Nicole Rayburn Historical Mysteries

4 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 989 ratings

The Hanging Tree Publisher's Summary

In 1640, Alys Bailey was accused of witchcraft and sentenced to hang. Today, Alys is said to haunt Lockwood Hall, the Tudor manor house where she died.

When Nicole Rayburn travels to Lockwood Hall and begins to research Alys’s story for a new book, she discovers startling irregularities in Alys’s case. Nicole’s suspicions mount as every answer leads to more questions. What really happened to Alys? And what became of her son, who disappeared the day she was hanged? Could it be that Alys’s death was the result of a well-planned conspiracy, or is there another, less obvious answer? And who is trying to sabotage Nicole's efforts by stealing her work?

As Nicole delves deeper into Alys’s life, with the help of a handsome crime writer and a history-obsessed vicar, she comes to realize that “fake news” has been around for centuries, and that everyone has secrets. Once she finally learns Alys’s, Nicole’s life will never be the same.

Perfect for fans of Susanna Kearsley, Barbara Erskine, and Wendy Webb.

©2020 Merlin Press LLC (P)2022 Irina Shapiro
Show more Show less
You're getting 2 free audiobooks.

You're getting two free audiobooks.

$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.