American West

6 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 39 ratings

The American Southwest Series Boxed Set Publisher's Summary

Three history-based novels of the American Southwest.

From revolution to republic, Jacob Jennings was there!

Jake was born during a time that was as turbulent as any in American history. Mexico claimed Texas, but the American settlers who'd recently flooded in were more independent, and when the dictator Santa Anna set aside the Constitution of 1824, he launched a series of changes he had not foreseen. With his partner Jean-Louis Lafitte, Jake worked when he could, fought when necessary, and in the process, began a career that would make him one of the most well-known men on the Texas frontier!

Edward Jennings, Jacob Jennings' son, grew up during the turbulent years after the Texas Revolution. While still a teenager, he found himself responsible for two ranches and a family. Comanche raiders, stock thieves, and hard men he can cope with; it’s part of life on the 1860s Texas frontier. But, then came secession. Ed, like many in central Texas, voted against the ordinance only to be overruled by east Texas cotton-growers. The resistance led to a declaration of martial law, followed by an order that every able-bodied male must join the Confederate Army.

Will Ed obey a law he considers unjust? Or, will he risk everything rather than betray his principles?

Edward Jennings, in War and Recovery, travels from the eastern battlefields of the Civil War to turbulent New Mexico Territory in his quest for a fresh start! The Tularosa Basin is empty for a reason; harsh nature, wild Indians, and desperate refugees are only a few of the obstacles in his way! But, he’ll do whatever is necessary, because he must. Not for himself alone, but for the members of his extended family who depend on him….

©2021 Jack L. Knapp (P)2021 Jack L. Knapp
Show more Show less

New to Audible?
Get Two Free Audiobooks

$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.