The Lord Peter Wimsey Mysteries

50 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 8,494 ratings

The Lord Peter Wimsey Collection: Books 1-5 Publisher's summary

This audiobook includes unabridged recordings of the first five Lord Peter Wimsey detective books, read by Audie award-winning narrator Jonathan Keeble. A must-listen for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries, Lord Peter Wimsey is the immortal amateur sleuth created by Dorothy L Sayers.

Whose Body?, Book One: In this, his first murder case, Lord Peter untangles the ghastly mystery of the corpse in the bath. The naked body was lying in the tub. Not unusual for a proper bath, but highly irregular for murder - especially with a pair of gold pince-nez deliberately perched before the sightless eyes. What's more, the face appeared to have been shaved after death. The police assumed that the victim was a prominent financier, but Lord Peter Wimsey, who dabbled in mystery detection as a hobby, knew better.

Clouds of Witness, Book Two: The Duke of Denver, accused of murder, stands trial for his life in the House of Lords. Naturally, his brother Lord Peter Wimsey is investigating the crime - this is a family affair. The murder took place at the duke's shooting lodge and Lord Peter's sister was engaged to marry the dead man. But why does the duke refuse to cooperate with the investigation? Can he really be guilty, or is he covering up for someone?

Unnatural Death, Book Three: The wealthy Agatha Dawson is dead - a trifle sooner than expected - but there are no apparent signs of foul play. Lord Peter Wimsey, however, senses that something is amiss and refuses to let the case rest--even without any clues or leads. Suddenly, he is faced with another murder: Agatha's maid. Can super-sleuth Wimsey find the murderer and solve the case before he becomes the killer's next victim?

Lord Peter Views the Body, Book Four: In this delightful collection of 12 Wimsey adventures, Dorothy L. Sayers reveals a gruesome but bewitching side rarely shown in Lord Peter's full-length adventures. He deals with such marvels as the man with copper fingers, Uncle Meleager's missing will, the cat in the bag, the footsteps that ran, the stolen stomach, and the man without a face.

The Unpleasantness at the Bellona Club, Book Five: Ninety-year-old General Fentiman was definitely dead, but no one knew exactly when he had died—and the time of death was the determining factor in a half-million-pound inheritance. Lord Peter Wimsey would need every bit of his amazing skills to unravel the mysteries of why the General's lapel was without a red poppy on Armistice Day, how the club's telephone was fixed without a repairman, and, most puzzling of all, why the great man's knee swung freely when the rest of him was stiff with rigor mortis.

Public Domain (P)2024 SNR Audio
Show more Show less
You're getting a free audiobook


You're getting a free audiobook.

$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Product List
  • Book 1-5

    Regular price: $42.99 or 1 credit

    Sale price: $42.99 or 1 credit

  • Book 1-3

    Regular price: $44.27 or 1 credit

    Sale price: $44.27 or 1 credit

  • Book 1

    Regular price: $20.00 or 1 credit

    Sale price: $20.00 or 1 credit

  • Regular price: $16.79 or 1 credit

    Sale price: $16.79 or 1 credit

  • Regular price: $14.03 or 1 credit

    Sale price: $14.03 or 1 credit

    • The Lord Peter Wimsey Mysteries, Book 1
    • By: Dorothy L. Sayers
    • Narrated by: David Case
    • Length: 6 hrs and 2 mins
    • Release date: 08-18-15
    • Language: English
    • 4.5 out of 5 stars 1,117 ratings

    Regular price: $15.56 or 1 credit

    Sale price: $15.56 or 1 credit

  • Regular price: $18.15 or 1 credit

    Sale price: $18.15 or 1 credit

  • Regular price: $20.00 or 1 credit

    Sale price: $20.00 or 1 credit

    • Lord Peter Whimsey Series, Book 1
    • By: Dorothy Sayers
    • Narrated by: B.J. Harrison
    • Length: 6 hrs and 27 mins
    • Release date: 03-17-22
    • Language: English
    • 5 out of 5 stars 21 ratings

    Regular price: $9.79 or 1 credit

    Sale price: $9.79 or 1 credit

  • Regular price: $19.95 or 1 credit

    Sale price: $19.95 or 1 credit

  • Regular price: $2.79 or 1 credit

    Sale price: $2.79 or 1 credit

    • The Singular Adventure of the Man with the Golden Pince-Nez: A Lord Peter Wimsey Mystery
    • By: Dorothy L. Sayers
    • Narrated by: Justin Longbourn
    • Length: 5 hrs and 8 mins
    • Release date: 01-08-19
    • Language: English
    • 3.5 out of 5 stars 5 ratings

    Regular price: $19.95 or 1 credit

    Sale price: $19.95 or 1 credit

  • Regular price: $14.61 or 1 credit

    Sale price: $14.61 or 1 credit

  • Regular price: $13.22 or 1 credit

    Sale price: $13.22 or 1 credit

  • Regular price: $18.15 or 1 credit

    Sale price: $18.15 or 1 credit

    • A Lord Peter Wimsey Mystery (The Lord Peter Wimsey Mysteries, Book 1)
    • By: Dorothy L. Sayers
    • Narrated by: John Rayburn
    • Length: 6 hrs and 51 mins
    • Release date: 08-17-21
    • Language: English
    • 1 out of 5 stars 1 rating

    Regular price: $13.22 or 1 credit

    Sale price: $13.22 or 1 credit

  • Regular price: $15.70 or 1 credit

    Sale price: $15.70 or 1 credit

  • Book 2

    Regular price: $20.00 or 1 credit

    Sale price: $20.00 or 1 credit

  • Regular price: $23.36 or 1 credit

    Sale price: $23.36 or 1 credit

  • Regular price: $20.00 or 1 credit

    Sale price: $20.00 or 1 credit

Discover your next favorite series