Children of the Chieftain

4 books in series
3 out of 5 stars 1 rating

Children of the Chieftain: Betrayed Publisher's Summary

The year is 950 AD and the story starts in the town of Birka on an island in the great lake which covers a vast area inland of what is today Stockholm. It was a wealthy town at the center of an international trading network where merchants from as far afield as Turkey, Russia, and Ireland met to buy, sell, and barter. The wealth of the island also attracted unwelcome visitors and frequently the Birka warriors had to defend their homes and families against gangs of Viking raiders. 

The warriors always managed to vanquish the attackers until one day they were tricked by the most feared and fiendish foes, the Jomsviking. These raiders had their base on an island north of what is today Poland and roamed the Baltic waters looting coastal towns and capturing men, women, and children to sell in slave markets in Europe and the Orient. When the adults from the town of Birka were kidnapped by the Jomsviking raiders, Ahl, Ingir, and their friends manage to avoid capture. They set off in pursuit of the raiders’ ships on a quest to rescue the island prisoners. But how could a group of 20 teenagers succeed against a fleet of Viking ships?

©2015 Michael Wills (P)2019 Michael Wills
Show more Show less
You're getting 2 free audiobooks.

You're getting two free audiobooks.

$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.