Before They Were Left Behind (abridged)

5 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 210 ratings

The Rising Publisher's Summary

Marilena Carpathia has only one dream: to be a mother. So when a mysterious clairvoyant promises the fulfillment of this dream, Marilena does not hesitate. Through genetic engineering and the power of the prince of darkness himself, Marilena is about to become a chosen vessel, one who will unknowingly give birth to the greatest evil the world has ever known.

Halfway around the world, God's plans are subtly being carried out too. Young Ray Steele is determined to avoid one day taking over the family business. Instead, Ray sets his heart on becoming a pilot.

Soon Carpathia's and Steele's lives will intersect. And good and evil will clash in an explosion that will shake the world.

The eternal battle for souls has come to earth. The world hurtles toward the countdown to the Rapture.

The Rising is the first book in the Countdown to the Rapture.

©2005 Tim LaHaye and Jerry B. Jenkins (P)2005 Tyndale House Publishers, Inc.
Show more Show less
Limited time offer: Get 3 months free