Children of the Star Trilogy

3 books in series
4 out of 5 stars 10 ratings

This Star Shall Abide Publisher's summary

Noren knew that his world was not as it should be - it was wrong that only the Scholars, and their representatives the Technicians, could use metal tools and Machines. It was wrong that only they had access to the mysterious City, which he had always longed to enter. Above all, it was wrong for the Scholars to have sole power over the distribution of knowledge. The High Law imposed these restrictions and many others, though the Prophecy promised that someday knowledge and Machines would be available to everyone. Noren was a heretic. He defied the High Law and had no faith in the Prophecy's fulfillment. But was defiance enough, or could some way be found to make it come true?

This award-winning science fiction novel is the first book of the Children of the Star trilogy, but is complete in itself and is of more interest to younger listeners than the two following books, although adults also enjoy it. It appeared in the UK under the title Heritage of the Star.

©1972 Sylvia Engdahl (P)2013 Sylvia Engdahl
Show more Show less
You're getting a free audiobook

You're getting a free audiobook.

$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Product List
  • Book 1

    Regular price: $19.95 or 1 credit

    Sale price: $19.95 or 1 credit

  • Book 2

    Beyond the Tomorrow Mountains Audiobook By Sylvia Engdahl cover art
    Not available on

  • Book 3

    The Doors of the Universe Audiobook By Sylvia Engdahl cover art
    Not available on