3 books in series
4 out of 5 stars 46 ratings

The Enlightenment of Angeline Publisher's summary

"I should explain a bit, lest you think that I just despise my children for no good reason.” (Angeline)

Angeline Sims is no shrinking violet. She’s tough, opinionated, bossy, and she’s got a bone to pick with nearly everyone in her life. Set in the fictitious Eastern North Carolina small town of Shelbington, Angeline has been given a terminal diagnosis, with mere months left to live.

Upon learning of this news, her adult children and grandchildren come home for one last visit. There is no love lost between any of the family members, and they all have secrets that they voluntarily or involuntarily reveal throughout the course of the novel, culminating in an explosive family dinner at which the biggest bombshells are dropped.

Told in first-person narratives by the main protagonist and other characters, the story uses humor to touch on a number of hot-button issues, from race relations and racial profiling to LGBTQ issues, to the #MeToo movement, and to the subjugation of religion for profit.

©2020 Joshua Berkov (P)2021 Joshua Berkov
Show more Show less
You're getting a free audiobook

You're getting a free audiobook.

$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Product List
  • Book 1

    Regular price: $19.95 or 1 credit

    Sale price: $19.95 or 1 credit

  • Book 2

    The Enlightenment of Esther Audiobook By Joshua Berkov cover art
    Not available on audible.com

  • Book 3

    Regular price: $19.95 or 1 credit

    Sale price: $19.95 or 1 credit