’s secrets are more than a matter of life or death. They are the key to the fate of the world itself. 

New from the New York Times best-selling author of The Talon Saga and The Iron Fey. Fans of Sarah J. Maas, Julie C. Dao, Marie Lu, Cassandra Clare, and more best-selling YA fantasy will be captivated by book one of this enchanting new series.

“One of my all-time favorite fantasy novels! I'm in love with this book, its characters, its worldbuilding!” (Ellen Oh, author of the Prophecy and Spirit Hunters series)

©2018 Julie Kagawa (P)2018 Harlequin Enterprises, Limited.
Show More Show Less
You're getting a free audiobook.
$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
  • Book 1

    • Shadow of the Fox

    • By: Julie Kagawa
    • Narrated by: Joy Osmanski, Emily Woo Zeller, Brian Nishii
    • Length: 14 hrs and 45 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 328
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 303
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 302

    One thousand years ago, the great Kami Dragon was summoned to grant a single terrible wish - and the land of Iwagoto was plunged into an age of darkness and chaos. Now, for whoever holds the Scroll of a Thousand Prayers, a new wish will be granted. A new age is about to dawn.

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • Love it!

    • By Anonymous User on 10-24-18

    Regular price: $31.93

    • Shadow of the Fox

    • Shadow of the Fox, Book 1
    • By: Julie Kagawa
    • Narrated by: Joy Osmanski, Brian Nishii, Emily Woo Zeller
    • Length: 14 hrs and 45 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars 2
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 2
    • Story
      5 out of 5 stars 2

    The first book in the brand-new series from New York Times best-selling author Julie Kagawa. Enter a beautiful and perilous land of shape-shifters and samurai, kami and legends, humans and demons...a world in which Japanese mythology and imagination blend together. When destiny calls, legends rise. Every millennium the missing pieces of the Scroll of a Thousand Prayers are hunted, for they hold the power to call the great Kami Dragon from the sea and ask for any one wish.  

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Full of yokai and entertaining

    • By Gvido on 11-06-18

    Regular price: $10.20

  • Book 2

    • Soul of the Sword

    • Shadow of the Fox, Book 2
    • By: Julie Kagawa
    • Narrated by: Brian Nishii, Joy Osmanksi, Emily Woo Zeller
    • Length: 15 hrs and 43 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 58
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 53
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 52

    One thousand years ago, a wish was made to the Harbinger of Change, and a sword of rage and lightning was forged. Kamigoroshi. The Godslayer. It had one task: to seal away the powerful demon Hakaimono. Now, he has broken free.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Wonderful Continuation of the Story

    • By Rabidus Matris on 06-23-19

    Regular price: $31.93