Amaranthine Spectrum

2 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 5 ratings

The Promise of the Child Publisher's summary

It is the 147th century. In the radically advanced posthuman worlds of the Amaranthine Firmament, there is a contender to the Immortal throne: Aaron the Long-Life, the Pretender, a man who is not quite a man. In the barbarous hominid kingdoms of the Prism Investiture, where life is short, cheap, and dangerous, an invention is born that will become the Firmament's most closely kept secret. Lycaste, a lovesick recluse outcast for an unspeakable crime, must journey through the Provinces, braving the grotesques of an ancient, decadent world to find his salvation. Sotiris, grieving the loss of his sister and awaiting the madness of old age, must relive his 12,000 years of life to stop the man determined to become emperor. Ghaldezuel, knight of the stars, must plunder the rarest treasure in the Firmament - the object the Pretender will stop at nothing to obtain. From medieval Prague to a lonely Mediterranean cove, and eventually far into the strange vastness of distant worlds, The Promise of the Child is a debut novel of gripping action and astounding ambition unfolding over hundreds of thousands of years, marking the arrival of a brilliant new talent in science fiction.

©2015 Tom Toner (P)2015 Audible, Inc.
Show more Show less
You're getting a free audiobook

You're getting a free audiobook.

$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Product List
  • Book 1

    Regular price: $29.95 or 1 credit

    Sale price: $29.95 or 1 credit

    Included in Plus membership
  • Book 2

    The Weight of the World: Volume Two of The Amaranthine Spectrum Audiobook By Thomas Toner cover art
    • The Weight of the World: Volume Two of The Amaranthine Spectrum

    • By: Thomas Toner
    Not available on