Kate Shugak Series

31 books in series
4 out of 5 stars 9,988 ratings


An intrepid, half Aleut PI, Kate Shugak lives in the Alaska wilderness, where people come to hide, disappear, and sometimes commit deadly crimes.

No detail escapes Kate Shugak, a former sex crimes investigator for the Anchorage DA’s office, who left her draining job and the city for a quiet life in a remote wildlife sanctuary tucked inside Alaska. But the world has a way of finding her. Reluctantly, Kate gets pulled into work as a private investigator, and occasional wilderness guide, with the help of her half-husky, half-wolf sidekick, Mutt. Kate takes on daunting cases, from tracking down missing people to scoping out a cocaine connection along the TransAlaskan Pipeline to digging into chilling deaths, while working to protect local residents, native traditions, and the environment, and making sure criminals are brought to justice. Through it all, she maintains her sense of humor and humanity.

Marguerite Gavin nails the tough and sassy PI, narrating each Kate Shugak mystery with wryness, energy, and fortitude. She deftly renders the detailed descriptions of the natural landscape and masters the pronunciation of native names and places as well as the cadence of native speakers. Listener rave: “No one, in my opinion, could render Kate and all the characters as well as Marguerite Gavin does.”

Dana Stabenow was born in Anchorage and raised on 75-foot fish tender in the Gulf of Alaska. She knew there was a warmer, drier job out there somewhere and found it in writing. Her Kate Shugak thrillers have won her widespread recognition and honors, including an Edgar Award.

Show More Show Less

You're getting a free audiobook.

$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
  • Book 1

    Regular price: $17.49

  • Book 2

    Regular price: $19.99

  • Book 3

    Regular price: $19.99

  • Book 4

    Regular price: $19.99

  • Book 5

    Regular price: $19.99

  • Book 6

    Regular price: $19.99

  • Book 7

    • A Kate Shugak Novel, Book 7
    • By: Dana Stabenow
    • Narrated by: Marguerite Gavin
    • Length: 8 hrs and 10 mins
    • Release date: 08-09-13
    • Language: English
    • 4.5 out of 5 stars 342 ratings

    Regular price: $19.99

  • Book 8

    Regular price: $19.99

  • Book 9

    Regular price: $19.99

  • Book 10

    Regular price: $27.93

  • Book 11

    Regular price: $28.00

  • Book 12

    Regular price: $23.93

  • Book 13

    Regular price: $27.93

  • Book 13.5

    Under the Influence audiobook cover art
    Not available on audible.com
  • Book 13.6

    Wreck Rights audiobook cover art
    Not available on audible.com
  • Book 14

    Regular price: $27.93

  • Regular price: $16.47

  • Book 15

    Regular price: $20.28

  • Regular price: $31.93

  • Book 15.5

    Conspiracy audiobook cover art
    Not available on audible.com
Show titles per page