Islands of Blood and Storm

2 books in series
3 out of 5 stars 22 ratings

Queen of the Conquered Publisher's Summary

An ambitious and unflinching tale of colonialism, conquest, and revenge, Queen of the Conquered starts a fantasy series perfect for fans of S. A. Chakraborty, Ken Liu, and Tasha Suri.

Named one of Time's Top 100 Fantasy Books of All Time
World Fantasy Award for Best Novel, winner

On the islands of Hans Lollik, Sigourney Rose was the only survivor when her family was massacred by the colonizers. When the childless king of the islands declares he will choose his successor from amongst eligible noble families, Sigourney is ready to exact her revenge.

But someone is killing off the ruling families to clear a path to the throne. And as the bodies pile up and all eyes regard her with suspicion, Sigourney must find allies among her prey and the murderer among her peers...lest she become the next victim.

Praise for Queen of the Conquered:

"A storm of a novel as epic as Alexandre Dumas's The Count of Monte Cristo." (Tochi Onyebuchi, author of Beasts Made Wild)

"The book's absorbing setting, captivating lead, and relevant themes of race and class complement each other with alternating delicacy and savagery." (NPR Books)

"Callender's first adult novel draws race relations, conquest, magic, and politics into an imaginative, layered story that will keep readers twisting until the end." (Library Journal)

©2019 Kacen Callender (P)2019 Hachette Audio
Show more Show less
You're getting a free audiobook.

You're getting a free audiobook.

$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.