Bertram Bile Time Travel Adventure Series

9 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 6 ratings

The Last Wizard in the World Publisher's Summary

A Bertram Bile time travel adventure, set along the length of the River Thames.

Bertram Bile wasn’t always like this. At primary school, he had friends, kind teachers, and great grades. But everything changed when he started his new school. His parents split up, his dad went missing, and his mum lost her job. Now, he’s bullied by his classmate, Angus, and his evil geography teacher, Miss Petrenko. His dad had been Miss Petrenko’s first love, but she never forgave him for dumping her for Bertram’s mum when they were kids themselves. Bertram feels sure that Miss Petrenko knows more about his dad’s disappearance than she’s letting on. After all, why would you take a job as a geography teacher if you didn’t know any geography and you hated kids?

Lost in the forest during their geography field trip to Thames Head and Tewksbury Mead in Gloucestershire to find the source of the River Thames, Bertram mysteriously finds himself alone. All is not exactly as it seems. For Bertram Bile is no ordinary 11-year-old boy; Bertram Bile is the last wizard in the world, the last "norn", the last existing user of magic. But the River Thames is in grave danger, and only the magical, time-travelling skills of Bertram can save it.

The Last Wizard in the World is the first book in the Bertram Bile time travel adventure series, which follows the course of the River Thames from its source in Gloucestershire to the North Sea in Essex. But don't worry if you miss a book or two, you can jump in at any point in the series.

If you enjoy book one, don’t forget to to check out the next book in the series, The Deadly Shrew. The Bertram Bile series is based on Sarah Weldon’s real-life expedition as she swims the length of the River Thames from source to sea, visiting the places that inspired the stories. Check out Sarah Weldon’s website for all the behind-the-scenes of each story and swim. Look out for Sarah’s Libby Lane series, too.

©2018 Sarah Jane Weldon (P)2018 Sarah Jane Weldon
Show more Show less
You're getting a free audiobook.

You're getting a free audiobook.

$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.