Archives of the Invisible Sword

6 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 178 ratings

The Eyes of Tamburah Publisher's Summary

City of Zirdai, the next installment, is available now.

Treasure hunting has never been more dangerous....

Tomb Raider meets Poison Study!

New York Times best-selling author Maria V. Snyder begins an action-packed new fantasy series: the Archives of the Invisible Sword.

A 2020 PRISM Award winner: Fantasy

"He thinks you are the thief...."

Shyla is a researcher who resides in the underground desert city of Zirdai, which is ruled by the wealthy Water Prince and brutal Heliacal Priestess. Even though Shyla is sun-kissed—an outcast, considered cursed by the Sun Goddess—she is still renowned for uncovering innumerable archaic facts, lost artifacts, ancient maps, and obscure historical documents. Her quiet life is about to change when Banqui, an archaeologist, enlists her services to find The Eyes of Tamburah: legendary gemstones that bestow great magic on their wielder. 

These ancient objects can tip the balance of power and give whoever possesses them complete control of the city. But chaos erupts when The Eyes are stolen soon after they're found—and Shyla is blamed for the theft. Forced to flee, with the prince's soldiers and the priestess' deacons on her trail, Shyla must recover the jewels and clear her name. A quest that will unearth secrets even more valuable than The Eyes of Tamburah themselves.... 


"Combines the sassiness and adventure of Tomb Raider, the twisted darkness of Blade Runner, and the secrets and mythology of Prince of Persia." (Bronwyn Eley, Booktopia)

"An enjoyable desert-inspired treasure hunt that was full of action and plot twists. It keeps you on the edge of your seat and you find yourself addicted to turning the page." (Morgan, Mashleas Reads)

©2019 Maria V. Snyder (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers
Show more Show less
Only $7.95 a month for the first 4 months of Audible Premium Plus