Ascending Mage

8 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 3 ratings

Changeling Justice: A Modern Fantasy Thriller Publisher's Summary

No other living mage has powers like hers.

She does her job and keeps her true abilities secret — that is, until she discovers a dark conspiracy.

They never should have underestimated her.

Ember Wright hates high heels, steep staircases, and having to cook for herself. She lives mostly on instant noodles and old western novels. She sometimes chats with dead people.

Newly-promoted to Associate Investigator, Ember is sent undercover on her first assignment to rural North Dakota. Mages and changelings have been living in harmony, hidden in plain sight among humans for centuries. But now a shadow is upsetting the balance.

With time running out for the infected residents, she must root out the source of dark magic — or become its next victim.

Ascending Mage 1: Changeling Justice is a modern urban fantasy with a kick-ass heroine and magic that will grab you by the throat.

About the Ascending Mage series

There are a lot of great series these days. So what can you expect from this one?

Themes you'll find in the Ascending Mage series:

  • Think: if Harry Dresden was an English woman sent to rural America
  • A strong female lead who starts uncertain and a little bit naive but grows into a force to be reckoned with
  • As strong as Ember Wright is, the foes aligned against her are considerable. Victory is never going to be easy or come without a cost.
  • No romance, but there’s a subtle love story element. (This is not "chick lit".)
  • Realistic adult psychology and emotions (No silly assassin-by-night, soccer mom-by-day)
  • Developing friendships, supportive community, painful defeats, triumphant victories, and kick ass action
  • No sex scenes
  • Dialog contains conversational swearing, sometimes vulgar at times
  • Violence, sometimes graphic; this isn't a kids' story.
  • Magic is present in this world, but it's not overwhelming. (There’s nobody so overpowered she could just wiggle her nose and vaporize a city!)
  • Personal freedom versus a corrupt, autocratic establishment (guess which side Ember's on!)
  • A global, persistent story arc; these aren’t standalone novels. (That's also why there’s a numeral in the titles; don't you hate when listening order isn't obvious?)
  • Lighthearted, laugh-out-loud moments sprinkled throughout it all
  • Characters you'll love.... And others you'll sure love to hate!

Ascending Mage series releases:

  • Ascending Mage 1: Changeling Justice (Released March 17, 2019)
  • Ascending Mage 2: Changeling Hunter (Released March 31, 2019)
  • Ascending Mage 3: Buried Truth (Released April 28, 2019)
  • Ascending Mage 4: Nothing Broken (Released June 16, 2019)
  • Ascending Mage 5: Changeling Uprising (Released September 22, 2019)
  • Ascending Mage 6: Hold The Line (Released December 22, 2019)
  • Ascending Mage 7: Prairie Poltergeist (Coming February 20, 2020)
  • Ascending Mage 8 through 10 (titles and release dates to be announced)

Warning: This contemporary magic thriller story is written for mature audiences; it contains adult language and graphic depictions of violence.

©2019 Hurtdidit LLC (P)2019 Hurtdidit LLC
Show more Show less
You're getting 2 free audiobooks.

You're getting two free audiobooks.

$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.