Chain of Deceit

8 books in series
2 out of 5 stars 1 rating

Chain of Deceit Publisher's Summary

The story you are about to hear has its beginning during World War II when a ship, loaded with supplies for the war effort in Europe, is waiting for the US Navy to grant permission to leave the New York harbor. There is concern that any further delay will prevent them from joining the convoy that is so necessary to escort them safely across the Atlantic. (At this time, the seas were controlled by German built U-boats and Japanese submarines, some of which were specially designed to transport gold, mercury, and other badly needed supplies between the two countries.)

Just prior to departure from the harbor, the ship had been loaded with a secret cargo and a squad of soldiers. Would the ship still have enough time to be able to join the convoy and complete a safe crossing of the Atlantic? Or was there another mission about to begin? The components of an atomic bomb to be used to bomb Berlin had been loaded on board and were to be delivered to a US submarine in the North Atlantic, but the unexpected arrival of a German U-boat changed everyone's plans.

The captain's plan was to sink his ship to cover up the fact that his cargo was still in a warehouse in the United States and all the crates on board were empty. The captain's plan was about to start early. His black market ring stayed in existence for over 50 years before finally being discovered.

Over the years, several of the members moved up in the ranks of the United States government. Now they are plotting a different mission and are in position to make this their biggest, most successful, and most daring plan.

More than 50 years later, a large cache of World War II war material has turned up in a warehouse in New Orleans. Davin Pierce, a retired US Army Master Sergeant working as an insurance investigator in Palm Beach, Florida, has been tasked with finding out why. Gold, treason, murder, and deception at the highest levels take Davin and his team on a race to find out who is the leader.

©1994, 2013 David A. McIntosh (P)2016 D.A. McIntosh
Show more Show less
You're getting 2 free audiobooks.

You're getting two free audiobooks.

$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.